We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1 855)
Filter reviews
1 855 results
Traveller rating
1 530
238
63
18
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1 530
238
63
18
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews planet restaurant high tea oasis restaurant pink lady chef's table tennis courts colonial hotel grand dame grand old lady table mountain main building junior suite company gardens oysters concierge desk wonderful hotel south africa
Filter
Updating list...
793 - 798 of 1 855 reviews
Reviewed 12 May 2015

What can I say - the best afternoon tea ever!!! We did not stay here but went for a treat.
Afternoon tea is generally a three tier cake stand with all the goodies on it - not here!!
You are served your tea and champagne (if you have ordered it) at table either inside the hotel or outside on the verandah
Scones and savouries are brought to your table and more and more will come if you ask for them.
Then there is a large table down the centre of the room laden with all the sweet treats where you help your self and go back as often as you like.

It was a wonderful experience - the dining and also the ambience of the hotel.
Great value for money in wonderful surroundings with very attentive staff.

Date of stay: January 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank rivercross
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2015

Luxury heritage; many grand hotels of yesteryear are faded and living off former glories. Not the Mount Nelson, which from our experiences could possibly be pushing hard to surpass its foremost glory days.
True hospitality by all hotel staff and availability of every amenity to be expected of a world-class 5 star hotel, were key highlights to note. A highly comfortable bedroom set within fantastic historic buildings and impeccably maintained grounds combined to make this a terrific stay.

For a relaxing, indulged stay in this fabulous city, the Mount Nelson is certainly a candidate for strong consideration.

Key positives of our stay:
- great view of Table Mountain from our hotel room balcony.
- scrumptious breakfasts taken on sunny mornings sitting on a superb verandah overlooking the sweeping lawns towards the pool.
- top notch afternoon tea. Could there possibly be any better hotel high-tea globally?
- helpful concierge service over our entire stay with solid recommendations for outings and dining.
- we did not really want for anything during our stay suggesting the hotel catered for all conceivable needs and staff were great at predicting our needs ahead of time.

Negatives
- none to note

Room tip: Worth asking for a room with a balcony and a view of Table Mountain
Date of stay: April 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Global_vagrant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gabrielle_palmer, Public Relations Manager at Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2015

Thank you so much for your glowing review. We are delighted that you loved the views, enjoying leisurely breakfasts al fresco and that you found our concierge service to be so helpful and friendly.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2015 via mobile

This is truly a classy hotel. In fact it doesn't feel like a hotel at all - not if you stay at the cottages. The hotel has a remarkable spa facility and now let's get to the humungous beds. Super comfortable and truly classy surroundings. Food: dining at the Planet restaurant is 5-star. The menu is thought out well with food arriving in a short time. Staff is skilled and very welcoming indeed. Mount Nelson has an entrance to the Company Gardens so you can walk to the centre of the city with ease.

Definitely worth the money. Stephan is top notch!

Date of stay: May 2015
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank knoesenm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gabrielle_palmer, Public Relations Manager at Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2015

So pleased you noticed our "humungous" beds - they are indeed 2x2m and more than king size. We are also delighted that you loved Librisa Spa, dinner in Planet Restaurant and your walk across the road into the historical Company's Gardens.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2015 via mobile

This is a colonial style building just off Orange and Kloof Streets set below table mountain and just above the company gardens. It's a great location as you can see the mountain from the gardens and the pool area and access the downtown area from the Orange St entrance through the gardens. The bars and restaurants of Kloof Street are in easy walking distance.

The breakfasts were very good and served in the terrace by the outdoor pool and the gardens are a lovely place to sit and enjoy the fabulous weather that we had.

Many people come here to enjoy the English style afternoon tea - not for me but it seems popular. Rooms and meeting rooms are good enough for the standard though some of the fittings are understandably old fashioned given the nature and age of the building.

Date of stay: March 2015
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank Segaria226
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gabrielle_palmer, Public Relations Manager at Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2015

Thank you so much for your review - we are delighted that you enjoyed our central location where you could easily walk to so many of the city's attractions, and of course the beautiful views of the mountains and our magnificent gardens. We do hope you will visit us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2015

stayed here for a conference in April 2015. Really impressed by the hotel. Rooms large and clean and wifi fairly fast. afternoon tea facilities the best I have seen outside of the UK. The gym had all the necessary torture tools and I particilarly liked the threadmill with the large windows open and the breeze in your face.

food was delicious but the service was strange at times. Strange but good. The waiters tended to take part of the orders, then go out, to return a few minutes later to take orders again, and then repeat the procedure.

If you are planning on organising an event, this hotel is my recommendation. We were about 70 people.

Location is beautiful with the Table Mountain in the background. Some nice pubs and night clubs within a 5 minute walk. taxi down to the Waterfront takes 10 minutes.

Date of stay: April 2015
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank Ungi1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gabrielle_palmer, Public Relations Manager at Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2015

Thank you so much for your detailed review, especially your happy thoughts about the large windows and breeze in your face whilst you committed to the "torture treadmill" in the gym :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews