We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Manhatten rip off”
Review of Cafe Manhattan

Cafe Manhattan
Ranked #320 of 1 147 Restaurants in Cape Town Central
Cuisines: European, Bar
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Manhatten rip off”
Reviewed 16 February 2017 via mobile

If you're a tourist in Cape Town, avoid this bar. Any wiff of being a tourist and they charge you double for your drinks.
The staff were rude to us. On the night we were there, the bar staff and waitering staff were arguing with each other in front of the customers. The atmosphere was not very nice. I will never go here again.

Visited February 2017
Helpful?
2 Thank JCM1079
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    87
    93
    28
    13
    37
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Manhattan just raised all prices by 40%”
Reviewed 8 February 2017

I've been going to this place for years, usually 3 times a week. Today I went and my usual order is steak which comes with chips, onion rings and a sauce at 180 rand.

Today the price is as follows:
Steak - 200
Chips - 30
Rings - 30
Sauce - 20


So the exact same meal is is now 100 rand more expensive. That's insane!
What was once a 3 weekly lunch treat will now possibly be once every couple of weeks. South Africans will not appreciate this price hike whatsoever.

Such a shame that the shareholders got so greedy!! I'm told by staff this is across the Madame Zingara Group.

Visited February 2017
Helpful?
4 Thank Andrewmig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
36 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Lovely drinks and cocktails”
Reviewed 6 February 2017

Lovely venue to wait for or meet up with friends. The menu is limited but sufficient and the food is well executed.

Visited February 2017
Helpful?
Thank Guest B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
33 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Thirteen years in a row”
Reviewed 5 February 2017 via mobile

13 years in a row... February we vissit Cafe Manhattan and it is as good as ever. The menu got smaller the service a bit high and absent. The food.... well what can one say. Pork ribs and Squid. The ribs was done to perfection best in a long time. The.Squid was the.best my love had in his lifetime. He there and then decided we will be back next year.

Visited February 2017
Helpful?
Thank jaco v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Awesome place to chill”
Reviewed 29 January 2017 via mobile

Perfect place to start a weekend on a Friday, live happy hour and dance vibe! Perfect place to catch up on the week

Visited January 2017
Helpful?
Thank E9837BUjohnl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cafe Manhattan also viewed

Cape Town, Western Cape
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to Cafe Manhattan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing