We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent introduction to the history of Cape Town”

Footsteps to Freedom Tours
Ranked #69 of 325 Tours in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Footsteps to Freedom walking tour of the historic heart of Cape Town tells the story of Cape Town and its people. We use streets, buildings, monuments, memorials and the passing street-scene as props develop a story of Cape Town and South Africa's dramatic past. Stories of Dutch and British colonial rule, slavery and apartheid, and finally our peaceful transition to a real democracy.We gather before 10h30 (Mon-Sat) in the lobby of the Taj Cape Town Hotel, located in centre of Cape Town's cultural and historic precinct. At 10h30 the 2½ hr walking tour starts from the steps of the Bishop Robert Gray Memorial, adjacent Taj Cape Town hotel.
2 reviews
“Excellent introduction to the history of Cape Town”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2017 via mobile

We (2 couples) were fortunate enough to book a tour with Ivor, a wealth of knowledge presented in a captivating manner for close to 3 hours that flew by. Despite the heat, we seemed to walk and stand in the comfortable shade throughout the tour. Ivor's rendition of Mandela's speech upon greeting the masses after his release from prison brought tears to my husband's eyes. Highly recommended comprehensive intro to the city's history, thematically developed and wonderfully presented.

Visited March 2017
Helpful?
Thank Jeri H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    75
    5
    0
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Wonderful historic tour of Cape Town with gifted storyteller and entertainer Ivor ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2017 via mobile

We can't believe our luck to have been booked onto this walking tour and paired with Ivor on our first trip to Cape Town. While Ivor's historical knowledge is vast and interesting, it's his wit and charm which makes this a standout tour. His stories are personal, moving, funny. We learnt many reasons to admire and fall in love with Cape Town, Ivor himself being one of them. Cannot recommend enough.

Visited February 2017
Helpful?
Thank Hayley R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mellor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
246 reviews
68 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
“Great experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2017

Although we've been frequent visitors to SA in recent years and have visited Cape Town before, Garth gave a coherence and clarity to it all in our morning walk into Cape Town. Not too strenuous on either the feet or the brain, both of which are ageing, Garth was entertaining and informative. We explored a number of areas new to us and looked afresh at buildings we'd seen before. A thoroughly enjoyable experience.

Visited February 2017
Helpful?
Thank elpee182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Afternoon ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2017 via mobile

What a fabulous way to spend a few afternoon hours in Cape Town. Ivor led us on a wonderful tour of the downtown and through the history of apartheid. Would definitely recommend to others planning a trip to Cape Town.

Visited January 2017
Helpful?
Thank Jerry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“An inspiring walk ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2017 via mobile

This walking tour was a fantastic introduction to the history of Cape Town from the early Dutch settlers through the recent struggles against Apartheid and release of Nelson Mandela to the present
Ivor was very knowledgeable about everything from architecture to plant life and answered all our questions, and had suggestions for further visits

Visited January 2017
Helpful?
Thank Nicola M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Footsteps to Freedom Tours also viewed

Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to Footsteps to Freedom Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing