We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2 327)
Filter reviews
2 327 results
Traveller rating
2 075
168
55
11
18
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2 075
168
55
11
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviews signal restaurant bascule bar welcome home whiskey bar table mountain complimentary car service dressing area chauffeur service overlooking the marina beautiful hotel our honeymoon every member of staff luxury room perfect location rooms are spacious waterfront area bottle of champagne
Filter
Updating list...
399 - 404 of 2 327 reviews
Reviewed 1 March 2017

This high quality hotel provides 5 star standards of service, food and accommodation, and is in a perfect central waterfront location for visiting Cape Town. It is just a few hundred metres easy pedestrian only walk from the lively V&A- waterfront shopping and shopping malls and the embarkation point for the only tour to the island where Nelson Mandella was imprisoned. It has a private frontage and parking and is just a little more private than the hotels in the malls. The hotel offers a complimentary chauffeured car service which, by prior appointment, will drop you and collect you later within the local area which includes several main tourist spots.
It was helpful to park and leave our own hire car for free and let the hotel driver take us to local sites in a very bmw and Mercedes or walk to the V&A A malls which is loaded with restaurants and shops.hotel provides a High standard of food services delivered by helpful smiley staff and has a nice sheltered swimming pool area. It's a short drive to the table top mountain cable car.. We also recommend driving or taking a day excursion further out to the cape point via the penguin sanctuary.

Room Tip: The hotel building is in the centre of a wharf . Room windows either face a yacht marina or a more commercial dock for working boats.
  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank William D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2017

Stayed in this hotel ten years ago and still entering the lobby you enter another world of elegance. So it was a pleasure to return for dinner. The staff are first class professional and well trained in the hospitality industry. Not a large menu but everything which was ordered with the various dishes was well presented and delicious you could not fault. This was fine dining at its best. The springbok on the menu was out of this world with the sauce.

Stayed: February 2017
Thank ROBIN H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2017

If we ever come back to Le Cap, the main reason will be spend some days at Cape Grace Hotel. Our suite overlooking the harbour and Table Mountain (136) was perfect. The setting was made with exquisite taste,It was very large and quiet.But what we loved the most was the kindness and professionalism of all the staff. Their enthousiasm and the positive energy they share with the guests shows that this Hotel is obviously very well managed. After a couple of days, we really felt a little bit "at home". This hotel is doing a lot for the good image of Cape Town. With gratitute we say "merci" to all the friendly persons that we had the chance to meet there. Congratulations. We already miss you!

Room Tip: Mountain Table View
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Dommeldange
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2017 via mobile

I have stayed here, at different times, over a six year period.
The staff are incredibly helpful and attentive, especially in the restaurant.
The menu has remained mostly the same over the six years. The corn fritters, for breakfast, are inedible.
We went to the Bascule restaurant for tapas. The spring rolls had sharp chicken bones!
After spending four nights, in the 2 bedroom apartment, we asked for an extra hour to be added to the checkout time. We were told, very bluntly, that this could never be allowed.
I think we will be staying at Table Bay Hotel next time!

Stayed: February 2017, travelled on business
3  Thank CandyFlossToss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2017

I have to say I was sadly disappointed. The location of the hotel is ace - the Waterfront is a great area. Also the staff are very kind and warm - although sometimes not as helpful.

My main issue is the poor value for the price. The hotel runs at a similar price to the One and Only and the super high end hotels at the Waterfront - where I have stayed as well on this trip. Compared to those hotels, the room quality is vastly inferior. I was given an odd number room on the 1st floor. It was very dark during the day despite clear skies outside. Overlooking a car park and the water beyond that. The room felt dated in its decor and furnishings. It was about 1/3 of the size of the One and Only rooms for the same price, much older, no balcony, no light and just generally disappointing.

The pool is quite small and was crowded with nowhere to sit. If you like very old worldy style hotels then you will enjoy the common areas and the lounges very much. It is has an old English Georgian traditional feel.

In terms of service, I checked in at 4.30pm - the room was not ready - that is fair considering I booked it only an hour earlier. I asked for my bags to be taken up whilst I went out for an hour and a half - when I came back they were not taken up. I requested a late check out - flat out refused. The breakfast food was nice - but only the continental is buffet - you have to order if you want hot - I ordered beef sausage and poached eggs with baked beans - was given one small sausage and a small helping of baked beans in a very small pot - measly.

The internet was very slow and patchy and at times it was hampering doing my work. Key stopped working twice on my check out morning, before check out time.

I did speak to a manager about how disappointed I was, she thanked me for the feedback but was not especially helpful. That is what I found at this hotel - everyone is nice and friendly and courteous - but they are short on action.

I was moving to another hotel in the Waterfront - I asked for use of the house car which had been advertised - the doorman at first said we can get you a taxi - as though there was no such thing as a house car, then said I needed to ask the lady at reception - she went away and came back and said it was not available. *sighs*

I left R800 in the draw of my room by my bedside cabinet when I checked out. I called later that day and was told R200 had been found. My own fault for being so careless - but I feel it needs to be mentioned in view of some previous reviewers who have also experienced something similar.

I will say the room service was excellent and the lady who delivered it was very kind. The room would have been fine at about 1/3 of the price - but at USD 900/night - it was way off - I would maybe call it 4*, if that.

I am sorry to be a downer on all the other reviews here - but I have to be honest - I also did reach out to the Management during my stay - their response was cordial but not very helpful.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank managerymt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews