We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Motorcycle trip homebase”
Review of Oxford House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Oxford House
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Excellent accomodations for the start and end of our South Africa motorcycle adventure! Lots of restaurants within walking distance, also close to the Waterfront and motorcycle rentals. Good security and the rooms were bright, modern, comfortable and clean.

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 416chipw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JeanineErasmus, General Manager at Oxford House, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear 416chipw,

Thank you for writing about your experience here at Oxford House, it was a pleasure accommodating you and having to welcome you back in a short time. We are happy to hear that you found our rooms bright and clean and the location filled with restaurants close by. May your next visit bring you back to our property as we would be honored to welcome you another time!

Kind regards,
Jeanine Erasmus
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (605)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2 - 6 of 605 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

My wife and I had just spent 2 weeks in South Africa and were scheduled to fly back to Luanda on Saturday the 27th, but TAAG, Angolan Airlines, cancelled our flight. So we had to make last minute hotel reservations for 2 more nights. We had found that we loved the Waterfront area and wanted to stay there. So, I searched online and found that the Oxford House was very close to Waterfront and the price was better than all other options. The hotel accommodations and staff was terrific!

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank mjs37725
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JeanineErasmus, General Manager at Oxford House, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear mjs37725,

Thank you for your excellent review, your feedback is so detailed and we are over the moon with your comments. We were very sad to hear that your flight was canceled but pleased that we were able to accommodate you during this time. We aim to offer comfort and convenient accommodation for all our guests in the perfect location that we are. Accommodating you was our pleasure and we would be honored if we had the opportunity again.

Best regards,
Jeanine Erasmus
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Good location, great staff and the self catering rooms are most comfortable. We could easily walk to the Waterfront and the Greenpoint common. Woolworths food store is just around the corner as well as good restaurants.

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Debbie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JeanineErasmus, General Manager at Oxford House, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Debbie B,

Thank you for your wonderful review and feedback. Thank you for taking the time to share your detailed experience, it is great to see that you enjoyed our accommodation and found it comfortable and easy to walk in the area. We do hope that we will see you back soon.

Kind regards,
Jeanine Erasmus
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

My wife and I recently enjoyed a great stay at Oxford House while in Cape Town. It proved to be the best choice for us, location wise as we wanted to explore the city and waterfront area on foot. The place was super clean and spacious. Jeanine and her staff were very friendly and accommodating, looking after our every need. There are several very good restaurants next door and only a 12-15 minute walk to the V&A Waterfront. We really enjoyed our stay and highly recommend the Oxford House. We hope to return!

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Norman B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JeanineErasmus, General Manager at Oxford House, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Norman B,

Thank you for this outstanding review and feedback, we are over the moon with your beautiful response. Thank you for your kind words and acknowledging the staff and our clean and spacious rooms. We are pleased to hear the location was suitable for your and that you found many good restaurants close by. It was an absolute pleasure accommodating you and your wife, we cannot wait to welcome you back. Please stay in touch.

Warm regards,
Jeanine Erasmus
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2018

all the staff at this hotel are really professional with very good advice and very good solutions to visit the city as well as the country for those who would like to go to the park kruger or Gansbaai .... if only I knew before .. really nothing to complain about.We can come to this establishment with eyes closed without asking any questions.Everything is very clean, secure and extremely nice staff, smiling and nice.really nothing to complain about and I advice it all world.

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Jean-christian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JeanineErasmus, General Manager at Oxford House, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Jean-Christian G,

On your departure, I was able to thank you in person for this wonderful review, but I wanted to say thank you again. Your review is above and beyond which makes it even more special. Your kind words and comments are more than rewarding. We appreciate your review so much and cannot thank you enough for writing these kind words. May we have the honors of welcoming you back soon!

Warm regards,
Jeanine Erasmus
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
One&Only Cape Town
#13 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1 737 reviews
City Bowl
Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel
Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel
#37 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1 086 reviews
Long Street Boutique Hotel
#31 of 112 in Cape Town Central
240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Never at Home Cape Town
#4 of 131 in Cape Town Central
415 reviews
The Backpackers in Green Point
#1 of 131 in Cape Town Central
528 reviews
Atlantic Point Backpackers
#3 of 131 in Cape Town Central
758 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oxford House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oxford House

Address: 4 Wessels Road | Green Point, Cape Town Central 8005, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 131 Speciality Lodging in Cape Town Central
Price Range: R 1 040 - R 1 730 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Oxford House 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the centrally located and trendy area of Greenpoint, Oxford House offers well appointed modern Luxury Studio Apartments with kitchenette’s. The property is situated adjacent to the V&A Waterfront with its offering of many restaurants and shops. Oxford House is situated within a 12-minute walk from the Greenpoint Stadium where internationally acclaimed bands & stars regularly perform and a 5-minute walk from Cape Town Waterfront Harbour – From here, guests can make trips to Robben Island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Oxford House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing