We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“BAD SERVICE AND FOOD”
Review of Cafe Manhattan

Cafe Manhattan
Ranked #322 of 1 148 Restaurants in Cape Town Central
Cuisines: Bar, Cafe, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Drinks, Breakfast, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Cape Town, South Africa
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“BAD SERVICE AND FOOD”
Reviewed 5 March 2017

Waited forever for our beers. We visited a few months ago and we were looking forward to the Burgers. The patties were dry and hardly any garnish. Chips also no longer served with burgers but a small salad. Price the same but value for money shocking. Spur and Steers make better burgers than you I ordered the Big Boy and my partner had the Halloumi.
The waiter didn't even bother to check what the food was like, i wont be going back.

  • Visited March 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank erniettaylor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    87
    91
    28
    13
    36
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good but slow”
Reviewed 5 March 2017 via mobile

Nice chill place for esp gays. Loved the atmosphere and super relaxed. Food was actually good for a "pub"-style menu. Only negative point: service is a bit slow by the boys.....

Visited March 2017
Helpful?
1 Thank Leon P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Style over content.”
Reviewed 5 March 2017 via mobile

Admittedly it was possibly one of the busiest Friday's of the year for this restaurant, but the poor, extremely slow and negligent service contributed to this unpleasant experience. Unfortunately the funky atmosphere could not compensate. If the food had been especially good it may have made the experience more tolerable, however the calamari and feta starter had too much chilli in it for no particular reason that overpowered the dish. The falafel burgers were as one would expect. Ultimately left having had a unpleasant experience.

Visited March 2017
Helpful?
1 Thank djfaz2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
48 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Menu changed”
Reviewed 5 March 2017 via mobile

I've been to Manhattan a few times and recently they changed the menu. Ordered a platter for two, and it was definitely not enough for two and not worth the R120.

Visited March 2017
Helpful?
3 Thank eleneb2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good steak!”
Reviewed 4 March 2017

very nice bar/'restaurant in very nice neighbourhood De Waterkant. Also with very good looking waiters ;-) Very friendly
And the steak is very good.
Nice bar

Visited March 2017
Helpful?
Thank trillkopio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cafe Manhattan also viewed

Cape Town, Western Cape
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to Cafe Manhattan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing