We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An all rounder venue that doesn't dissapoint ”
Review of Cafe Manhattan

Cafe Manhattan
Ranked #338 of 1 163 Restaurants in Cape Town Central
Cuisines: European, Bar
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
A TripAdvisor Member
“An all rounder venue that doesn't dissapoint ”
Reviewed 19 March 2017 via mobile

Well...they do say that a picture says a thousand words. Dont worry, I'll keep this one well under a thousand.
Awesome, tasty, simple, do it, you gotta, thank me later.
For an all rounder experience of Cape Town follow our Inst profile at zawanderlust

Visited February 2017
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    87
    93
    29
    14
    38
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Pretoria
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“From bad to terrible”
Reviewed 18 March 2017 via mobile

Does the owner read these comments? Friday night of a long weekend middle of the month and two of the wines on the worst wine list in Cape Town, is out of stock! Let's bet on the number of days before the current owners and managers managed successfully managed to force this icon onto extinction!

Visited March 2017
Helpful?
2 Thank hugovz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delft, The Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Nice place”
Reviewed 15 March 2017 via mobile

We had a nice lunch and diner at Manhattan. Very relaxed atmosphere and diverse crowd. Boy waiters often serving you without a shirt. Food is ok. Nice and sunny veranda.

Visited March 2017
Helpful?
Thank PeterDelft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Insane price increases!”
Reviewed 14 March 2017

Not one to moan about a price increase, but was recently made aware of the price increases when the menus changed by other friends who were also regulars(like more than twice a week type regulars).

Burger, Fries & Onion Rings used to cost R75, it now costs a whopping R140. Keep the salad, I'm not dieting...

I absolutely love the staff and vibe there, but this is more of a bar than a restaurant, the food is convenient when popping over for a drink and the food is nowhere near amazing.

I thought it may still be worthwhile having a drink there, but found out the cost of a pint of Peroni went up from R35 to R49.

I certainly won't be back and hope you guys make it through winter!

  • Visited March 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Taahir A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“RIP OFF”
Reviewed 12 March 2017

been going to this place for years and was really shocked recently to discover a 60% increase on the food menu. To add to that the portions are smaller. You now pay for sides as extra. It's now so expensive that it's actually cheaper to go to a proper steak house restaurant like the hussar grill or nelsons eye and get better food, bigger portions and an honest great service.

To add insult to injury the bar staff are always trying to rip off the customers by over charging for drinks. As soon as they think you are a tourist they will try to rip you off.

Most of my friends are now refusing to go here and will go elsewhere.

Visited March 2017
Helpful?
4 Thank chris1232014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cafe Manhattan also viewed

Cape Town, Western Cape
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to Cafe Manhattan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing