We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gay pub restaurant with great atmosphere”
Review of Cafe Manhattan

Cafe Manhattan
Ranked #318 of 1 147 Restaurants in Cape Town Central
Cuisines: European, Bar
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Hove, East Sussex
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Gay pub restaurant with great atmosphere”
Reviewed 23 March 2017

We visited this pub (more like a pub than cafe in the evening) without realising it was full of mostly gay people. This wasn't a problem, we were made to feel welcome. Sat outside and drank a beer. The food was very good 'pub' type food. Nice location on the corner of the street very close to our hotel in Loader Street, so we felt safe walking there and back in the evening.

  • Visited March 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PIDGEONSTITCH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    87
    93
    28
    13
    37
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Rip off is a understatement of note!!!”
Reviewed 22 March 2017 via mobile

I have been a avid sapporter for years.I recently moved from the city to the suburbs so i stopped going because i just never went to the city.I returned over the week end .... i was disgusted to find out that a burger was R90 and then the worst was chips extra R30(helo 2 potatoes do not cost R30) oh onion rings also extra.This just boils down to pure greed .A instutution is ruined because somebody became greedy. Do they think people are stupid.... in todays age we have so many different options to eat and choose from. The menus minutelyprinted in the smallest lettering ...it looks like a size of a placemat.I will never eat at Manhattans ever again ... sies ( disgust) at you people. GREED money and sure stupidity is what has happened.Oh the sallad 2 lettuce leaves 1 tomatoe... may i ask a favour can we please please have a piece of feta ... i might pay extra

Visited March 2017
Helpful?
3 Thank tradgy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
“An all rounder venue that doesn't dissapoint ”
Reviewed 19 March 2017 via mobile

Well...they do say that a picture says a thousand words. Dont worry, I'll keep this one well under a thousand.
Awesome, tasty, simple, do it, you gotta, thank me later.
For an all rounder experience of Cape Town follow our Inst profile at zawanderlust

Visited February 2017
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pretoria
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“From bad to terrible”
Reviewed 18 March 2017 via mobile

Does the owner read these comments? Friday night of a long weekend middle of the month and two of the wines on the worst wine list in Cape Town, is out of stock! Let's bet on the number of days before the current owners and managers managed successfully managed to force this icon onto extinction!

Visited March 2017
Helpful?
2 Thank hugovz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delft, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
70 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Nice place”
Reviewed 15 March 2017 via mobile

We had a nice lunch and diner at Manhattan. Very relaxed atmosphere and diverse crowd. Boy waiters often serving you without a shirt. Food is ok. Nice and sunny veranda.

Visited March 2017
Helpful?
Thank PeterDelft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cafe Manhattan also viewed

Cape Town, Western Cape
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to Cafe Manhattan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing