We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“High quality coffee shop”

Origin Coffee Roasting
Price range: R 37 - R 183
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Description: Origin was started by Joel Singer in 2006. He wanted to offer South Africans exceptional, quality roasted coffee from around the world. Eleven years later, this pursuit continues. Joel and his team are passionate about coffee. From the sourcing of green beans, to precise roasting, blending, grinding and pouring of coffee. Take the time to visit us at Origin Headquarters in Cape Town where you can meet the artisans, watch the roasting, sit in on a cupping session and get to taste the coffee while it’s still fresh and expressive. Grab a seat at our Brew Bar for some alternative brew methods and new coffee discoveries.
Reviewed 19 November 2019 via mobile

I’m a coffee snub since I was a barista and a specialty coffee shop owner. The coffee here is amazing, the staff is very good and the food is very good too. It is usually almost impossible to have good food and coffee in the same place. I think this place is solid. Off course I came here for coffee and the food was a big plus

Date of visit: November 2019
2  Thank rwurbina
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
OriginRoasting, Manager at Origin Coffee Roasting, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2019

Thank you for the great review and rating. We strive to create exceptional experiences around our products and are always happy to receive such positive feedback. Your feedback has been shared with both our front of house and kitchen teams. We look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviews (330)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

27 - 31 of 330 reviews

Reviewed 16 November 2019 via mobile

Good variety of coffee and professional baristas. I had coffee only but other stuff looked very delicious

Date of visit: November 2019
Thank Lasrin
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
OriginRoasting, Manager at Origin Coffee Roasting, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2019

Thank you for the great review Lasrin. We look forward to having you join us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2019

I often have to go to Cape town for work and like to sit at Origin to get some work done. Good vibe service coffee and food. Location in de waterkant hood also perfect close to everything and cape quarter mall.

Date of visit: November 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ntantiso
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
OriginRoasting, Manager at Origin Coffee Roasting, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2019

Thank you for the great review and rating Ntantiso. We strive to create exceptional experiences around our products and are always happy to receive such positive feedback. We look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2019

This was my choice for my daily coffee. It is in the lovely De Waterkant neighbourhood which is a very trendy area in Cape Town. I also had breakfast and lunch here and it was great. They bake their own wonderful sour dough bread. It is in a historical building and the interior is very now.

Date of visit: November 2019
Thank InTheNowMoment
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
OriginRoasting, Manager at Origin Coffee Roasting, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2019

Thank you for the great review. We strive to create exceptional experiences around our products and are always happy to receive such positive feedback. We look forward to having you join us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2019 via mobile

I needed a place to do some laptop work for a presentation - they were very busy - it was Sunday at 11 am - got an avocado sandwich, an americano and a green juice - amazing! Service was great too and I loved the ambience

Date of visit: November 2019
Thank BareBarbar
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
OriginRoasting, Manager at Origin Coffee Roasting, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2019

Hi BareBarbar, thank you for the great review. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your visit to Origin and look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Origin Coffee Roasting also viewed

Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to Origin Coffee Roasting? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in South Africa. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.