We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for Summer Lunch”
Review of Sotano Restaurant

Sotano Restaurant
Ranked #190 of 1 193 Restaurants in Cape Town Central
Cuisines: Sushi, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Reviewed 25 July 2019 via mobile

After a Sunday walk on the promenade dropped into Sotano for a quick bite. Waiters were on point and got us a table inside quickly. The ambience is relaxed. Great Sunday vibe. Food was really good and service great. Will book a table outside next time we come. Really nice in the sun. Good selection of drinks and craft beer. Loved the tapas

Date of visit: March 2019
Thank AvineshP
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (414)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

69 - 73 of 414 reviews

Reviewed 25 July 2019

Came for early dinner and tried the Duck Pithivier, but found the dish (while generous) to be quite bland.

Drinks a bit on the hefty side, but they do have a plethora of specials which you should look out for and ask the staff about.

Date of visit: June 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Dylan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 14 July 2019

Wasn't greatest restaurant.
We went with a group of friends to see what all the hype was as it was recommended to us by numerous persons. The Sotano on Bree street was fully booked so we went to the one in Mouille Point. In general the restaurant was nice. It started off sort of with a delay. We wanted to order our drinks after the waiter came and took one persons order that was delivered promptly, but disappeared again for a very long time, yet we has not ordered any other drinks. Ok maybe he was busy, but then once we ordered 2 bottles of wine it took another 15min to get wine on the table. Then he wanted to leave again without even taking our food order. He did take it at that time because we called him back to our table. Two in our group ordered a Tomahawk steak that was advertised for 2 persons and double the price of a normal sirloin steak. They thought they would at least have a significant amount of steak, but unfortunately it arrived already cut up and covered with sauteed onions to hide the fact that the steak was maybe 150grams of meat and a very large bone. This was for 2 persons? Two others ordered each a sirloin steak that were at least 200grams each. This was a rip off for the Tomahawk steak for 2 persons. We actually asked why the steak was so small compared to the other orders and yet double the price. The waiter then called out the Chef as the manager was not on duty that night. This was so badly handled as we stated the fact that the issue wasn't the food it was delicious and well presented but value for money they could not tell us nor was the manager available to discuss the issue. Well after that the waiter was totally disinterested in our group and when he came to clear the dishes he dropped some cutlery on one of our guests and it left a stain on her dress. He really only said sorry and then left with no interest at all anymore for us and did not even come to the table again afterwards. We had to search for him to get the bill. We asked on the bill for the manager to phone us the next day for a clarification of the situation, but have not heard from them at all. All in all we will not go back to the Mouille point Sotano again. It was a bad experience with unprofessional staff and wrongly handling of the situation. Hope this helps other in a decision to go there or not.

Date of visit: July 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Kenmaes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 11 July 2019

Lovely location for a bite or drink with friends.
Restaurant is across the ocean and has a nice vibe to it. Love their lamb burgers on Wednesday and overall good food. Service could be a little friendlier and waiters could do with some training.

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank Cat F
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 5 June 2019

Food and views to kill over , without a doubt my all time favourite since day one . Incredible Sushi and Wednesday's Lamb Burger special Always a stunning vibe and well priced . DO NOT MISS THIS ONE .

Date of visit: May 2019
Thank johnny s
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed Sotano Restaurant also viewed

Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to Sotano Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in South Africa. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.