We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Great boutique hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Queen Victoria Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Queen Victoria Hotel
Ranked #13 of 106 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Fishers, Indiana
Level Contributor
254 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Great boutique hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2017 via mobile

We decided on staying at the Quenn Victoria at the suggestion of our travel agent primarily due to location and reputation. It is small, quiet and well appointed with a terrific upscale restaurant and bar area. We used it as our base camp as we explored the attractions of Cape Town and the surrounding area. We really enjoyed our stay.

Stayed July 2016, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank DMJA21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheunieMarais, General Manager at Queen Victoria Hotel, responded to this review, 15 January 2017
Dear DMJA21

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review on your recent visit to the Queen Victoria Hotel. The team and I are thrilled to learn of your memorable stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon to create another memorable experience with us, so on your next visit please do let reservations@newmarkhotels.com know so that we can make your next Queen Victoria stay unforgettable.

Kind regards,

Theunie Marais

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

650 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    514
    107
    18
    5
    6
See reviews for
63
406
16
63
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2017

The Queen Victoria hotel is not located directly on the waterfront itself, unlike its sister property Victoria and Alfred Hotel directly above water, however it is not an issue, on the contrary. It is only a 3 minutes walk to the waterfront, and is much more quiet, away from the crowd, the QV hotel is situated in a secluded lane. Security is not an issue. Rooms are very spacious. Ours had a small view of table mountain (whereas it was not supposed to be) and our children's room had a view over the waterfront. Reception was very helpful for tips and helping to book restaurants over the Xmas period. The restaurant Dash is not too big not too small, which is good, and served a quality breakfast. We had dinner there too which was very good and service was excellent, and staff friendly just like it should. Overall a feel of a boutique hotel on the edge of the waterfront. A good address.

Room Tip: 2nd floor rooms will have a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2016, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laurent D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheunieMarais, General Manager at Queen Victoria Hotel, responded to this review, 15 January 2017
Dear Laurent D

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review on your recent visit to the Queen Victoria hotel. The team and I are thrilled to learn that you had a memorable stay with us and that you enjoyed the services and hospitality the hotel has to offer.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon to create another memorable experience with us, so on your next visit please do let reservations@newmarkhotels.com know so that we can make your next Queen Victoria stay unforgettable.

Kind regards,

Theunie Marais

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ely, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2016 via mobile

Just been for dinner at Dash restaurant. Very upset to say , I need not go back to Las Vegas to the craft steak house for the best steak I've ever enjoyed . Git to come back to Cape Town . The dash is lovely . The food amazing

Stayed December 2016, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank neilbennett2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheunieMarais, General Manager at Queen Victoria Hotel, responded to this review, 2 January 2017
Dear neilbennett2014

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review on your visit to the Queen Victoria Hotel and also for dining at our Dash restaurant. The team and I are thrilled to learn of your memorable experience with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon to create another memorable experience with us, so on your next visit please do let reservations@newmarkhotels.com know so that we can make your next Queen Victoria stay unforgettable.

Kind regards,

Theunie Marais

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
27 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2016 via mobile

This hotel is beautiful. Our room was spacious, huge bathroom and tastefully decorated. The breakfasts were delicious.
The staff were extremely helpful. The location is perfect, especially for those visiting Cape Town for the first time. Would highly recommend.

Stayed December 2016, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Holipopgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheunieMarais, General Manager at Queen Victoria Hotel, responded to this review, 2 January 2017
Dear Holipopgirl

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review on your recent visit to the Queen Victoria hotel. The team and I are thrilled to learn of your memorable stay with us and that enjoyed the service and hospitality the team has to offer.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon to create another memorable experience with us, so on your next visit please do let reservations@newmarkhotels.com know so that we can make your next Queen Victoria stay unforgettable.

Kind regards,

Theunie Marais

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2016 via mobile

We did not stay at the hotel but availed the spa facility as we were guests of V&A. It's simply brilliant. Great treatment fantastic therapists and reasonably priced. You must do this if in Cape Town. They will make u feel very special

Stayed December 2016
Helpful?
1 Thank Priyam2787
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheunieMarais, General Manager at Queen Victoria Hotel, responded to this review, 18 December 2016
Dear Priyam2787

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review on your recent visit to our Sanctuary Spa. The team and I are thrilled to learn of your memorable experience with us and we sincerely hope that we will be welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards

Theunie Marais
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
0.3 km away
Cape Grace
Cape Grace
#7 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1 892 reviews
0.6 km away
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
#28 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1 395 reviews
0.5 km away
One&Only Cape Town
One&Only Cape Town
#14 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1 439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
The Table Bay Hotel
The Table Bay Hotel
#17 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1 981 reviews
1.5 km away
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#31 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1 610 reviews
0.9 km away
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#30 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1 451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Queen Victoria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Queen Victoria Hotel

Property: Queen Victoria Hotel
Address: Portswood Close, Portswood Ridge | V&A Waterfront, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 106 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Price range (per night): R4 051 - R7 595
Hotel Class:5 star — Queen Victoria Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Queen Victoria Hotel is the newest addition to Newmark Hotel’s portfolio, which offers a myriad of ideally located upmarket hotels, other accommodation options and restaurants. What sets this unique five-star boutique hotel apart is the attention to detail given by the creative team responsible for its development, who achieved this through their unwavering passion for awe-inspiring design.From the creative brief of ‘where classic elegance meets contemporary design’, every effort has been made to ensure that the 35-room Queen Victoria Hotel is a haven of calm, luxury and understated opulence amongst the hustle and bustle of Cape Town’s popular V&A Waterfront.The interiors create an ambience of peaceful elegance, through the use of greys and taupes, marble-clad walls, crystal chandeliers, white marble and wooden parquet flooring, not to mention the triple-volume foyer with its dramatic white spiral staircase, glass lift and crystal chandeliers. The signature shade of deep purple has been employed to add a touch of regal eccentricity as an ode to the historic figure after whom the hotel is named.From the food and beverage offering at the hotel’s restaurant and bar, Dash, to the interior aesthetic, the Queen Victoria Hotel embodies a sense of international flair fused with local flavour. The menu at Dash is structured around classic French cuisine, with all ingredients sourced locally and seasonally, while ninety per cent of the interior pieces were sourced from local design geniuses.With a management team and staff dedicated to making every guest feel like royalty, a stay at the Queen Victoria Hotel will certainly exceed your expectation of what five-star luxury should be like. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Queen Victoria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing