We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great stay and amazing breakfast”
Review of Conifer Cape

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Conifer Cape
Ranked #109 of 156 Cape Town Central B&B and Inns
Reviewed 7 September 2015

Nice, safe and quiet location. Great service and absolutely loved the French toast breakfast. Would definitely go back for my next trip to Cape Town.
Good location for who ever wants to walk up table mountain.

  • Stayed: January 2015, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (63)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 63 reviews

Reviewed 11 May 2015 via mobile

Our bad experience started the moment that we arrived at Conifer Cape. We came there by taxi to find that there was nobody there to let us in despite the manager booking the taxi for us and clearly stating our arrival time on the booking form. A guest finally let us in.
When we managed to get hold of Christo, the manager, via a mobile number the guest gave us, he was annoyed about the fact that a guest had let us in, but was not bothered at all about the fact that we were left out on the doorstep. He did come back to the guesthouse at this point, but told my partner that he was in the middle of his Sunday lunch when we called him. He made it clear that he was keen to get back to it. From reading the other reviews, maybe we caught him at a bad time but we found him to be unapproachable and quite agitated which made us feel very uncomfortable.
The room we were allocated was not the one that we had booked, the safe was not attached to the wall and was impossible to open. I cannot comment on the breakfast as due to Christo's general attitude and treatment of us we decided to leave. This is the first time that we have ever walked out of paid accommodation.
Three hours after leaving, having spent less than twenty minutes in our allocated room at Conifer Cape, I received an email informing me that Christo had charged the full amount for the five nights we were due to stay there to my credit card. This is not the guest house cancellation policy as stated on the booking form. This notes that guests will lose a percentage of the booking fee paid when cancelling a reservation. I did not pay a booking fee and my credit card company are currently investigating this matter.
I would strongly advise anybody thinking about staying at Conifer Cape not to do it. We ended up staying at Mountain Manor guesthouse which is near to Conifer Cape. This was a lovely guesthouse with nice rooms and friendly helpful staff.

Stayed: May 2015, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Sharon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConiferCape, Manager at Conifer Cape, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2015

I do apologise for the appalling service you received Christo has resigned and I have taken over the management of Conifer Regards Dennis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2015

We stayed at Conifer Cape twice during our time in Cape Town. It was an amazing experience, we felt safe and at home with the most accomodating and kind manager/host. The rooms are charming, the neighboorhood is safe and the breakfast is wonderful (with possibility to take it in their patio). I will definitely come back and recommend this warm hotel. Best of all are the wonderful people taking care of the place!!

  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Nathalie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2015

Neat, friendly and very well situated with very interesting breakfast options. If you want to stay in a modern, tech friendly guest house - this is not the place for you. If you appreciate old, museum like, wooden floored buildings with a rich history and chipmunks in the trees- you will be right at home. Reasonably priced and well situated in one of the oldest Cape Town suburbs.

  • Stayed: November 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MV4810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2015

We (a party of three) stayed at this guest house in November 2014. We had two rooms, the family and a single room, the place is well maintained, lovely friendly staff who couldn't do enough for you, especially Linda and Christo. Rooms were spacious and clean, breakfast was cooked to order and excellent, overall a very pleasant stay. The guesthouse is in a residential area and is approx. 15-20 mins walk from the centre of Cape Town, handy for a variety of restaurants, views of Table Mountain from the guest house.

  • Stayed: November 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Abbey1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
Schotsche Kloof
Hilton Cape Town City Centre
Hilton Cape Town City Centre
#42 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1 406 reviews
The Table Bay Hotel
#17 of 112 in Cape Town Central
2 437 reviews
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#31 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1 850 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Protea Hotel Cape Town Waterfron...
#62 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1 087 reviews
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
#24 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1 614 reviews
Taj Cape Town
#15 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1 860 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Conifer Cape? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Conifer Cape

Address: 1 Jagersfontein Lane | Oranjezicht, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central > City Bowl , Oranjezicht
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #109 of 156 B&Bs / Inns in Cape Town Central
Price Range: R 1 049 - R 1 282 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Guesthouse has 4 en-suite bedrooms, with single, double or queen-sized beds. All rooms include TV, safe, wi-fi, hairdryer, heaters, fans, tea and coffee. A prompt and efficient laundry service is available. Check-in from 2pm until 7pm (for earlier or late arrival please arrange with the manager). Check-out at 10.30am (for later check-out, please arrange with the manager). Smokers are allowed to smoke outside in the garden only. BREAKFAST: Served from 7.30 to 10am, either in the garden or indoors. Earlier breakfast with the Conifer Cape could be arranged the previous day. We are known for serving healthy, delicious breakfasts. TOURS AND TRANSPORTATION: Our team offer information on tours of interest, car rentals and airport transfers, city maps and all other information needed. Conifer Cape staff are committed to make your stay with us pleasant and comfortable. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing