We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Corkage up from 35 rand to 100 rand. Step too far”
Review of Cafe Manhattan

Cafe Manhattan
Ranked #321 of 1 163 Restaurants in Cape Town Central
Cuisines: European, Bar
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Corkage up from 35 rand to 100 rand. Step too far”
Reviewed 7 July 2016

Used to eat here twice a week, although the food is generally burgers, they are tasty. However we have noticed the service is quickly going downhill, most of the usual staff seemed to have left. Very slow service and once we were even forgotten about. Sat there for 40 minutes. It was because non of the waiters had been given our table in their section. However the reason I've given a thumbs down is because last night we arrived and was told the corkage had gone up from 35 to 100 rand, bit extortionate, and although the food isn't too bad, on top of the increasingly bad and slow service, its a thumbs down. However they did us a great service as we went somewhere else and found a great Italian restaurant at Cape Royale, which we will defiantly go back to. So thanks to Manhattan for getting us out of the routine of coming to you twice a week and resulting is us finding a much better place to eat. Maybe Manhattan should just be a bar and not a restaurant.

  • Visited July 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
6 Thank harvestmouse2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    87
    93
    29
    14
    37
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Terrible!”
Reviewed 30 June 2016 via mobile

I am so dissappointed as me and my friend visit this restaurant so often and always rave about how good the atmosphere is and how amazing their chocolate chilli burgers are. After suggesting it to them we decided to make a day of it. We were 7 people in total and from start to finish was one bad thing on top of another. We were told that the reason we wait 15 minutes for a beer is because they only have 1 barman. That should not be my problem. Then our burgers took ages again but we didn't mind since we knew the chocolate chilli burgers are worth the wait... only to discover they don't have it! We were given burgers with only chocolate sauce. Tasted terrible! We waited for the manager to bring us real chocolate chilli sauce as they are busy making it. He said we will have to wait 5 minutes for it. We were happy to wait. 20 minutes later we just couldn't wait any longer and had to eat our cold burgers with no sauce. The manager came along after the 20 minute wait and said that it takes longer now and he can't give it. I am so extremely sad about this cause now I have to search the Cape for a new restaurant that serves chocolate chilli sauce.

Visited June 2016
Helpful?
5 Thank Francois M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level 6 Contributor
185 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Vibey”
Reviewed 8 June 2016

Cafe Manhattan is a fun place right in the middle of the Waterkant Village. The food is great, the staff friendly (and dressed in crazy costumes!). I'd recommend getting a burger.

  • Visited May 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank vm1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great food, great prices, fun”
Reviewed 24 May 2016

I believe it opens around 10 am so it's not a breakfast place. The action begins later at night. The food is very good, prices are very reasonable, the service is fast and very friendly. You can sit inside and outside. Very popular with gay crowd and younger folks in general.

Visited April 2016
Helpful?
Thank Vlad G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“My local hangout”
Reviewed 24 May 2016 via mobile

Sitting on the fence here.

I come here often, enjoy relaxing with friends, but have not eaten here in two months: why? Have spoken to management and they have not addressed the concerns. Hence you only see me for drinks.

I don't dislike the venue, it can be better though. The drop has been noticeable since the end of December 2015.

So many good been made here, don't allow me to make memories elsewhere...

Visited May 2016
Helpful?
2 Thank Stiaan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cafe Manhattan also viewed

Cape Town, Western Cape
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to Cafe Manhattan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing