We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing food ”
Review of The Pot Luck Club

The Pot Luck Club
Ranked #13 of 1 299 Restaurants in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: International
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Reviewed 2 January 2018 via mobile

We LOVED the food at Pot Luck Club! We were disappointed that they had run out of the springbok but everything else was delicious. The only dish we weren’t too keen on was the lamb - and it happened to be the most expensive! We would give that one a miss next time.
The salmon, beef takaki, and the fish sliders were the highlights.
The deserts were good, but not amazing.
We were recommended 12 dishes between 4 (big eaters) and we got 14 plus deserts which was too much!! Take their recommendation on the amount!!

Date of visit: January 2018
Thank GabriellaFenella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2 288)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

265 - 269 of 2 288 reviews

Reviewed 2 January 2018

The venue is beautiful and the staff friendly and helpful.Interesting menu groupings, for example sweet, sour etc.
The curries and the various tastes are fabulous and I can recommend a family to visit!

Date of visit: December 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ProcurementS1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2017 via mobile

This has to be one of the best establishments in Cape Town. The food is exceptional, the service was perfect, and the view from the restaurant at night was breathtaking. You want to order almost everything off the menu so be careful to pace yourself, and take advice form the waitron - generally was spot on with regards to size of portions and how much to order.

Date of visit: December 2017
Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2017 via mobile

We love the Pot Luck Club and go there everytime we are in Cape Town. Unfortunately, this time, our visit was not so fabulous. Service was SLOW with long waits between tapas. Food was 50/50 hit or miss. The lamb was a huge disappointment at R180 a dish. Beef tartare was also a miss with the tuna being ok. The portions have shrunk in size. Overall a bit of a disappointment...

Date of visit: December 2017
Thank runir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2017 via mobile

There’s nothing pot luck about The Pot Luck Club - we had a really splendid evening here with great views, nice wine list, and spectacular tapas portion food. We arrived at 8:20 for an 8:30 reservation and seemed to catch the restaurant on the hop as too many guests all arrived at the same time - we were quickly shown to our kitchen side bar seats (great to watch what happens at such close quarters) but after ordering waited 30mins for drinks to arrive - multiple apologies and frankly forgivable because of the excellent service (Shawn from Durban you were fab) once they were in their stride it was superb and any initial concerns swiftly blown away. Can heartily recommend a return - we couldn’t fault the food - if forced to choose the fish taco, beef tataki and fish sliders were the stars - but to be clear the entire meal was executed with perfection - thank you so much and definitely on our list for our next trip.

Date of visit: December 2017
1  Thank whiterabbitjb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Pot Luck Club also viewed

Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to The Pot Luck Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing