We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Deb G
Allentown, Pennsylvania

Wonderful stay in lovely, gracious hotel

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 3 weeks ago
We spent 5 nights at Cape Grace. It is a lovely hotel with excellent customer service. The staff learn your names and preferences. Our room was beautiful, quiet, comfortable and spacious. The hotel's location in the V&A waterfront area was perfect for our needs. We could walk to the ferry to Robben Island in 10-15 minutes. The Hop-on/Hop-off bus also has a stop nearby.

The included breakfast was delicious. We ate dinner at the hotel on two nights and found the food very good. I definitely would stay here again.
Date of stay: May 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
Exterior
R 6 003
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
0.7 km from Cape Grace, A Fairmont Managed Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 2 197
R 1 586
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Algotels
0.6 km from Cape Grace, A Fairmont Managed Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 3 605
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Algotels
0.4 km from Cape Grace, A Fairmont Managed Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 5 521
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    R 5 100
  • Hotels.com
    R 5 076
  • Radissonhotels.com
    R 5 521
1.3 km from Cape Grace, A Fairmont Managed Hotel
Free Wifi
Pool
R 4 333
R 1 759
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
  • Booking.com
1.8 km from Cape Grace, A Fairmont Managed Hotel
Free Wifi
Pool
R 3 095
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
3.1 km from Cape Grace, A Fairmont Managed Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
The Junior Suite at the Cape Town Lodge
R 760
R 681
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
  • Booking.com
1.6 km from Cape Grace, A Fairmont Managed Hotel
Pool
Restaurant
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Algotels
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 2 088
  • Booking.com
1.1 km from Cape Grace, A Fairmont Managed Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 2 661
  • Expedia.com
    R 3 507
1.8 km from Cape Grace, A Fairmont Managed Hotel
Free Wifi
Pool
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 2 297
  • Priceline
0.9 km from Cape Grace, A Fairmont Managed Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Cape Town Central
Reviews (9)
Filter reviews
10 results
Traveller rating
9
1
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
9
1
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews signal restaurant welcome home bascule bar whiskey bar table mountain car service beautiful hotel our honeymoon every member of staff waterfront area perfect location luxury hotel robben island four nights restaurants and shops concierge chauffeur
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 10 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Cape Grace Hotel is not just a place you check in to, in order to sleep and store luggage.

They have fully accessible rooms, as well as lifts to all floors, free WiFi, are child-friendly, and are ready to accommodate your reasonable hospitality needs at all hours!

112 rooms (signature and junior suites) have everything from:

Fresh white paint base paired with African botanical hues (watch for burnished oranges and greens), to Textured textile wall accenting; Classic modernist panelling, to Secreted-away storage and in-room essentials; Plush furnishings in perfect condition, to Spaciousness, and Symmetrical architecture and decor alignment.

In all the functional ways that matter, Cape Grace Hotel remains equal to the qualities of global five-star hospitality and its own unique history. Fairmont Hotels & Resorts’s management has brought the dignified grand dame of the waterfront into its cosmopolitan era though, in a way that sets it up as not just classy but also cool.

Come sunshine, the facelifted Cape Grace pool area accessible to all guests, will be one of the hottest hangouts in the city.

Striped loungers and umbrellas, cabana awnings, bright towels, wicker and rattan chairs and sofas, and a roomy outdoor bar primed to serve you creative cocktails, is a setup inviting sunscreen, soft tunes, and poolside stays till sunset.

Room tip: Come sunshine, the facelifted Cape Grace pool area accessible to all guests, will be one of the hottest hangouts in the city.
Date of stay: April 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Olwethu-Thando K
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 28 April 2024 via mobile

I can’t say enough good things about this hotel. I love starting with the employees because the employees can make or break a stay no matter how nice the hotel is. This hotel is almost perfect. My only complaint about this hotel is the size of the bathroom shower and toilet area. Other than that—perfecto!!! The employees are amazing in every way. Your name is remembered from the moment you check in and they’re respectful of you and do everything they can to please you. The rooms are spotless. Daily maid service is excellent. Walking distance to so so so many things.I would highly highly recommend this hotel if you’re staying in the area.

Date of stay: April 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Robin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 28 April 2024 via mobile

Spent 4 nights at this hotel in April 2024. Traveling with my mother. I stayed here a few years ago, prior to the January reopening under the Fairmont brand.

The room itself was excellent. The furniture and overall look has been updated with the reopening, however the layouts and bathrooms remain largely unchanged. I was a bit surprised the bathtub wasn’t updated or refinished - ours showed significant wear in the basin (314). The beds were very comfortable, and outlets included USB-A & USB-C charging ports.

You’d be hard-pressed to find a better location on the waterfront. Central to everything, but sufficiently tucked away to avoid disruptive noise.

The hotel’s menu was extremely limited. We were surprised that dinner menu (well, the all-day à la carte menu) offered mostly burgers/sandwiches. We ended up getting steaks and fries (no complaints about the food itself). We were advised the hotel was only offering the short menu until April 29, when the hotel’s “official re-opening” would occur.

Service was quite good; there was an early birthday welcome amenity in the room, turn-down was reliable, fresh flowers in the room, and the staff were always friendly. We had some communication issues with the restaurant being closed for a private event, but these were eventually sorted. I would expect these types of bookings are made several months in advance, so earlier communication with upcoming guests would have been appreciated (instead of an email the day prior to the restaurant closing for 2 evenings).

While it was a solid stay overall, I am giving it 4* as I believe there are improvements to be made as the newly-relaunched hotel gets its bearings once again. Hopefully high tea will return!

Date of stay: April 2024
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank SarahJane0488
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Cape Grace, Owner at Cape Grace, A Fairmont Managed Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Dear SarahJane0488.

Thank you for your honest and detailed feedback. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and we want to assure you that all your feedback has been shared with the team and carefully considered. We cannot wait to welcome you back so that we can get another opportunity to improve upon your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2024

The Cape Grace Hotel is elegant, yet comfortable, with an absolutely outstanding staff. The public rooms are beautifully appointed, and the guest rooms provide the most relaxing experience possible. Although our stay was just the beginning of our South African adventure, it was difficult to leave the hotel. Highly recommended.

Room tip: Be sure to eat in the Heirloom Restaurant in the Cape Grace Hotel. Fabulous service and delicious food.
Date of stay: April 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MeleMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Cape Grace, Owner at Cape Grace, A Fairmont Managed Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Dear MeleMom. Thank you for kind words. We will be sure to pass on the message to our team. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our rooms and public area. You are also welcome back at Cape Grace.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2024 via mobile

Located at the V&A Cape Town waterfront, this newly renovated hotel is in an ideal spot to explore this amazing city. Arrivals through the security are announced to concierge team to expect your imminent arrival. The welcome is so warm from all the team at Cape Grace, nothing is too much trouble and the smile and enthusiasm is truly heart felt. The front desk is so warm with the welcome, the hospitality team in the library and restaurant are awesome. Attention to detail from housekeeping is magic. We intend to visit Cape Town again and for us The Cape Grace will be our hotel. Congratulations to the Team at Cape Grace on the launch and the undoubted success it will bring.

Room tip: Room 316 faces Table Mountain the marina with a large seal population.
Date of stay: February 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank JB64London
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Cape Grace, Owner at Cape Grace, A Fairmont Managed Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2024

Dear JB64London,

Thank you very much for your positive review of our beloved hotel. We are happy to hear that you had an enjoyable stay with us and that our front desk, restaurant, library and housekeeping service exceeded expectations. We will be sure to pass on your kind words to the rest of the team. Thank you for joining us during this launch period and we cannot wait to welcome you back home in future.

Warm regards,

The Cape Grace team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews