We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful food in a calm and sophisticated environment ”

Dash Restaurant & Bar
Ranked #22 of 1 227 Restaurants in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Bar Scene
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Description: Dash Restaurant & Bar, although it caters for Queen Victoria Hotel guests, is a stand-alone establishment that welcomes patrons from near and far. Extraordinary artworks embellish the walls in a bold fashion. Further, a live pianist sets the tone during dinner service from Tuesday to Saturday, a delightful accompaniment to the exquisite fine dining offered at this restaurant. The menu is concise and changes every few weeks. The chef and his team place much focus on each ingredient’s unique flavour and combine them creatively to delight the palate. The bar offers an extensive selection of single-malt whiskies and wines, and is a tasteful meeting spot.
Reviewed 8 March 2017 via mobile

We very much enjoyed our 2 course meal in Dash set with the the Queen Victoria Hotel. The amuse-bouche proved a tasty signal for the well presented prawn tempura and Gorgonzola soufflé starters, respectively. The salmon and springbok mains were also delicious and the wine by the glass of good quality. Finally, the service was warm, efficient yet unobtrusive. Highly recommended.

1  Thank PTripLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheunieMarais, General Manager at Dash Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2017

Dear PTripLondon

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review on your recent dining experience at Dash. The team and I are thrilled to learn that you had a memorable experience and that you enjoyed the cuisine and service of the dedicated team. We sincerely hope that we will welcome you back in the near future.

Kind Regards

Theunie Marais

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (598)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

71 - 75 of 598 reviews

Reviewed 6 March 2017

Nice piano playing until 9pm. The setting is elegant. Food is delicious, some great combinations. Lovely chocolate fondue.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank aroundtheworld0624
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheunieMarais, General Manager at Dash Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2017

Dear aroundtheworld0624

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review on your recent dining experience at Dash. The team and I are thrilled to learn that you had a memorable experience with us and hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind Regards

Theunie Marais

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2017 via mobile

What a treat!
Not only you feel welcome and well served, all dishes are presented in a sophisticated though fine way.
Dishes are of greatest freshness, wines are sublime!
Service is just great - if you like wines, just ask, all explanations are given with passion.

Not easy to find, it is located inside the posh Victoria hotel.

Definitely a great diner.
Count 1700 ZAR for 3 course and wine for 2 people. You will not be disappointed.

Thank NikoleNiak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheunieMarais, General Manager at Dash Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2017

Dear NikoleNiak

Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a detailed review on your recent visit to the Dash restaurant. The team and I are trilled to learn that you had a memorable dining experience with us and that you enjoyed the cuisine and service of the team. We sincerely hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind Regards

Theunie Marais

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2017

I had read about dash so decided to try it. Disappointing !
On arrival we were not immediately greeted and I Had to tell one of the staff we were waiting to be seated
Service was good but would have expected outstanding service for the extremely high prices they charge
Food was tasty but not exceptional
Wouldn't recommend it to friends

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Kim T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheunieMarais, General Manager at Dash Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2017

Dear Kim T

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review on your recent visit to the Dssh restaurant. The team and I are sad to learn that you didnt have a good experiece with us. As a team we strive to deliver the great food accompanied by fantastic service and we are dissapointed that we failed to deliver on tthis Dash experience. We sincerely hope that we will have the oppertunity to welcome you back in the future and to restore your faith in the Dash restauarant.

Kind Regards

Theunie Marais

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2017

We ate very well here - the starters were delicious - we had the beetroot and asparagus - the mains were amazing - beef fillet and the venison - and the shared hot chocolate fondant with orange ice cream to die for. However, we must talk about the wine. We do not know South African wines, and asked for advice. Our waitress asked the manager to come over to offer advice. A lovely young lady called Irene, a trainee manager, listened to our likes and dislikes in wine terms, and came to us with a tray of wines to taste, the house Pinotage, a Merlot from the Anura Winery, and a wooded and unwooded white in case we wanted a change from red for the starter. It was like a wine tasting session, much to the envy of other diners! These samples were from bottles already open, but hearing our feedback, Irene insisted on opening another bottle, a blended wine, which outshone the rest - so that was the bottle we had, decanted for us as well! We were so impressed with this extra level of service, it made our evening!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Peter L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheunieMarais, General Manager at Dash Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2017

Dear Peter L

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review on your recent visit to the Dash restaurant. The team and I are thrilled to learn that you had such a memroable experience with us and that the dedicated Dash team under the leadership of Irene took such good care of you. We sincerely hope that we will be welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards

Theunie Marais

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Dash Restaurant & Bar also viewed

Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to Dash Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing