We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Protea Hotel Cape Town Victoria Junction(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$121
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$126
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Park Inn by Radisson Cape Town Foreshore(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$72
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Protea Hotel Cape Town Sea Point(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$92
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$205
US$161
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$87
US$76
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Bar/Lounge
Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$116
US$96
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Cloud 9 Boutique Hotel & Spa(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$72
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 36% below average rates

The price you found is 36% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$113/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Urban Hive Backpackers(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$23
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Internet
One&Only Cape Town(Cape Town Central)
US$973
US$943
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1 757)
Filter reviews
1 757 results
Traveller rating
1 453
222
59
17
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1 453
222
59
17
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsplanet restauranthigh teaoasis restaurantpink ladyfamous afternoon teachef's tabletennis courtscolonial hotelgrand damegrand old ladytable mountainmain buildingjunior suitecompany gardensoystersconcierge deskwonderful hotel
Filter
Updating list...
748 - 753 of 1 757 reviews
Reviewed 13 March 2015

Final stop on an east coast journey. After reading the reviews describing this as the Grand Dame, I must say that it lives up to the reputation. Splendid grounds (though the modern art sculptures don't fit at all with the old world feel). Lovely meals, including good vegetarian options. I particularly recommend the beetroot salad offered on the patio (casual dining alternative to the Planet). Attentive service. Breakfast offerings are lavish.

  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MartyTIs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gabrielle_palmer, Public Relations Manager at Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2015

Thank you very much for your review and we are delighted that your stay with us lived up to your high expectations and that you noticed that we do offer good options for vegetarians :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
26
Reviewed 12 March 2015 via mobile

There are many many reasons why I'd make a detour to stay at the Mount Nelson but none greater then their fabulous resident tennis coach, Barkie McKrea, who is one of the great students of the game and of the psychology of winners and who has more insight than coaches I've encountered from the United States or Europe.

Stayed: March 2015, travelled on business
5  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gabrielle_palmer, Public Relations Manager at Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2015

What a lovely review of our hotel and our extra fabulous tennis coach Barkie, thank you so much.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2015

The mount nelson hotel was visited by us on a round trip through south afrika. It is not the most stunning hotel on our trip but is still high class. It is a very nice hotel with good rooms, good service and a nice flaire. Probably the best hotel in cape town.

Room Tip: They have 2 pools and I strongly recommend the much more quiet "adult-only" pool.
  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Bummelpeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gabrielle_palmer, Public Relations Manager at Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2015

We are very happy that you found us to be the Best Hotel in Cape Town, and that you loved the fact that we had two swimming pools to choose from, one much quieter than the other.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2015

We had dinner on two occasions outside on the Terrace. On both occasions the service was efficient and friendly. The food was very good and the menu has sufficient scope to offer good choices. The wine list was that you would expect of a five star African hotel. This was a clear improvement over their performance last year and reflects well on the standard of the new owner. All they need to do is to ditch the Planet theme for the main restaurant and restore the Cape Colony dining room to its former glory - complete with the mural. If the politicians don't like it - tough.

Stayed: February 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank Petrus136
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2015

We stayed in a suite and it was beautiful. My husband was working during the day and the extensive gardens were perfect for games of hide-and-seek with our 2 year old and 1 year old. The food was great and very good value and the staff very pleasant.

  • Stayed: October 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank sydneysider2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gabrielle_palmer, Public Relations Manager at Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2015

We are delighted with your review and love the fact that you and your little ones had such fun playing in our extensive gardens.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews