We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional start to our honeymoon”
Review of Cape Grace

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Cape Grace
Ranked #5 of 113 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 January 2018

We stayed here in late October 2017 for four nights at the start of our honeymoon in South Africa and it set the standard for the rest of our two-week stay.

The hotel is very well situated in beautiful Cape Town with the V&A Waterfront, the Robben Island ferry and various museums and restaurants all within easy walking distance.

We tried the Signal restaurant on our first night and the food is excellent but the real culinary highlight was breakfast every morning which was probably one of the best and most luxurious we've ever had in any hotel.

We'd highly recommend both the wine and the whiskey tasting that the hotel provides, but particularly the latter. I've a real love of whiskey and have done tastings and tours in various places and this was easily the best. Victor (if I remember correctly) was exceptional in his knowledge of his subject and his ability to talk about it in an entertaining and informative manner.

Our room was lovely, clean and very elegant. We were also delighted that the hotel recognised our honeymoon with small gifts every evening.

Final word of thanks and appreciation to Noxy on front-desk, Trevor, our driver, and to the extremely helpful and enthusiastic staff working the concierge desk - all of the staff at the hotel were great but they really went above and beyond what you might expect.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JM0ran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2 159)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
  • More languages

35 - 39 of 2 159 reviews

Reviewed 1 January 2018 via mobile

This hotel is true to its reputation. The staff is warm and welcoming, and our entire 3-day experience was relaxing and lovely. The hotel feels like an historic icon, but in fact, is modern but designed to feel classic. It’s a gorgeous property, with doting and friendly front staff, great restaurant servers, and beautiful rooms. We had both breakfast and dinner in the restaurant, and the food was superb. The breakfast was a standard high-end quality meal, but the tasting menu we enjoyed for dinner was absolutely outstanding. It was a wonderful surprise that the Canadian dollar was actually so strong against the rand that our 5-star meal was a negligible tab— including wines.

It was a lovely treat. The complimentary sherry in the lounge in the evenings was a nice surprise as well.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Bluegrassdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2017 via mobile

Lovely hotel

Have been to five hotels in RSA in two weeks around the Cape and the Cape Grace is the last in the tour
All have been 5 star

The Cape Grace stands out as the finest

Little things

The quality of the welcome back each time you come to the hotel and I mean each time you come in and out

The check in was superb
They were waiting for us like at the Marine
In Hermanus

The breakfast is excellent

The Spa is excellent

The Pool area also excellent

The room was superb and I like the little box of cakes and biscuits near lifts on each floor and finally the location of the hotel couldn’t be better

Not cheap to stay but you get what you pay for

Great hotel . Worth a stay and ill be back

Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
Thank Simon T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2017

We spent four nights at the Cape Grace and our rate included breakfast. Rooms were well appointed (unfortunately due to the drought you can't use the bath tubs...) with separate dressing areas. Ours overlooked the harbor. The staff could not have been more helpful - whether it was recommending a restaurant or arranging for Table Mountain tickets. The buffet breakfast was extensive with plenty of fresh juice (how I evaluate a top hotel) options! I had a cough and one of the servers brought me her special lemon ginger brew. Would definitely stay here again - easy to get to the waterfront and a short ride from most attractions.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JZ16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2017

This is a very special hotel. Wonderful staff who know your name and could not be more helpful. The lovely rooftop terrace room had a view of Table Mountain and the marina. The balcony caught the sun from late morning until sunset.
I've stayed during other visits at Table Bay and the One and Only but enjoyed Cape Grace the most and would definitely choose to stay there again.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled solo
Thank Sagittarius_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
One&Only Cape Town
#15 of 113 in Cape Town Central
1 761 reviews
The Table Bay Hotel
#24 of 113 in Cape Town Central
2 475 reviews
City Bowl
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel
#13 of 113 in Cape Town Central
1 701 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
#32 of 113 in Cape Town Central
1 632 reviews
Taj Cape Town
#21 of 113 in Cape Town Central
1 883 reviews
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#38 of 113 in Cape Town Central
1 878 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cape Grace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape Grace

Address: West Quay Road | Victoria & Alfred Waterfront, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#3 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#4 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#4 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#5 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range: R 6 656 - R 25 795 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Cape Grace 5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on a private quay between the working harbour of Cape Town’s bustling Victoria & Alfred Waterfront and the serenity of an international yacht marina, Cape Grace is a welcoming and gracious sanctuary of tradition, sophistication and contemporary comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cape Grace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cape Grace Hotel Cape Town Central
Hotel Cape Town
Cape Town Grace

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing