We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Queen Victoria Hotel & Manor House
Nearby Hotels
US$136
Protea Hotels
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Victoria & Alfred Hotel(Cape Town Central)
US$204
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$221
US$214
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Protea Hotel Cape Town Victoria Junction(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$165
US$148
Protea Hotels
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hilton Cape Town City Centre(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$145
US$132
Hilton
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Cloud 9 Boutique Hotel & Spa(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$87
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
ONOMO Hotel Cape Town - Inn On The Square(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$63
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Protea Hotel Cape Town Sea Point(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$120
Protea Hotels
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$90
US$76
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Bar/Lounge
One&Only Cape Town(Cape Town Central)
US$779
US$742
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (782)
Filter reviews
782 results
Traveller rating
610
130
27
9
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
610
130
27
9
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdash restaurantdock housepremium roomsister hoteltable mountainboutique hotelhuge bathroomturn down servicebeautiful hotelperfect locationwaterfront areahighly recommend this hotelsmall hotelour honeymooneach eveningfour nightsfew minutes walk
Filter
Updating list...
33 - 38 of 782 reviews
Reviewed 6 February 2018 via mobile

This was our first time in South Africa starting with Cape Town and we had decided to opt for a five star experience all the way, hence booking the Queen Victoria (rated 5*) Whilst we prefer a more 'boutique' sized hotel as opposed to a large impersonal one the QV although good was not great. Let's start with its location which to be fair is very good indeed, albeit you need to be ambulant to manage to steep walk back up to the hotel from the main road that runs past V&A Quay. The communal areas are fairly small but nice and I did enjoy the bar area. The small pool is situated across a courtyard in a separate small hotel. There is also a sister hotel Victoria & Albert) down on the V&A waterfront which is larger and can be used if you stay at the QV. The bedroom was large enough with a huge bathroom and the bath looked very inviting, unfortunately due to the severe drought being experienced during our visit to SA all bath plugs were removed to stop you taking a bath. The only minor issue was the toilet roll holder, which was loosely attached to the wall and in need of re-fixing and redecoration. Bed was large and comfortable but the TV selection slightly disappointing. Our ground floor room did have a nice view of table mountain and had the usual mini bar fridge, tea and coffee making facilities. The room however was quite dimly lit which always frustrates my better half when applying makeup / doing her hair. Breakfast, which we tried both here and the V&A and was completely underwhelming with both the service and food below par and certainly not 5 *'s. Service generally was slow and my wife's egg white omelette was swimming in oil. They did make a second attempt but for some reason they obviously do not make any attempt to beat the egg whites (which is the basis for an omelette) instead they just fried the white so it's like eating a fried egg white. The toast didn't arrive with he breakfast and had barely seen the grill (I am always frustrated by the fact that whilst abroad they appear to have a knack for either toasting one half, half one side or generally hardly any colour at all so you usually end up with stale bread!) The buffet selection was poor inc stale cheap breads, however they appeared to have an impressive selection of cheeses, which I found a little strange, these also smelled very strong as I helped myself to water adjacent to them. The water albeit meant to be both still and sparkling was only available in still. For some reason they hadn't supplied any carbonated water (these were those refillable type bottles with the bubble / still symbol etc). Whilst my breakfast (save for a very underdone poached egg) was acceptable I didn't enjoy (a) because I couldn't eat it at the same time as my wife's (waiting for her omelette to be re-done) (b) because it failed to arrive with any toast until a good few minutes afterwards. We did try the breakfast down at the larger V&A hotel which did offer a much better selection of buffet items plus if your lucky enough to get a table outside a great alfresco breakfast experience overlooking the dock. Unfortunately service at this hotel was again poor if not worse than our hotel, again very slow indeed having to repeatedly go searching for the waitresses for coffee and our order. I was also informed that if I wanted an 'Americano' coffee it would be an extra charge? (Feedback for the hotel:Please get some very small pots adjacent to he jams / honey, nothing but large bowls and small plates?) The maid service offered to the room was a little hit and miss and on one occasion even though we left our 'do not disturb' sign on the maid was serving our room as we returned from breakfast. (Feedback for the hotel: signs are very similar on each side so I'm guessing an easy mistake to make) Often the tea /coffee/ milk/ toilet roll and bathroom shower gel / shampoo wasn't replenished each day. We also had to go through two irons to get one that worked properly. Although any missing items were replaced promptly for me it's not the point when you are paying for five star treatment you expect these little things (which can be frustrating) to be right first time, so although the room was up there rating wise the service did let it down. I'd like to finish on a positive in that apart from breakfast & the maids in the room generally all other staff were very nice, polite and very helpful. Would I recommend this hotel? Yes, mainly because of its location however I do feel that it needs to work on its breakfast and its service to be considered a true 5 star hotel.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank davidmlowe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Juan W, General Manager at Queen Victoria Hotel & Manor House, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2018

Good Afternoon

Thank you for taking the time to right this review. We are very disappointed to receive this feedback from your recent stay as we always do our best to exceed our guests expectations. We will immediately be addressing the concerns you have raised relating to both the breakfast service and the room facilities. We have also passed on the comments to the V&A Hotel as pointed out in the review.

I can assure you our Guests needs and expectations are of utmost importance and we continuously strive to meet and exceed these expectation.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.

Kind Regards

Juan



Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2018

The hotel is perfectly located and within walking distance of the V & A waterfront where there is abundance of things to do as well as plenty of bars and restaurants with great night life and atmosphere. Although it is close to this popular and fairly crowded area, the hotel itself is tucked away and there was no noise whatsoever from the surrounding area. It is beautifully decorated and service impeccable. Rooms are comfortable with good views of table mountain. We dined at the Dash Restaurant within the hotel and the food and drinks were excellent and good value with great service. Breakfast was also brilliant with good choice of cooked and buffet food.
Many thanks for a very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank patmarina2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Juan W, Manager at Queen Victoria Hotel & Manor House, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2018

Good Afternoon

On behalf of the staff and management of the Queen Victoria Hotel we would like to thank you for taking the time to share with us this review. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. The team really do pride our self on delivering excellent customer service and we are delighted we were able to add value to your recent visit to Cape Town.

We hope to welcome you back again soon to enjoy another memorable experience at the Queen Victoria Hotel and Manor House.

Kind regards

Juan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2018

Room was clean, beautiful bedding, amazing view of Table Mountain, pity the penthouse was occupied!!

Breakfast staff was very helpful, cleaning staff were friendly

Location is great, within the waterfront

What I liked best was the comfortable bed, and the fact that they organised a birthday plate to be sent to the room


Will return when we can

Room Tip: best views
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mlsultantt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Juan W, Manager at Queen Victoria Hotel & Manor House, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2018

Good Morning

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay at the Queen Victoria Hotel and Manor House. We are delighted to hear of Your amazing experience.

The team and I truly are passionate about the experience our guests receive and I am happy to hear that that we were able to add value to your time in Cape Town.

I hope you enjoyed your Birthday celebration with us and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon to create another memorable experience with us.

Kind Regards

Juan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2018

The location is excellent with very easy access by road or on foot from the harbour area. The style and decor are beautiful; the rooms are a good size and very comfortable. Breakfast is stunning - who ever heard of oysters for breakfast?! The Banting omelette is something to behold and savour.
Dinner in the restaurant is a fine-dining experience but the restaurant is surprisingly quiet, which is a shame - the hotel needs to broadcast it more!
And then the staff - they are brilliant. Always friendly and smiling - nothing is too much trouble. It may be the African way but it is a lovely way.
Stay here please - you will not be disappointed and do use the restaurant.

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank smw2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Juan W, Manager at Queen Victoria Hotel & Manor House, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2018

Good Day

Thank you very much for taking the time to write this lovely review on your recent stay at the Queen Victoria Hotel and Manor House. We are certainly very proud of the our property and the quality of service we provide.

The team are truly passionate and dedicated to creating memorable guest experiences and we are delighted that you enjoyed the delicious culinary offering and service at DASH Restaurant.

It is wonderful to hear you enjoyed your time with us and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon for another stay.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2018

The hotel is perfectly located, but hidden away from the hustle and bustle of the Waterfront. You are able to step out of the tranquility of the hotel to any part of Cape Town easily. The staff are outstanding, especially Nomore and Nasi at the pool, Rodney in the bar, and Carol at breakfast. Oswell is without question the best and happiest door man ever. The rooms are extremely well laid out and luxurious. We had a great spa experience as well. I would definitely recommend this hotel. After 7 years of coming here, we are already looking forward to next year’s trip.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank gilest2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Juan W, Manager at Queen Victoria Hotel & Manor House, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2018

Good Morning

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review on your most recent stay at the Queen Victoria Hotel and Manor House. We are delighted to hear of Your amazing experience.

Our staff are certainly our number one asset and I will be sure to convey your comments.We look forward to welcoming you back again next year to create another memorable experience with us.

Kind Regards

Juan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews