We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice relaxed place”
Review of Sotano

Sotano
Ranked #247 of 1 297 Restaurants in Cape Town Central
Cuisines: Sushi, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Reviewed 19 October 2018

Nice food and great value when using the entertainer app. It is nice to sit have a drink and listen to the live music on a lazy Sunday afternoon

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank Pete F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (309)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 12 of 309 reviews

Reviewed 18 October 2018 via mobile

Absolutely overpriced for tiny portions. Friendly waiter. Don't order the seafood linguine- absolutely no flavour, and it's calamari was yuck. The grilled prawns were OK but certainly not worth its high price tag of R295 for 8 prawns, terrible salad consisting of way too much onion and tomato.

Date of visit: October 2018
1  Thank leia987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2018 via mobile

Visited Sotano for diner while on a mini break to Cape Town with our teenage children. Great food and great environment.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank paullQ3248QH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2018

We deliberately under-tipped to make a point.

There were 6 of us sitting down for a casual lunch, and we all had different stuff. Most of it was nice, but two of us waited for ages for our food to come - one person had actually finished eating before his food came, and when it did it was undercooked. The kitchen had obviously forgotten to make it and threw it together at the last minute.

Staff often couldn't be found, and took random items off the table (salt and pepper, Tobasco sauce) while we were still busy eating.

In the end, they removed two random coffees from our bill for the food being messed up, so (minor) kudos for that.

Side note: I watched a man stand up and threaten to leave because he had been waiting to pay his bill for so long! Ha ha!

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank SteveBuchmann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2018 via mobile

Menue nice and varied, something for everyone. Food was lovley. Service terrible, the front of house staff had no clue.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank 806fredrikb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sotano also viewed

Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town, Western Cape
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to Sotano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing