We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“RIP OFF” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cafe Manhattan

Cafe Manhattan
Ranked #333 of 1 135 Restaurants in Cape Town Central
Cuisines: Bar, Cafe, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Cheap Eats, Groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Drinks, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“RIP OFF”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

been going to this place for years and was really shocked recently to discover a 60% increase on the food menu. To add to that the portions are smaller. You now pay for sides as extra. It's now so expensive that it's actually cheaper to go to a proper steak house restaurant like the hussar grill or nelsons eye and get better food, bigger portions and an honest great service.

To add insult to injury the bar staff are always trying to rip off the customers by over charging for drinks. As soon as they think you are a tourist they will try to rip you off.

Most of my friends are now refusing to go here and will go elsewhere.

Visited March 2017
Helpful?
2 Thank chris1232014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    84
    86
    26
    13
    34
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
97 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“We love atmosphere and the people”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We have been to Café Manhattan several times and love the atmosphere. The choices of food is very good and the drinks area excellent. The only issue sometimes the service is slower than normal but it is worth the wait. A must in Cape Town

Visited February 2017
Helpful?
Thank Doug S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“RIP OFF”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I have been told this place is struggling, but the latest cost cutting measure is really bad news. The burgers here used to be excellent, however our " meal" yesterday was something else. Used to be around 90 rand for burger, chips and onion rings. Now it's 90 rand just for the burger and what they say is a side salad, ( one small tomato cut in half and a bit of lettuce ) if you want chips and onion rings it's an extra 60 rand making 150 rand for exactly what you used to get for 90 rand. That is far too much of an increase in price for the same meal. More cost cutting is the bun, it's now a very small, thin, soggy bun. There are lots of gay friendly restaurants around. Why do we gays allow these people to rip us off. Manhatten isn't really a friendly place anyway. The bar itself is never busy, everyone in there are with their own company, sat at tables and never interact with anyone else. They tried last year to get more money out of customers by raising the corkage to 100 rand, that didn't work and they soon put it back to 50 rand. Best advise is to avoid this place. We shouldn't have to be ripped off in such a manner. If it's burgers you like Hudsons or Mama Roccos ( no courage charge ) Green point, are better options, and very friendly places.

  • Visited March 2017
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank harvestmouse2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town, South Africa
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“BAD SERVICE AND FOOD”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Waited forever for our beers. We visited a few months ago and we were looking forward to the Burgers. The patties were dry and hardly any garnish. Chips also no longer served with burgers but a small salad. Price the same but value for money shocking. Spur and Steers make better burgers than you I ordered the Big Boy and my partner had the Halloumi.
The waiter didn't even bother to check what the food was like, i wont be going back.

  • Visited March 2017
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank erniettaylor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good but slow”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Nice chill place for esp gays. Loved the atmosphere and super relaxed. Food was actually good for a "pub"-style menu. Only negative point: service is a bit slow by the boys.....

Visited March 2017
Helpful?
Thank Leon P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cafe Manhattan also viewed

Cape Town, Western Cape
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to Cafe Manhattan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing