We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
  
Ways to Experience Thompson's Touring & Safaris - Day Tours
from US$117,46
More Info
from US$47,12
More Info
from US$20,22
More Info
from US$91,09
More Info
Reviews (198)
Filter reviews
198 results
Traveller rating
114
46
15
9
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
114
46
15
9
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviews south africa wine country company guide johannesburg
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
127 - 132 of 198 reviews
Reviewed 5 September 2016 via mobile

We participated in an all day safari at Kruger National Park. Start was before sunrise (6:00 am) and ended after 4:00 pm. Our guide, Elvis, was very knowledgeable on the area and animals. Working with his team of three vehicles he position us into the perfect viewing location. While watching a few sedentary lions for a bit he noticed an elephant cross behind us and knew the lions would soon be on the move. We relocated to the only place with that view. This happened several times that day where his experience heightened our views. We saw just about every major animal and at least 15 antelope types, baboons, monkeys and colorful birds.
Rest breaks and lunch made the day very enjoyable to all of our group.
We would highly recommend this group for your Safari.

Date of experience: August 2016
Thank RobertW773
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 27 June 2016

Brian was our tour guide for the day and was great. We went around the area of Cape Town to the south and eastern side. We got to learn from his experiences about the city and where they have been as a country. We got to see many different animals such as the baboons, ostriches, penguins (at the penguin colony), and many others. The views from the top of the point where the light house is at the cape are great. All you see is ocean and the next stop is Antarctica! We would then see the penguins in their colony and then have a nice lunch at a local restaurant. All in all it was a great experience for the day.

Date of experience: June 2016
Thank YouCanFindJayInLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 8 June 2016

You'll get a great day tour of the Cape Town area and Peninsula. It's a good way to see a lot in a short amount of time. We had a great guide that had some great stories and jokes! The only downside is that you are moving quick, so you don't get a lot of time at any one place - but you can always re-visit the places you liked!

Date of experience: May 2016
1  Thank Kim N
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 June 2016

Thompson's of Africa provide two tours, one each day in Cape Town. The first one was Table Mountain, Signal hill, the fort, Capital gardens, Bo-kaap. It was very informative and our guides were excellent. They knew their history, great drivers. Brian was our guide for the Cape Town tour and Michael was our guide for the cape of Good Hope. Wonderful two days!!!

Date of experience: April 2016
Thank nancyh827
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 16 March 2016

My daughter and I booked a trip to Cape Town through Lion World Travel and Thompsons tour company is affiliated with them. We couldn't have been more pleased with our tour guide, Danie Theron, who introduced us to the beautiful Franschhoek Valley in South Africa's Cape Winelands. He was so kind, informative, and funny! Then, much to our delight, he was our tour guide again for our half day Cape Point tour! It was not scheduled as a private tour but no one else had booked the morning tour so it was just the two of us and Danie! He told us that usually this tour can feel rushed because there is a lot to see in a short amount of time. So he asked us which places we were especially interested in seeing and he personalized the tour around our wishes! It was a perfect morning as we learned a lot from him and we had extra time at the Penguin Colony, one of our most favorite stops on the tour! We ended up getting back an hour later than scheduled (which was fine with us!), because of his desire to make sure that we saw everything we wanted and were completely satisfied with our tour! If you have the good fortune to take a Thompsons tour while in Cape Town, I would highly recommend asking for Danie as your guide!

Date of experience: March 2016
Thank taximom610
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews