We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great introduction to Cape Town and its history”

Footsteps to Freedom Tours
Ranked #71 of 330 Tours in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Footsteps to Freedom walking tour of the historic heart of Cape Town tells the story of Cape Town and its people. We use streets, buildings, monuments, memorials and the passing street-scene as props develop a story of Cape Town and South Africa's dramatic past. Stories of Dutch and British colonial rule, slavery and apartheid, and finally our peaceful transition to a real democracy.We gather before 10h30 (Mon-Sat) in the lobby of the Taj Cape Town Hotel, located in centre of Cape Town's cultural and historic precinct. At 10h30 the 2½ hr walking tour starts from the steps of the Bishop Robert Gray Memorial, adjacent Taj Cape Town hotel.
Newark, Delaware, United States
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A great introduction to Cape Town and its history”
Reviewed 6 September 2016

Ivor lead us on a fascinating tour through historic Cape Town, sharing his love of the city and his in depth knowledge of its history. The 2.5 hours flew by, and we came away with a real appreciation for the diversity and history of this beautiful city. It was a great way to start our visit, and I would highly recommend this tour.

Visited September 2016
Helpful?
Thank Merilynn K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    76
    5
    0
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
san digi
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Footsteps to freedom private tour company in Cape Town”
Reviewed 4 September 2016 via mobile

We had an incredible private today tour of Cape Town with Garth Angus in the Footstep to freedom, tour company.He gives a very detailed and personal tour of all the major attractions in Cape Town. He is fluent in four languages, although,English is his principal language, and has lived all his life in south Africa. He's very knowledgeable of the history, culture, plant life, and geography of the region. He will customize a tour to meet your needs and time constraints. I highly recommend him for a informative, custom tour of Cape Town. it is very affordable and good value. My wife and I were delighted to find him for a private tour of the entire region. He went out of his way to patiently take us on a half day hike on Table Mountain, a tour of the surroundings in a high-quality SUV,including a visit to the township which I requested including a local lunch with the inhabitants. What a find!

Visited September 2016
Helpful?
Thank Tad246890
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Walking Tour of Cape Town”
Reviewed 22 August 2016

Our Footsteps to Freedom City Walking Tour through the city centre of Cape Town was fascinating and gave us a detailed understanding of the history of the city and its people.
Our guide, Karen, was not only knowledgeable but enthusiastic and flexible despite the constant downpour which made the tour thoroughly enjoyable for us and the kids.

Visited July 2016
Helpful?
Thank dan-jan-brown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
“Nelson Mandela City Tour”
Reviewed 31 July 2016 via mobile

Ivor is an interesting man and my wife and I loved listening to him share his thoughts and experiences on Cape Town and South Africa in relation to Mandela's life. Highly recommend this walking tour.

Visited July 2016
Helpful?
Thank hhg52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
“IVOR: THE MAN, THE MYTH, THE LEGEND”
Reviewed 27 May 2016

My girlfriend, her sister and I had the blessed opportunity of touring Cape Town with Ivor. We were all in awe at Ivor's unparalleled knowledge of the Motherland as well his deep appreciation and personal connection with all things Cape Town. Spanning from settlers first finding South Africa to Mandela's fight against Apartheid to facts about the expansive floral kingdom, Ivor knew it all. He not only had the information down to a T, but Ivor was also a particularly gifted story teller, keeping us engaged for the entirety of the tour. Thanks for everything!!

Visited May 2016
Helpful?
Thank Blakelee E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Footsteps to Freedom Tours also viewed

Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to Footsteps to Freedom Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing