We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Manhattan just raised all prices by 40%” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cafe Manhattan

Cafe Manhattan
Ranked #263 of 1 132 Restaurants in Cape Town Central
Cuisines: Bar, Cafe, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Bar Scene, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Breakfast, After-hours, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Manhattan just raised all prices by 40%”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

I've been going to this place for years, usually 3 times a week. Today I went and my usual order is steak which comes with chips, onion rings and a sauce at 180 rand.

Today the price is as follows:
Steak - 200
Chips - 30
Rings - 30
Sauce - 20


So the exact same meal is is now 100 rand more expensive. That's insane!
What was once a 3 weekly lunch treat will now possibly be once every couple of weeks. South Africans will not appreciate this price hike whatsoever.

Such a shame that the shareholders got so greedy!! I'm told by staff this is across the Madame Zingara Group.

Visited February 2017
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrewmig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    79
    79
    23
    12
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely drinks and cocktails”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Lovely venue to wait for or meet up with friends. The menu is limited but sufficient and the food is well executed.

Visited February 2017
Helpful?
Thank 297guestb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
25 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Thirteen years in a row”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

13 years in a row... February we vissit Cafe Manhattan and it is as good as ever. The menu got smaller the service a bit high and absent. The food.... well what can one say. Pork ribs and Squid. The ribs was done to perfection best in a long time. The.Squid was the.best my love had in his lifetime. He there and then decided we will be back next year.

Visited February 2017
Helpful?
Thank jaco v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Awesome place to chill”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Perfect place to start a weekend on a Friday, live happy hour and dance vibe! Perfect place to catch up on the week

Visited January 2017
Helpful?
Thank E9837BUjohnl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“And the evening continued”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Met up with some friends for drinks after Gate 69. The bar men are still as hot as always and so is the waiters. Always fun for a drink after dinner and before the club:) the food. Can be good just do not go in a big group. Service is sometimes a bit slow.

Visited January 2017
Helpful?
Thank RudolphMW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cafe Manhattan also viewed

Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town, Western Cape
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to Cafe Manhattan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing