We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“3 wonderful days in cape town”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Queen Victoria Hotel & Manor House
Ranked #14 of 109 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Level 4 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“3 wonderful days in cape town”
Reviewed 8 January 2017

Very nice hotel located just steps from the Waterfront. The Waterfront is within walking distance in 2 minutes (no danger).

Room: Room and bathroom very large and spacious. The room has a small balcony. The room is very quiet although the view is somewhat obstructed. very comfortable bed and the pressure and the water temperature is ok.

Services: Very friendly and courteous staff. Good cleaning. Breakfast is not extensive but is still good enough. Small negative note:
For three days the cornfleaks present at breakfast were completely crushed (almost dust!).

Overall Rating: Very Good

  • Stayed November 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stefano M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheunieMarais, General Manager at Queen Victoria Hotel & Manor House, responded to this review, 15 January 2017
Dear Stefano M

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay at the Queen Victoria Hotel. The team and I are thrilled to learn of your memorable stay with us and that you enjoyed the hospitality the team has to offer. Thank you also for the comment on the breakfast this has been duely noted and I will address this accordingly.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon to create another memorable experience with us, so on your next visit please do let reservations@newmarkhotels.com know so that we can make your next Queen Victoria stay unforgettable.

Kind regards,

Theunie Marais

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

694 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    545
    115
    22
    6
    6
See reviews for
65
440
16
66
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2017

The problem with Trip Advisor is you only have an 'average' or 'very good' rating. I cant say our stay was either. On the plus side, the staff overall were very good, other than a short dark stocky female on the front desk that liked to totally ignore customers when we asked her a question. The rest of the staff I must say were very good, the doormen excellent and the rest of the front desk were extremely helpful in helping us with reservations......we were 13 of us so you can imagine its not easy to organize dinners etc. Full kudos here!
The rooms were clean but small. The spa had a special during our stay and I booked every one of our group for a massage, which for 90 minutes at Rand 780 (20 mins mud bath and 70 mins massage) was a steal.
The included breakfast is very good but dont eat there for dinner, it takes forever as our group waited 2 hours one night for the food to arrive.
The one kink in our trip was some money disappeared from my daughters room, they only took the British Sterling not the Rand, which was interesting. Its my daughters fault for not using the safe but still. One thing about university students is they know exactly to the penny how much money they have so there is no doubt it got taken between a few, certain hours. We talked to their security people twice and I am sure it will be fixed but keep this in mind when you check in.
In ending on a positive note, the location on the wharf is excellent and within walking distance to everything. Its not right in the heart of the wharf which is good as you are shielded from the noise. Would I go back to the same hotel? Probably.

  • Stayed December 2016, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JPH888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheunieMarais, General Manager at Queen Victoria Hotel & Manor House, responded to this review, 15 January 2017
Dear JPH888

Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a detailed review on your recent stay at the Queen Victoria Hotel. The team and I are thrilled to learn of the positive xperiences at the hotel. I would also like to thank you for pointing out some of the concerns, these concerns have been duely noted and will be addressed accordingly.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon to create another memorable experience with us, so on your next visit please do let reservations@newmarkhotels.com know so that we can make your next Queen Victoria stay unforgettable.

Kind regards,

Theunie Marais

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fishers, Indiana
Level 6 Contributor
574 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2017 via mobile

We decided on staying at the Quenn Victoria at the suggestion of our travel agent primarily due to location and reputation. It is small, quiet and well appointed with a terrific upscale restaurant and bar area. We used it as our base camp as we explored the attractions of Cape Town and the surrounding area. We really enjoyed our stay.

Stayed July 2016, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank DMJA21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheunieMarais, General Manager at Queen Victoria Hotel & Manor House, responded to this review, 15 January 2017
Dear DMJA21

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review on your recent visit to the Queen Victoria Hotel. The team and I are thrilled to learn of your memorable stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon to create another memorable experience with us, so on your next visit please do let reservations@newmarkhotels.com know so that we can make your next Queen Victoria stay unforgettable.

Kind regards,

Theunie Marais

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2017

The Queen Victoria hotel is not located directly on the waterfront itself, unlike its sister property Victoria and Alfred Hotel directly above water, however it is not an issue, on the contrary. It is only a 3 minutes walk to the waterfront, and is much more quiet, away from the crowd, the QV hotel is situated in a secluded lane. Security is not an issue. Rooms are very spacious. Ours had a small view of table mountain (whereas it was not supposed to be) and our children's room had a view over the waterfront. Reception was very helpful for tips and helping to book restaurants over the Xmas period. The restaurant Dash is not too big not too small, which is good, and served a quality breakfast. We had dinner there too which was very good and service was excellent, and staff friendly just like it should. Overall a feel of a boutique hotel on the edge of the waterfront. A good address.

Room Tip: 2nd floor rooms will have a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laurent D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheunieMarais, General Manager at Queen Victoria Hotel & Manor House, responded to this review, 15 January 2017
Dear Laurent D

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review on your recent visit to the Queen Victoria hotel. The team and I are thrilled to learn that you had a memorable stay with us and that you enjoyed the services and hospitality the hotel has to offer.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon to create another memorable experience with us, so on your next visit please do let reservations@newmarkhotels.com know so that we can make your next Queen Victoria stay unforgettable.

Kind regards,

Theunie Marais

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ely, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2016 via mobile

Just been for dinner at Dash restaurant. Very upset to say , I need not go back to Las Vegas to the craft steak house for the best steak I've ever enjoyed . Git to come back to Cape Town . The dash is lovely . The food amazing

Stayed December 2016, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank neilbennett2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheunieMarais, General Manager at Queen Victoria Hotel & Manor House, responded to this review, 2 January 2017
Dear neilbennett2014

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review on your visit to the Queen Victoria Hotel and also for dining at our Dash restaurant. The team and I are thrilled to learn of your memorable experience with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon to create another memorable experience with us, so on your next visit please do let reservations@newmarkhotels.com know so that we can make your next Queen Victoria stay unforgettable.

Kind regards,

Theunie Marais

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
0.1 km away
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
#25 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1 518 reviews
0.3 km away
Cape Grace
Cape Grace
#6 of 109 in Cape Town Central
2 034 reviews
0.4 km away
One&Only Cape Town
One&Only Cape Town
#13 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1 605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
The Table Bay Hotel
The Table Bay Hotel
#17 of 109 in Cape Town Central
2 216 reviews
1.0 km away
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#30 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1 719 reviews
0.7 km away
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#32 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1 499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Queen Victoria Hotel & Manor House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Queen Victoria Hotel & Manor House

Property: Queen Victoria Hotel & Manor House
Address: Portswood Close, Portswood Ridge | V&A Waterfront, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 109 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Price range (per night): R3 682 - R8 801
Hotel Class:5 star — Queen Victoria Hotel & Manor House 5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Queen Victoria Hotel & Manor House is a luxuriously appointed, deluxe boutique hotel in the Portswood Ridge Precinct in the Victoria & Alfred Waterfront, Cape Town. The hotel not only encapsulates the luxurious style and attention to detail that defines small, luxury retreats around the world but also enjoys a unique location. The hotel has 35 luxurious rooms and suites, including a presidential suite with a generous terrace for al fresco entertaining. From the food and beverage offering at Dash, the hotel’s restaurant and cocktail bar, to the interior aesthetics, the Queen Victoria Hotel embodies exquisite international flair that is fused with local flavour. The Manor House is adjacent to the Queen Victoria Hotel - and is a butler-serviced 4 suite boutique hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Queen Victoria Hotel & Manor House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing