We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not what we expected ”
Review of Sotano

Sotano
Ranked #246 of 1 304 Restaurants in Cape Town Central
Cuisines: Sushi, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Having been recommended, we had great expectations. However, having arrived we asked for a drink which they didn’t stock, after which the waiter lost his sense of humor and wasn’t interested in serving us. The food was also well below average for the price requested. With the quality of restaurants in the area, it is definitely not worth your time and money.

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank Liz B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (313)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 313 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Whilst out with friends near to Christmas we decided last minute on an impromptu lunch and pitched up at Sotano.

Staff on arrival were friendly & welcoming and our allocated waitron Phil gave us five star service but unfortunately the food was very three star average and over rated.

We choose some Patatas Bravas & Garlic Bread to share but the sauce was bland and coming from Spain these were not Bravas but small cubed sautéed potatoes ....

Our Mains were a selection being Beef Espatada , Fish & Chips , Grilled Prawns and Paella and on first glances at the dishes they looked well presented but alas the batter on the fish was soft and not crispy , My Espatada had to be sent back as I ordered Medium and on cutting into the chunks of steak it was Blue.

Obviously sealed & cooked but not finished properly and even once it was returned the meat was really chewy not a good cut of beef and overall a disappointing lunch.

I did make staff know when clearing plates as James our waiter had clocked off duty that the food wasn’t brilliant but as always nobody came across to us so we didn’t go for Desserts we just paid the bill and left.

Sadly this venue has superb views of the beach but needs to be proactive in looking after diners to keep the customers returning and at present checking on if diners are content and overall customer service costs nothing ......

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank paulsF1068UB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2018

met family for a sun downer.did not eat but my daughter had some sushi which looked very good.great location and reasonable service.nothing to write home about on the service but also nothing wrong.ave to be honest.normal selection of eats and alcohol.
lovely setting and views of the ocean.

Date of visit: December 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank KevinS9404
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2018

Nice location along the promenade. We ate a casual dinner here (recommended by our guide). It was fantastic! We enjoyed flatbreads and a variety of smaller meals for our dinner. Everything was great. We sat outside and it was a bit cool. They have blankets for you, which was very much appreciated! Casual dining, great food, watching the world go by - we definitely recommend it!

Date of visit: December 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank McIntyres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2018

We stopped at Sotanos for an early dinner on a Saturday night and really enjoyed both the view and our food. I had the salmon salad off the sushi menu and it was very generous portions of raw salmon slices layered over a base of julienne veggies. With a bit of soy sauce, it was terrific.

My husband had the salmon roses (very good) and the tempura prawn california rolls (excellent!).

Food was good. Service was good. Prices were reasonable. We'll be back!

Date of visit: December 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank africanaddict
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sotano also viewed

Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town, Western Cape
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to Sotano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing