We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent burgers and steaks”
Review of Cafe Manhattan

Cafe Manhattan
Ranked #321 of 1 155 Restaurants in Cape Town Central
Cuisines: European, Bar
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“excellent burgers and steaks”
Reviewed 18 January 2017

Great bar/restaurant on corner of Waterkant/Dixon in the lovely De Waterkant neighbourhood. Great burgers and steaks. Good service and very affordable. Highly recommended!

Visited January 2017
Helpful?
Thank geertgiselle70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    87
    93
    29
    13
    37
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
“Only @ Cafe Manhattan!! ”
Reviewed 17 January 2017 via mobile

It's very seldom that you find a restaurant in Cape Town that is consistent which automatically makes it one of my favourite restaurants hands down!!

We often pop into restaurants on a daily basis and it becomes a problem when you tend to frequent the same restaurant three times a week, my problem, clearly not theirs!!

Upon arrival you are greeted with the friendliest yet feisty staff that'll help you chose that fab cocktail or shot just to start off your day, be it 11am or 15h00!!

One of my favorite dishes is the Salt and Pepper squid! I can honestly say that I've tried it at different locations and no one, and I do mean no one, does Salt & Pepper squid the way they do! Fried and served with fries with a chili and aioli sauce, it is squid heaven, you may just order a second!

Another favorite is the Dirty Texan Burger & my oh my was I not disappointed!! Drizzled in a chilli chocolate sauce, medium done, sizzling, it just tantalizes the taste buds and to top it off with another favorite, a Cosmpolitan

Can you honestly ask for anything more delicious? So pop down to Manhattans, it's a decadently delicious experience you won't forget.

Thank you to the amazing team behind the Cafe's success, you guys are phenomenal and consistent and that, in itself, is rare

Visited October 2016
Helpful?
Thank Anastacia. T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Dinner”
Reviewed 17 January 2017 via mobile

Terrible service and food! Place is run by children.
They are full of themselves and tend to pay more attention to their friends popping in than to the tables.
Arrogant bunch.
Used to be my favorite place for a meal, not anymore!
The two by two in the toilets still taking place which means that the place is used for wheeling and dealings. This could be why the place and service is in a mess.
The staff are the down fall of this place. The kitchen rings that bell for the food to go out and no one is near or pays attention to the tables.
The staff are too busy doing other things!
Doubt this place that was packed will last another season!

Visited January 2017
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeremy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Really goog”
Reviewed 13 January 2017 via mobile

Service is just ok.... maybe bad... its Cape Town.... food is good. Lots of interesting characters around .. will return

Visited January 2017
Helpful?
Thank Quentin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cologne, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Disappointing visit to a Cape Town Icon”
Reviewed 30 December 2016

I have visited this restaurant over many years and this was my first visit since it changed owners (Now owned and run by Madam Zingara Restaurants). It was also a fun place to visit with a friendly party atmosphere and good food at a reasonable price. This time I was very disappointed. The food just is not worth its price. I ordered a dish of chicken wings (8 wings -buffalo style) and received the smallest wings I have ever seen. Possible from a chicken no older than 4 weeks and they were covered in BBQ sauce (not buffalo) and served with a hot blue cheese dressing with fat floating on the surface. Except for the BBQ sauce the wings were not tasty at all. This dish was followed by a salad with grilled chicken and the salad presentation was as if it had been prepared by a child. All ingredients arranged side by side in rows on a rectangular plate instead of a good tossed salad with the grilled chicken on top of the salad. Only compensation was that the grilled chicken was tasty.The service is good but a bit hectic and not really sure of who was supposed to be our table waiter as 2-3 were serving us.Very confusing and not necessary. Give every waiter a area of tables to serve and then both customer and waiters know what is going on.

  • Visited December 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JohannesDavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cafe Manhattan also viewed

Cape Town, Western Cape
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to Cafe Manhattan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing