We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel ever!”
Review of Cape Grace

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Cape Grace
Ranked #7 of 112 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 February 2017

My husband and I stayed at the Cape Grace for three nights in the first leg of our trip to South Africa and it was an amazing way to start our trip. This is simply the best hotel I've ever stayed at. The staff was welcoming and helpful - especially Leigh the concierge who helped us rent a car and map out an itinerary for a day-trip to the Cape of Good Hope. As shared in the other reviews - the breakfast is incredible. Delicious baked goods, fresh fruit, etch - anything you could possibly want. The location is also very convenient to tourist attractions around the V&A waterfront. One of the things I appreciated about the hotel is that they don't nickel and dime you - service is paramount. Free parking - check. Complimentary car service - check. They even mailed post cards back to the US and didn't ask for reimbursement for stamps! Add to the experience fresh flowers in your room - and you have an incredible, welcoming hotel. Hospitality at its best! Can't wait to return!

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vacagirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2 149)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

240 - 244 of 2 149 reviews

Reviewed 22 February 2017

We stayed here with a group for five nights. Our room (134) looked out on yachts and seals and Table Mountain - really beautiful. The bed was so comfortable that we asked how to buy the mattress! The bathroom was large, with a separate shower and tub and heated towel bar. The only fault we found is that there were no drawers in the dressing room. There are two closets, but one has three shelves and a low hanging bar, while the other is for dresses. So where do you put your underwear and other small clothing items? It was just inconvenient to not have drawers.

The service was excellent. The really awesome amenity is that they deliver coffee/tea with your wake up call - so no fumbling around with the coffeemaker! - (although there is one if you want more). We ordered an International New York Times and it was downloaded and delivered (for 70 rand) with the coffee everyday. There is also twice-a-day maid service.

Breakfast was included in our room rate and there was an excellent assortment of
buffet and hot menu items. Dinner was also very good and the whisky bar and terrace downstairs were fun and different. The pool area was a little small - and next to the dining room - but we didn't use it.

The hotel is just across a footbridge to the V&A mall and entertainment area on the waterfront - so great location. Also, Uber is a good choice for anywhere in central Cape Town since it's way cheaper than a taxi.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank TrustedTraveller2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2017

One of the best hotels we have ever stayed in. Everything about the hotel was good but what made it stand apart was the friendliness and service from the staff. Could not recommend the hotel highly enough.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Ramplkev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2017

Lovely hotel with excellent staff and service. Room was spacious with lovely views over marina and table mountain. Excellent food on every occasion that we ate there. Not cheap but worth the money. Will def go there again. Ps pool nice but small

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sprogg2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2017

We stayed here for 4 days in early February. It is an exceptional experience with helpful staff and lovely rooms. I recommend it without reservation. We had a view of the Marina which was quiet and restful. The restaurant was terrific and the breakfasts (included) were wonderful.

Room Tip: I would suggest a room overlooking the Marina.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LittleRicky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
One&Only Cape Town
#14 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1 737 reviews
The Table Bay Hotel
#17 of 112 in Cape Town Central
2 441 reviews
City Bowl
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel
#11 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1 682 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
#24 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1 614 reviews
Taj Cape Town
#15 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1 863 reviews
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#30 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1 856 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cape Grace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape Grace

Address: West Quay Road | Victoria & Alfred Waterfront, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#3 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#4 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#4 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#7 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range: R 7 338 - R 17 193 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Cape Grace 5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on a private quay between the working harbour of Cape Town’s bustling Victoria & Alfred Waterfront and the serenity of an international yacht marina, Cape Grace is a welcoming and gracious sanctuary of tradition, sophistication and contemporary comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cape Grace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cape Grace Hotel Cape Town Central
Hotel Cape Town
Cape Town Grace

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing