We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great fun”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Cafe Manhattan

Cafe Manhattan
Ranked #349 of 1 144 Restaurants in Cape Town Central
Cuisines: Bar, Cafe, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Groups, Bar Scene
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Breakfast, Lunch, Drinks, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
181 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Great fun”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We popped in for supper on Easter Monday. The place had a good buzz with a varied mix of people.
Service was first class. Kyle balanced flirting and fun very well.
The food was very good. I had hake with wares melon and feta salad. Superb. My partner had the Cobb salad which he lived. We shared the chocolate nut sundae. Not to be missed.
Very good wine and well priced.
Excellent.

Visited April 2017
Helpful?
Thank Paul G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    86
    88
    27
    13
    36
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Times are wrong”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Arrived mid afternoon to find they are closed. Would have loved to try it but alas the times are wrong on here open only from 4pm weekdays.

Visited April 2017
Helpful?
2 Thank Emil W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town, South Africa
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Date night”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Great service from Kyle! Happy all round. Awesome food, service, vibe! Divine drinks... what more can we say. Lovely evening!

Visited April 2017
Helpful?
1 Thank ChaniMac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
“Perfect place for a drink”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I spent a week here in Cape Town and I have to say that the staff at Cafe Manhattan made my week. I stayed at the hotel across the street and would stop in for a drink or two every day. The vibe is awesome, the staff is friendly and welcoming, everyone treats you like a regular and it was wonderful. Thank you so much papa p and the rest of the staff for being so incredible and leaving a smile on my face every day, you really made this week awesome!

Visited March 2017
Helpful?
Thank Julia J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Avoid”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Decided to have a drink (given up on the food price hikes), ordered a vodka and coke and the bill comes and they gave me the most expensive brand vodka bellvedere.

Sorry but that's just robbing!

Me and my friends will not go back here for drinks or food. Good luck for the winter guys as we will go to drink & eat elsewhere in the village from here on.

And whilst the staff claim it's the owners that are the problem, yes that's true, however the BAR staff that try to overcharge drinks every weekend are also to blame. Particularly the guy with the dreads AVOID.
He has given me some amazing excuses as to why he should charge extra - the bill doesn't include vat is one example.

BYE



Visited March 2017
Helpful?
4 Thank Andrewmig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cafe Manhattan also viewed

Cape Town, Western Cape
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to Cafe Manhattan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing