We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 08:00 - 18:00
Save
Review Highlights
Cape Fur Seals Dive

We scheduled a two-tank boat dive to dive with the cape fur seals and in the kelp forest. The team... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
399haileys
Amazing diving experience and training.

All staff members are super friendly and enthusiastic. My instructors were extremely patient and... read more

Reviewed 5 February 2021
mandyp982
Read all 157 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Cape Town Central
from US$17,24
More Info
from US$35,14
More Info
from US$54,90
More Info
from US$343,48
More Info
Reviews (157)
Filter reviews
157 results
Traveller rating
130
9
8
4
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
130
9
8
4
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews dive shop kelp forest dive master diving experience dive school these guys blue dive awesome diving snorkeling with seals padi open water diver weather conditions an amazing experience great company boat ride dives gear skipper
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
97 - 102 of 157 reviews
Reviewed 12 April 2017

The reason for giving five stars is not because my dive day was good - it was horrible, a complete washout, no viz, unpleasant swell, just all round yucky conditions.

However, that's nature, and dive operators can do nothing about it. What all dive operators should do is be as professional and customer-focused as the guys from ITB diving.

First thing to note is that ITB is considerably cheaper (by almost 1000.- Rand) than Simonstown operators, which is baffling considering that they also have the transport cost from Cape Town to budget for.

DMs, Instructors and Shopfloor staff are all super friendly and helpful; I even got picked up from my Cape Town digs and dropped off afterwards, free of charge.

On the boat, I saw all the emergency and redundancy gear I like to see: twin engines (VERY important!), Oxygen, comms gear, flares, the lot. Briefings were thorough, and buddy check was insisted on.

The trip to Seal Rock in the RIB was fun in the swell, but when we got there the captain did not let us dive because of the unsafe conditions. Disappointing as this was, he was totally right. Low tide and heavy swells are a dangerous combination this close to the rocks, and as for trying to get back into a RIB in seas like this....
We then tried the PMB wreck, where zero viz and nasty vertical swell separated the group and forced us out of the water after 25 minutes.

The captain did offer to try another spot but was honest enough to tell us that in his opinion it was going to be rubbish everywhere, and so we called it a day.

Back at the dive shop, we were all offered a re-schedule, but as I'm out of time I was given half my money back. I know from experience that this is not the norm in the industry, sadly.

Into the Blue is a top notch outfit that does things by the book, with a strong safety focus and very customer centered, on top of offering reasonable pricing and a fair refund policy. You'll have a hard time to find a better operator anywhere around. They'll definitely be my first choice when I pass through next, and for doing my IDC sometime this year.

Just hope mother nature will be in better mood then.

Date of experience: April 2017
Thank GlobetrekkerOxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2017 via mobile

I booked my Padi Open Water course through Into the Blue and was impressed from start to finish. Easy booking, friendly service and great location. Staff make you feel right at home from the word go, but are professional and always make you feel safe. Small groups helped to get to know people and make new friends from across the globe. Will be back shortly for fun dives and more courses.

Date of experience: March 2017
1  Thank FrancoisV878
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2017

I did two fun dives with Into The Blue (plus I also booked the shark cage dive through them) and I had an excellent experience. The communication via email was great and the brunette at reception (I'm really sorry but I didn't catch your name) was very friendly and helpful. My dive guide for the day was Jacque, who was also very welcoming and made the day a lot of fun. We did a wreck dive which was okay and then a dive with seals, and from my 800+ dives it was definitely one of my most favourite so far. JP was driving the boat for us and he was very attentive, the whole dive centre seemed very organised and I would definitely recommend them. The only disappointment from the day was that Llewellyn didn't ask me to marry him :)
Thanks a lot guys!

Date of experience: February 2017
Thank christycloake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2017

I had a great dive with cow sharks near Miller's point but there is still some room for improvement with Into the Blue.
I had contacted the dive center 2 months before going to Cape Town. I found out they did not have my size of boots, so I brought my own, and requested a 15 liter tanks, which was confirmed. The gear was loaded onto a truck in the dive shop and I requested to check the equipment before we left. I did not see the 15 liter tanks but I was assured they would be on the boat. Arriving at the boat, they told me they only had 12 liters available, but that would be big enough. I am not a happy customer, when people tell me something is available when I check be e-mail and check again when I leave the dive shop and other people decide for my I don't need it when I arrive at the dive site.
The cow shark dive was excellent but the waves and the surf caused motion sickness which prevented me from doing the second dive. It would have been nice to have had a warning about this so I could have taken motion sickness pills (like I was advised the next day by the company taking me on the white sharks cage dive). Had I taken them, I would have probably been able to make a second dive.
I brought my own boots, mask and regulator and the gave me a 50 rand discount out of the 650 equipment rental, so the BCD, suit and fins were quite expensive to rent. At the end of the day I paid 2100 rand (about 150 euros) for one dive with a tanks which was not the size they promised. Most of the staff where DMT (which means Dive Master trainee or (advanced) open water divers).

Date of experience: January 2017
3  Thank Geerlings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IntotheB, Owner at Into The Blue Scuba Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 1 February 2017

Dear Geerlings,

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. It's reviews like yours that really helps us to improve our service, and to see where we can do even better. You can rest assured that we will take your comments and use them for the betterment of our shop.

At the moment the biggest boot we stock is a size 13 UK/49 Eur, so I am happy to hear that you were able to bring your own boots with.

It is unfortunate that your 15 liter cylinder did not make in on board, as we can appreciate the fact that you would like to be able to make your dive as long as possible! I trust that the 3 liters of air less didn't have to big an impact on your dive however, as the dives you did were quite shallow. Upon realizing their mistake, the crew did arrange for a 15 liter cylinder to be brought to the site for your second dive, but, unfortunately you felt to sea sick to do the second dive.

As you might know we are a Career Development Centre, which means that, amongst other courses, we also have some Divemaster Courses running every now and again. Perhaps you did not know this, but there was a qualified Instructor leading your dives on the days, as well as a qualified Divemaster. Apart from these 2, there was also 2 "Divemasters in training", which is perhaps where the confusion comes in. Safety is of upmost concern for us, which is why we have a very strict policy of not letting any person who is not a certified Divemaster (or above) leading dives off the boat, furthermore, we always have at least 2 or more qualified Divemasters (or above) on board (with a max of 9 passengers).

I am sorry to hear that you felt seasick. It is not uncommon for the ocean in the Cape Town area to be affected by at least some waves and wind, and our advice is that, if you are prone to seasickness, you always have your tablets at the ready when you go out at sea. Although we normally have a good indication about if the sea will be safe and flat enough for diving, you should always be ready to experience at least a minimal amount of ocean movement in Cape Towns oceans.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2017

Did an open water scuba dive course and had such an incredible time. Everyone there is so friendly and super professional. You can really see how passionate they all are about diving, and giving others the chance to experience what they do everyday.
As an amputee, I was a little apprehensive about what I was getting myself into, but someone was always there to lend a hand (or a foot) when I needed it. Can't imagine there's a better team to dive with.
Will be back for many more fun dives!

Date of experience: January 2017
Thank kevinwF566NQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews