We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Book now, pay at stay
US$185
US$153
Protea Hotels
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Protea Hotel Cape Town Victoria Junction(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 28/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$134
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
ONOMO Hotel Cape Town - Inn On The Square(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 26/07
US$66
US$61
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 21/07
US$191
US$159
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Breakfast
Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$87
US$79
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Breakfast
  • Bar/Lounge
Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$94
US$90
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Taj Cape Town(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$158
US$146
Taj Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 15% below average rates

The price you found is 15% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$172/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Protea Hotel Cape Town Sea Point(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$87
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Urban Hive Backpackers(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$30
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Internet
Cloud 9 Boutique Hotel & Spa(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$83
US$77
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Breakfast
Savings alert! 33% below average rates

The price you found is 33% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$115/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (1 768)
Filter reviews
1 768 results
Traveller rating
1 462
224
59
17
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1 462
224
59
17
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsplanet restauranthigh teaoasis restaurantpink ladychef's tablefamous afternoon teatennis courtscolonial hotelgrand damegrand old ladytable mountainmain buildingjunior suitecompany gardensoystersconcierge deskwonderful hotel
Filter
Updating list...
211 - 216 of 1 768 reviews
Reviewed 13 July 2017

Very comfortable hotel with a beautiful setting. The hotel and grounds are beautiful. The rooms are 5 star. I think we had a standard room but it still had a huge bathroom, with large bath, separate toilet, heaps of bench space with double sink. The buffet breakfast was comprehensive and very good. The gym is small, but good. I had read previous reviews before I went about staff being rude. We had no problems at all. Staff were very polite and great to deal with. This is a great place to stay.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jordan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gabrielle_palmer, Public Relations Manager at Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2017

Thank you so much for your lovely review. We are delighted that you found our hotel setting to be so beautiful, the bathrooms so big, the breakfast buffet so delicious and the staff so great to deal with. We do hope we will have the pleasure of another visit from you in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2017

It is massive and interwove. You cannot find your way without the staff. the hot water went out in our entire wing one morning, their offer was to take me to a unused room. while I got a shower, it felt weird walking with my shaving kit. This was AFTER the room rennovations were done. It is old world charm, but not worth a five star rating.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sherri G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gabrielle_palmer, Public Relations Manager at Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2017

We are very sorry for the inconvenience that was caused by the hot water system not working. There was an inexplicable surge in the water pressure which caused the valve to malfunction and there was a delay until such time as the plumbers arrived. We do hope that the rest of your stay made up for your disappointing shower experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2017

If you're looking for a taste of old imperial CT, this is the place. The hotel is an oasis in Cape Town, and harkens back to the time of the old ships that would bring the English to CT. It's old school for sure, so if you're looking for something that's "hip" or "cool", this isn't the place, but it is nice and the service is top-notch.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ncoutroulis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gabrielle_palmer, Public Relations Manager at Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2017

We are indeed a classic iconic hotel, an oasis in the city, thank you for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2017

My family and I ate at Chef's Table during our holiday in Cape Town.
It was amazing! The food was exceptional, and being told about each dish by the chef was a lovely touch! Amazing food and a great experience!

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
Thank MattEm3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gabrielle_palmer, Public Relations Manager at Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2017

Thank you so much for this short but very sweet review. We do agree that the dishes served at the Chef's Table restaurant are exceptional and it is quite an experience to have each dish introduced to you by the chef who made it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2017

12 friends and family decided to go to the Chefs Table in the kitchens of the Mount Nelson Hotel in Cape Town. The evening was magical as we met inthe reception Planet Bar for drinks and then proceeded into the depths of the hotels back rooms until we arrived in the kitchen. A large table is set aside in a nook on one side of the kitchen. The 12 of us took our places and our birthday girl Ilene presented us each with a hat - chosen to represent some part of our personality which we had to explain. I had some fun explaining why I had been given a Unicorns hat!
We were allowed to walk around the kitchens and interact with the staff who were all friendly and entertaining - very special.
The food was interesting - the marrow bones on tasting board at the beginning were great. There were 7 courses and each was introduced by a chef.
This is an experience that you will not easily forget.

Room Tip: Can't comment on the rooms, but book the chefs table
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PaulDJohannesburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gabrielle_palmer, Public Relations Manager at Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2017

Thank you so much for your fabulous review on our Chef's Table experience in the heart of the hotel kitchens. It is indeed a culinary adventure and, apart from the interesting cuisine, it is indeed quite special to be able to walk around the kitchens and interact with the kitchen staff and the chefs.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews