We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Seafood and Great Service”

Harbour House V&A Waterfront
Ranked #100 of 1 225 Restaurants in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Reviewed 15 October 2016

My wife and I enjoyed a wonderful meal at the Harbour House. Our waiter Travis recommended the kingklip, which is a rich and meaty fish. We started with fresh oysters from Namibia and included a nice bottle of South African Chenin Blanc. Our waiter was helpful and very professional. The prices were very reasonable and the quality outstanding.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Alan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harbour House W, Manager at Harbour House V&A Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2016

Good day Alan B,

Thank you so much for your constructive feedback. We delighted to know you and your wife enjoyed all we had on offer which means we succeeded in our goal. We firm believers of excellent customer service and mouth-watering dishes.

Please do stop by when in Cape Town again. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kindest Regards,
Melody and the Harbour House Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3 065)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

836 - 840 of 3 065 reviews

Reviewed 15 October 2016 via mobile

We'd tried to get in here on the previous night but it was fully booked so we booked the next morning. We were offered a table on the deck by the waterside which would have been nice but when we arrived we were told that table wasn't available - not sure why. However we didn't make a fuss as the night was a bit chilly and an inside table didn't seem like a bad idea. The food was great - my husband loved the hake and my rack of lamb was lovely. Service was good. Prices, like everywhere we've visited in Cape Town, were very reasonable.

Thank Sue S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harbour House W, Manager at Harbour House V&A Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2016

Good day Sue S,

Thank you very much for reviewing the Harbour House V&A Waterfront. We continually strive to provide consistent service with food and wine to compliment the meal.

The team here at Harbour House have a love for fresh seafood and lovely wine! We happy you enjoyed your dining experience with us and overjoyed that we did not disappoint. I am terribly sorry to hear that your table was given away but I am sure it worked out for the best as it was a chilly evening.

We look forward to welcoming you back and hope we are able to exceed your expectations again.

Kindest Regards,
Melody and the Harboour House Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2016 via mobile

We ate not outside and not inside, so you could say we ate somewhere in between which was very nice. The appetizer was the best part of the meal potato and parmesan gnocchi just out of this world. The rest of the meal fish and seafood had it's ups and downs, calamari, broiled prawns, mixed vegetables, and one fish was very good, crayfish mushey rice too spicy, and prawns cooked a different way you can miss that way.

Thank PeterH001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harbour House W, Manager at Harbour House V&A Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2016

Good day PeterH001,

Thank you for taking the time to review the Harbour House V&A Waterfront.

Our "enclosed glass area" is what you referring to. Also known as the best seat at the Harbour House. We delighted to read of your great dining experience you have had with us and very glad you enjoyed all we had on offer.

We look forward to having you dine with us in the not too distant future.

Kindest Regards,
Melody and the Harbour House Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2016 via mobile

Great location, menu & staff BUT terrible service. Definitely lacking communication between servers & kitchen or is it just the kitchen that needs direction? Untenable wait for food, but hey ho, not a lot else to do and it was worth waiting for. Maybe trying to maximise profits and cram in as many as possible? Disappointed.

Thank Kev M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harbour House W, Manager at Harbour House V&A Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2016

Good day Kev M,

Thank you very much for taking the time to provide your review of the Harbour House V&A Waterfront.

We would like to extend our sincerest apologies for the bad experience you have had at our restaurant. Please may I request you email lynton@harbourhouse.co.za in order to discuss your experience with us.

We Look forward to receiving your correspondence and hope you have a great day further.

Kind Regards,
Melody and the Harbour House Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2016

We did not have a bad meal in Cape Town but dinner here was the best. A salad of rocket, baked squash with feta and pesto was excellent; and the fish special was perfect. Friendly, efficient service. You'll need a reservation.

Thank chas58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harbour House W, Manager at Harbour House V&A Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2016

Good day chas58,

Thank you for your kind review and positive feedback. We are pleased to read you had a wonderful experience joining us at the Harbour House V&A Waterfront.

Our kitchen pride themselves in their creativity and uniquely prepared dishes and our staff strive to give excellent service at all times. We happy we could meet your expectations in both food and service.

We look forward to welcome you back soon and having you dine with us again.

Kindest Regards,
Melody and the Harbour House Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Harbour House V&A Waterfront also viewed

Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to Harbour House V&A Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing