We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (812)
Filter reviews
812 results
Traveller rating
637
133
27
9
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
637
133
27
9
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews dash restaurant dock house premium room table mountain sister hotel boutique hotel huge bathroom beautiful hotel waterfront area perfect location our honeymoon small hotel few minutes walk four nights water front the ground floor our room was spacious
Filter
Updating list...
62 - 67 of 812 reviews
Reviewed 7 January 2018

We stayed at the Queen Victoria Hotel & Manor house for a week over Christmas 2017. We got upgraded to the Manor House room 1402 which comes with a Butler believe it or not. Every person there was friendly from beginning to end. And much to our surprise, our 2nd best meal of the entire week was at the DASH Rest & Bar...not what we expect from a hotel restaurant. We had Christmas Day dinner there and it was utterly scrumptious. They also have a great breakfast spread or room service. The second best part is the location. We walked to tons of places on the waterfront and a day hike up Signal hill from there one day. Our stay helped greatly in an all around wonderful week in Cape Town as newbies. If we make it back to Cape Town, we would gladly stay here again. Jeff & Todd

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jeff-and-Todd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Juan W, Manager at Queen Victoria Hotel & Manor House, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2018

Good Monring

Thank you very much for taking the time to write this review on your recent stay at the Queen Victoria Hotel and Manor House. The team and I are thrilled to learn of your wonderful stay with us.

I am happy to hear that you experienced the passionate personalised service the team strive to deliver. Dash Restaurant certainly does prepare a wonderful array of culinary delights and we will be sure to pass on your comments to the team.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon to create more memorable experience with us.

Kind Regards

Juan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2018

The property was beautiful and the location near the wharf was wonderful. There were only ~35 rooms so the hotel was never too busy and it was easy to sit for breakfast service. The front desk service was ok, slightly below par for the price of the hotel but still average. Recommend staying here if you want to be near the wharf.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Kelly S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Juan W, Manager at Queen Victoria Hotel & Manor House, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2018

Good Morning

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay at the Queen Victoria Hotel. Our location is certainly very convenient, right in the heart of the Mother City

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon to create another memorable experience with us.

Kind Regards

Juan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2017 via mobile

It’s for me the best boutique hotel in Cape Town . I used to come in Cape Town and it’s my hotel since 4 years .
You feel like in family and the staff is amazing , always kind and ready to help you
For sure I recommend it

Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Karim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Juan W, General Manager at Queen Victoria Hotel & Manor House, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2017

Good Morning

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay at the Queen Victoria Hotel. We always enjoy welcoming back guests to the hotel and are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon to create another memorable experience with us as part of the Queen Victoria family.

Kind Regards

Juan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2017

Had a lovely stay at the QV at the end of a self drive tour of the eastern cape, and the hotel fitted the bill perfectly. From our first contact arriving at the door, to departure for the airport, all staff were superb, welcoming, efficient and friendly without fail and should be highly commended.
The hotel restaurant "Dash" serves first class food in the evenings and the tasting menu is exceptional, and a credit to the new young executive chef. Well done.
Like some others our stay was spoiled by the impact of the wedding of a family member of the owners which effectively put the public areas, garden and pool area, and evening dining room out of bounds for two days of or stay. Had this been declared at booking, we would have booked another hotel, and the comments from the manager on other reviews about being understanding, only serve to underline the lack of consideration to paying guests, with a take it or leave it attitude. Any other decent 5 star hotel would have made arrangements for inconvenienced quests, and at the very least made some offer of recompense, but this was not even considered which was sad because it undermined the great work of all hotel, and sullied good memories of our stay. Maybe not too late to remedy with guests impacted, but given previous attitude, I would not hold out much hope. Very poor, and explains the 4 star grading at the very most.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlberScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Juan W, General Manager at Queen Victoria Hotel & Manor House, responded to this reviewResponded 22 December 2017

Good Morning

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay at the Queen Victoria Hotel and Manor House. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay at the Queen Victoria. We are very excited about our new Chef, Albert, and his food is getting great reviews

The team and I truly are passionate about the experience our guests receive and I am happy to hear that that we were able to add value to your time in Cape Town.

We sincerely apologies for the inconvenience caused by the wedding ceremony. This was unfortunately a very last minute decision to assist due to extreme winds experienced on the day in the city and as a result the original outdoor venue was not able to accommodate the ceremony.

We do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2017

This is my second stay at The Queen Victoria in 12 months and both occasions have been extremely pleasant. The staff could not be more friendly or helpful. The rooms are nicely decorated spacious and provide everything you could need. The restaurant offers excellent food and service., and the breakfast is particularly good. I throughly recommend this hotel is you are looking for a small boutique hotel.

Room Tip: All rooms seem to be quiet and well appointed.
  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank LondonCGoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Juan W, Manager at Queen Victoria Hotel & Manor House, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2017

Good Morning

Thank you very much for taking the time to share with us this fantastic review of your recent stay at the Manor House at the Queen Victoria Hotel

We continuously strive to provide a high standard of service and we will certainly ensure we pass on the positive comments to the team.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future to create another memorable experience.

Kind Regards

Juan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews