We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Corkage back to reasonable 50 rand” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cafe Manhattan

Cafe Manhattan
Ranked #331 of 1 135 Restaurants in Cape Town Central
Cuisines: Bar, Cafe, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Cheap Eats, Bar Scene
Dining options: Drinks, After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Corkage back to reasonable 50 rand”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2016

Wouldn't eat here when the corkage went up to 100 rand but they seem to have listened. The corkage now is a reasonable 50 rand.
The burgers are great here, so I had missed them by my boycott, but now I'm back and enjoying a very delicious meal.
The staff are brilliant and I must compliment Thando on a very attentive service. For vegetarians, my partner enjoys the veg slider. There is also a good selection of vegetarian food. All at very reasonable prices.

  • Visited September 2016
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank harvestmouse2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    83
    86
    26
    13
    34
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good Burgers and Steaks”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2016

Again this was a recommendation by the owners of Baraka Gifts, and we were not disappointed! Their burger and steaks are super! Friendly staff and lovely sitting outside watching all the cool people of Cape Town walk by! Great cocktails!

Visited September 2016
Helpful?
Thank colleenbrdl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fabulous AF!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2016

A girl from work referred Cafe Manhattan to me (they had her sister's bachelorette there) and all my expectations were exceeded from the get go.
We checked the venue out during happy hour and met with the manager, Tas, to discuss the menu (which he was very flexible about and customised for our group).
The staff was also super friendly and they all made an effort to pop by and greet us.

We were about 15 girls and made a group booking for the loft area. The bridesmaids arrived earlier to set up and during that time some of the other customers came up to check it out and say hi. It was such a good vibe from the beginning. Along with our food (which was DELICIOUS, I lost count of how many chicken wings I had!), Tas made sure that we had plenty of welcome drinks and wine. Kyle, our waiter, was also an absolute treat and didn't even charge us corkage. During the evening he was always available and great with everyone.
When we left for the after party at the end of the evening, they let us keep the decor there and took it down for us + kept our stuff for us to pick up the next day.

A group booking's logistics can be stressful and there's almost without exception an issue with the bill at the end, but everything was effortless and we could focus on having a good time. They really know how to make customers happy.

Tas, Kyle and the rest of the staff there - Thanks SO much, I would definitely recommend Cafe Manhattans to anyone out there.

  • Visited September 2016
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank beachbums302
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Cocktails at sunset”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2016

Happy hour happens just before the sun begins to say good bye, Awesome mixes to try, the atmosphere pushes you to think you are somewhere in amsterdam.

Visited August 2016
Helpful?
Thank E9837BUjohnl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
“Buzzing and worthy”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2016

This place is trendy and buzzing. I has all those niche'es that provide both private and cosy yet somewhat exposed. The crowd is great, mix of all ages and the atmosphere is approachable. The drink list is good, its really easy to fall onto the cocktail trap of 'good and reasonably price' just to find yourself 3 drinks later completely distracted!
Food is of good standard, although the salads could be improved.
WiFi available no questions asked.

  • Visited August 2016
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Tomer H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cafe Manhattan also viewed

Cape Town, Western Cape
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to Cafe Manhattan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing