We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel, true luxury and discretion”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel
Ranked #11 of 112 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 May 2015

Stayed for four nights. Can't fault it, this is a true 5 star hotel with all the bells and whistles required, but they don't make too much fuss of it. You don't have to pretend when you are the best. Will return.

  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank JetFoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gabrielle_palmer, Public Relations Manager at Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2015

Thank you for your review and we are delighted that you found the experience to be so effortlessly authentic and gracious. We do look forward to your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1 676)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

641 - 645 of 1 676 reviews

Reviewed 12 May 2015

What can I say - the best afternoon tea ever!!! We did not stay here but went for a treat.
Afternoon tea is generally a three tier cake stand with all the goodies on it - not here!!
You are served your tea and champagne (if you have ordered it) at table either inside the hotel or outside on the verandah
Scones and savouries are brought to your table and more and more will come if you ask for them.
Then there is a large table down the centre of the room laden with all the sweet treats where you help your self and go back as often as you like.

It was a wonderful experience - the dining and also the ambience of the hotel.
Great value for money in wonderful surroundings with very attentive staff.

  • Stayed: January 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank rivercross
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2015

Luxury heritage; many grand hotels of yesteryear are faded and living off former glories. Not the Mount Nelson, which from our experiences could possibly be pushing hard to surpass its foremost glory days.
True hospitality by all hotel staff and availability of every amenity to be expected of a world-class 5 star hotel, were key highlights to note. A highly comfortable bedroom set within fantastic historic buildings and impeccably maintained grounds combined to make this a terrific stay.

For a relaxing, indulged stay in this fabulous city, the Mount Nelson is certainly a candidate for strong consideration.

Key positives of our stay:
- great view of Table Mountain from our hotel room balcony.
- scrumptious breakfasts taken on sunny mornings sitting on a superb verandah overlooking the sweeping lawns towards the pool.
- top notch afternoon tea. Could there possibly be any better hotel high-tea globally?
- helpful concierge service over our entire stay with solid recommendations for outings and dining.
- we did not really want for anything during our stay suggesting the hotel catered for all conceivable needs and staff were great at predicting our needs ahead of time.

Negatives
- none to note

Room Tip: Worth asking for a room with a balcony and a view of Table Mountain
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Global_vagrant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gabrielle_palmer, Public Relations Manager at Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2015

Thank you so much for your glowing review. We are delighted that you loved the views, enjoying leisurely breakfasts al fresco and that you found our concierge service to be so helpful and friendly.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2015 via mobile

This is truly a classy hotel. In fact it doesn't feel like a hotel at all - not if you stay at the cottages. The hotel has a remarkable spa facility and now let's get to the humungous beds. Super comfortable and truly classy surroundings. Food: dining at the Planet restaurant is 5-star. The menu is thought out well with food arriving in a short time. Staff is skilled and very welcoming indeed. Mount Nelson has an entrance to the Company Gardens so you can walk to the centre of the city with ease.

Definitely worth the money. Stephan is top notch!

Stayed: May 2015, travelled solo
Thank knoesenm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gabrielle_palmer, Public Relations Manager at Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2015

So pleased you noticed our "humungous" beds - they are indeed 2x2m and more than king size. We are also delighted that you loved Librisa Spa, dinner in Planet Restaurant and your walk across the road into the historical Company's Gardens.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2015 via mobile

This is a colonial style building just off Orange and Kloof Streets set below table mountain and just above the company gardens. It's a great location as you can see the mountain from the gardens and the pool area and access the downtown area from the Orange St entrance through the gardens. The bars and restaurants of Kloof Street are in easy walking distance.

The breakfasts were very good and served in the terrace by the outdoor pool and the gardens are a lovely place to sit and enjoy the fabulous weather that we had.

Many people come here to enjoy the English style afternoon tea - not for me but it seems popular. Rooms and meeting rooms are good enough for the standard though some of the fittings are understandably old fashioned given the nature and age of the building.

Stayed: March 2015, travelled on business
Thank Segaria226
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gabrielle_palmer, Public Relations Manager at Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2015

Thank you so much for your review - we are delighted that you enjoyed our central location where you could easily walk to so many of the city's attractions, and of course the beautiful views of the mountains and our magnificent gardens. We do hope you will visit us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cape Town Central
2,7 km away
Cape Grace
Cape Grace
#7 of 112 in Cape Town Central
2 143 reviews
2,6 km away
One&Only Cape Town
One&Only Cape Town
#13 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1 728 reviews
3,3 km away
The Table Bay Hotel
The Table Bay Hotel
#17 of 112 in Cape Town Central
2 437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 km away
Taj Cape Town
Taj Cape Town
#15 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1 860 reviews
3,6 km away
POD Camps Bay
POD Camps Bay
#1 of 12 in Camps Bay
692 reviews
3,6 km away
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#31 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1 850 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel

Address: 76 Orange Street | Gardens, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central > City Bowl
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#2 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#4 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#9 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#11 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range: R 5 336 - R 10 405 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel, in Cape Town’s buzzing heart. We invite you to relax in our iconic pink buildings, airy rooms and dreamy gardens. Enjoy imaginative local cuisine, nourishing spa treatments and eye-catching artworks. Captivating visitors since 1899, Cape Town’s iconic resort hotel is a tranquil hideaway just moments from the city’s buzzing heart. Our 198 individually designed rooms and suites and a host of fabulous facilities appeal equally to romantic couples, families or adventurous groups. Stroll through our expansive gardens, take a tree tour or browse the outdoor sculpture exhibition. Discover the hotel’s history, art and culture on self-guided tours. Enjoy imaginative cuisine in our restaurants and soothing bliss at the spa. Just beyond our gates lies the pulsating city, with stunning beaches and historic hotspots moments away. Forever watching over the hotel is Table Mountain, another wondrous Cape Town landmark. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mount Nelson Cape Town
Hotel Mount Nelson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing