We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Thirteen years in a row” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cafe Manhattan

Cafe Manhattan
Ranked #333 of 1 136 Restaurants in Cape Town Central
Cuisines: Bar, Cafe, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Groups, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Drinks, Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Level Contributor
30 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Thirteen years in a row”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2017 via mobile

13 years in a row... February we vissit Cafe Manhattan and it is as good as ever. The menu got smaller the service a bit high and absent. The food.... well what can one say. Pork ribs and Squid. The ribs was done to perfection best in a long time. The.Squid was the.best my love had in his lifetime. He there and then decided we will be back next year.

Visited February 2017
Helpful?
Thank jaco v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    84
    86
    26
    13
    34
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Awesome place to chill”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2017 via mobile

Perfect place to start a weekend on a Friday, live happy hour and dance vibe! Perfect place to catch up on the week

Visited January 2017
Helpful?
Thank E9837BUjohnl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
28 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“And the evening continued”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2017 via mobile

Met up with some friends for drinks after Gate 69. The bar men are still as hot as always and so is the waiters. Always fun for a drink after dinner and before the club:) the food. Can be good just do not go in a big group. Service is sometimes a bit slow.

Visited January 2017
Helpful?
Thank RudolphMW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cowbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
112 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Standards and menu, fallen past it's best”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2017 via mobile

I came here for lunch. His used to be one of my favourite places to eat. Usually busy. Sunday lunch and it was dead.

Sat outside. Menu much reduced in size and variety.

I ordered a plain haloumi burger .... that is just bun, meat , cheese and chilli dressing. Nothing else. That's exactly how I described it to the waiter. Specifically no tomatoes.

He served the bottled water without ice, temperatures of 30℃. Come on guys, ask if you think we might want it.

The burger arrived and the waiter promptly announced "made with love", unfortunately not with an amount of common sense..... all the usual mayo, lettuce, and bloody tomatoes. Shame he didn't or the kitchen staff didn't read the order and check it.

It was taken back and returned wishing about 3 mins later. Long enough for it to be scraped. Still with the mayo and lettuce.

When will restaurants learn that we don't know what to order it without , if you don't write on the menu what it comes with?

It came back without cutlery, by which time I just gave up.

The banging noise of building repairs didn't help.

I looked at other reviews to see if I was being harsh, but it would appear not. When your "terrible" reviews are almost there same as your "average", it's time to take a look around. Has this place started to take its position for granted. Based on this visit. Yes. Yes, this was all based on the tomato but it's also about listening to customers and checking stuff is right, before you serve it.

Visited January 2017
Helpful?
3 Thank Rugbysw11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“excellent burgers and steaks”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2017

Great bar/restaurant on corner of Waterkant/Dixon in the lovely De Waterkant neighbourhood. Great burgers and steaks. Good service and very affordable. Highly recommended!

Visited January 2017
Helpful?
Thank geertgiselle70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cafe Manhattan also viewed

Cape Town, Western Cape
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to Cafe Manhattan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing