We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Great experience, amazing guide.

We did a Langa Township walking tour. Our Guide MC was just amazing. Great knowledge and passion... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
marcelinho2015
,
Frankfurt, Germany
authentic township experience

On June 1, 2019 based on recommendation from friends we joined MC on a township experience In... read more

Reviewed 27 July 2019
TamarN1974
Read all 92 reviews
  
Reviews (92)
Filter reviews
92 results
Traveller rating
88
3
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
88
3
1
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
75 - 80 of 92 reviews
Reviewed 21 February 2012

When I decided to take a group of post-graduate students to one of Cape Town's townships for an immersion experience, I was lucky enough to be introduced to Mc of Pro Team SA by a colleague. She had worked with him and was very impressed with his professionalism. Mc and I have worked together on a number of programmes. I have experienced him as an enthusiastic, client-orientated, proactive and organised person. I have very much appreciated his contribution to very successful township visits, where the visitors were able to connect with local people and get a bit of a sense of what it's like to live in a township.

Date of experience: March 2011
1  Thank Meya7737
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 14 February 2012

My friend and I visited the Langa township with MC of ProTeamSA at the beginning of February.

It is very straightforward getting to Langa via the N2 - All communication with MC prior to arrival was great. He welcomed us at the Sports Centre at the entrance and gave us a good briefing and introduction to our day. MC was great at mixing up stories of tradition amongst the Xhosa people with current affairs and a history of the residents of Langa. It is fair to say he was giving a very one-sided and sometimes blunt view of the politics of Langa and apartheid but that is exactly what we went there for. This is a real life view of the effects of apartheid, not a history tour of something from centuries ago. The amount of Afrikaaners I met who warned us not to go, with their racial stereotypes of the people and their customs made me quite determined to visit Langa.

We visited different businesses, popped into shops and met different people (including MCs family). At no point did I feel that this was a zoo or voyeur-like experience. I can only imagine those kind of comments come from people who zipped through in their people-carriers taking photos every five seconds. We also felt safe throughout, something which was high on our list of priorities. There was a chance mingle with locals at their local pubs and see the ladies preparing the smilys (sheepsheads).

I would recommend this trip for anyone visiting capetown who wants to see something other than the glitzy beachfront of camps bay or the tranquil shopping of the Waterfront. I also think all schoolschildren in Africa should be taken there as part of the national curriculum!

As a side note, I was encouraged to take photos but never felt comfortable doing so out of respect.

Date of experience: January 2012
Thank laminad123
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 December 2019 via mobile
Google Translation

Date of experience: December 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A Tripadvisor China Member
Reviewed 24 April 2019 via mobile
Google Translation

Date of experience: April 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 23 April 2019
Google Translation

Date of experience: April 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews