We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Must find a reason to return.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Southern Comfort Guest Lodge
Ranked #61 of 156 Cape Town Central B&B and Inns
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The only thing wrong with our stay was that it was just for one night and not for much longer. We unavoidably arrived late although we had advised the owners in advance that it might be a possibility. Nevertheless, we were welcomed by Denise and Maya as if we were long lost friends. Ian has previously made a comment about Southern Comfort
making you feel like family and it is exactly like that. A lovely breakfast is taken at a shared table with other guests and we enjoyed our all too brief time with their visitors from Hamburg. Our room (no. 3) was large and stylishly modern. There is a very nice pool and there are stunning views over the city and towards Table Mountain from the roof terrace. In the morning Denise took us for a little tour of the neighborhood which was appreciated. A friendly dog adds to the family atmosphere. The neighborhood is very tranquil. Plenty of restaurants not too far away. In summary, lovely people. We do genuinely recommend this guest house.

Room Tip: We would ask for the same room if we are able to return.
See more room tips
Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Montythecat461
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
drdenver, Manager at Southern Comfort Guest Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hello Monty the cat. Welcome to Africa. Thank you for your wonderful review. We hope that we have made up for the unfortunate arrival you had. Our big dining table brings people and many nations together. Next time please join us for a longer stay and Denise will be happy to share a friendly history lesson of the Cape over tea.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (93)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 93 reviews

Reviewed 12 January 2018 via mobile

It was great staying here at Southern Comfort Guest Lodge. It is almost like being part of the family. The staff are friendly, the owners great and the room very nice. It was a fabulous stay and certainly worth recommending... good luck for 2018

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Ian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
drdenver, Manager at Southern Comfort Guest Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2018

Dear Ian

Thank you so very much for your great review. This is what makes the guesthouse so rewarding. Happy guests and great memories. Thank you and all the best to you for 2018. May it be a good one for us all. Look forward to homecoming you again. Maya

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2018

A very friendly and nice atmosphere. Comfortable beds, clean room with al facilities you need. The roof terace had a magnifikast view and the location was very central and in a safe area. We hade some nice days and would very much return to this nice hotel!

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Z8145BPmarieb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
drdenver, Manager at Southern Comfort Guest Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2018

Dear Marie

Thank you for your lovely review. We are so proud to be at the foot of Table Mountain and have the roof deck terrace available for guests to enjoy. Glad you were comfortable. We look forward to welcoming you back to our beautiful city

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2017

Very nice and spacious accomodations, with comfortable beds and quiet neighbourhood, stunning rooftop terasse with table mountain view, walking distance to long street, delicious breakfast . Attentive hosts.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank martinae514
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
drdenver, Manager at Southern Comfort Guest Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2017

Dear Martina

Thank you for your lovely review. We are very privileged to have our rooftop with views of Table Mountain. Glad you enjoyed breakfast and the neighborhood. Good to have guests with good memories of our beautiful city. Regards Maya

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2017

Southern Comfort Guest Lodge is accessibly locate near the heart of the city of Cape Town. It is nestled on the slopes of Table Mountain and has the most magnificent panoramic views of the Cape. The rooms are very well equipped, comfortable, beautiful shower rooms, etc. The owners were friendly and welcoming. Unfortunately, no breakfast was provided, but there was a fantastic little deli a minute-walk away that served excellent food at very reasonable prices. All in all, highly recommended for visitors to the Cape!

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank adrianv472
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
drdenver, Manager at Southern Comfort Guest Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2017

Thank you so much for your wonderful review. I will pass on your words to the team. Good to know that Wills Deli is living up to its reputation for serving good food all year round in the neighborhood. We look forward to welcoming you again to our beautiful city.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
City Bowl
The Three Boutique Hotel
The Three Boutique Hotel
#32 of 112 in Cape Town Central
409 reviews
Cape Heritage Hotel
#10 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1 356 reviews
Parker Cottage
#1 of 156 in Cape Town Central
1 057 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Bowl
Belmont Guest House
Belmont Guest House
#11 of 156 in Cape Town Central
189 reviews
City Bowl
Tom's Guest House
Tom's Guest House
#23 of 156 in Cape Town Central
317 reviews
Bluegum Hill Guest House and Apa...
#6 of 156 in Cape Town Central
290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Southern Comfort Guest Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southern Comfort Guest Lodge

Address: 27 Belmont Avenue | Oranjezicht, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central > City Bowl , Oranjezicht
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #61 of 156 B&Bs / Inns in Cape Town Central
Price Range: R 1 017 - R 1 484 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Southern Comfort Guest Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Southern Comfort Guest Lodge is located in the prestigious suburb of Oranjezicht just 5 min. off Kloof Street bustling with shops and restaurants. The central location of the Guest Lodge is perfect to reach Cape Town Highways, close to Camps Bay and its Beaches, City Centre and V & A Waterfront, University of Cape Town and Kirstenbosch Botanical Gardens. Will's Deli serves the locals all year round. Southern Comfort Guest Lodge is positioned in an area of Cape Heritage Sites with tree lined streets and parks for joggers. The Guest Lodge is dominated by Table Mountain, Lion's Head, Signal Hill and Devil's Peak. A perfect panoramic view is unsurpassed from our roof-top viewing deck where Guests can enjoy sundowners at their leisure observing the moving cable-car, setting of the sun, the scintillating moon rising and a sky full of stars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Southern Comfort Guest Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing