We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (817)
Filter reviews
817 results
Traveller rating
640
135
27
9
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
640
135
27
9
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews dash restaurant dock house premium room table mountain sister hotel boutique hotel huge bathroom perfect location beautiful hotel waterfront area small hotel our honeymoon few minutes walk water front four nights rooms are spacious the ground floor
Filter
Updating list...
318 - 323 of 817 reviews
Reviewed 4 June 2015

We got moved to this hotel because of a room issue in another hotel. This hotel is probably the best one of it's sort in the waterfront.

The rooms are suite-like. Bathrooms are about the size of other hotel's hotel rooms. The rooms have the most tasteful decor and colours.

The service is impecable. In ways that you don't even know they have staff - but everything just happens and get done. Check-in is hardly a checking in but more just like being walked to your room. Brilliant.

The hotel is situated across the road from the waterfront. It is basically a 2 minute walk and you're in the center of the V&A Waterfront but the hotel is situated in such a way that no noise can reach it from the waterfront.

Some rooms have balconies - ask for one if you want one.

This is an expensive hotel, but worth every cent!

Room Tip: Some rooms have balconies - ask for one when you book.
  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Quintin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike_Vroom, General Manager at Queen Victoria Hotel & Manor House, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2015

Dear Quintin H,

We cannot even begin to thank you for taking the time to write such a detailed review for future travelers!. We are thrilled to hear that you received the very best service during your stay. Our staff love to go above & beyond to make your stay at the Queen Victoria Hotel an experience you will never forget.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon to create another memorable experience with us, so on your next visit please do reach out to reservations@newmarkhotels.com so that we can make your next Queen Victoria stay unforgettable.

Kind regards,

Mike Vroom

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2015 via mobile

I had a good time in this hotel.... Been their twice. In this time I met Curtis (Duty manager) .... He was very special person ...helpful ,kind , polite... I would like to express my gratitude to him for his hospitality and professional way during my stay.

He helped me a lot through my stay... Always giving me good options of good places to go.

Success needs such people.

Stayed: May 2015, travelled on business
2  Thank Kacst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike_Vroom, General Manager at Queen Victoria Hotel & Manor House, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2015

Dear Kacst,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review after your return stay with us. Curtis is a intrigal part of our team and real asset and I thank you for your kind words regarding him.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon to create another memorable experience with us, so on your next visit please do reach out to reservations@newmarkhotels.com so that we can make your next Queen Victoria stay unforgettable.

Kind regards,

Mike Vroom

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2015 via mobile

Business diner 13 May 2015, 16 guests. First we were unable to sit together and were only informed upon arival. Although food was great , service was slow, in fact our ceo received his food nearly 10 minutes after the other guests. Credit card machine declined Diners card 3 times eventually processed payment. Despite complaining about incorrect temperature of my meat , waiter did not fix , was too hungry to protest any further. Not sure if I will take my family there .

Stayed: May 2015, travelled with friends
1  Thank Craig N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike_Vroom, General Manager at Queen Victoria Hotel & Manor House, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2015

Dear Craig N,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback on your recent dinner at Dash Restaurant. The pounts raised are certainly not in line with our high levels of service that we pride ourselves on. Your feedback has been dicussed with the relavant management to ensure these areas are addressed.

Kind regards,

Mike Vroom

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2015

We found this to be the perfect location for exploring Cape Town and the surrounding area. The staff is excellent as they are totally focused on ensuring that guests have a great experience.

The restaurant food was also excellent, Best mushroom soup EVER. Breakfast selections were great and good wine selections for an evening refreshment. Loved the fruit infused water available 24/7 in the foyer.

  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SkiBumwantabee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike_Vroom, General Manager at Queen Victoria Hotel & Manor House, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2015

Dear SkiBumwantabee,

Thank you for your amazing review, I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your time with us and that you experienced the personalized service and offering that we pride ourselves in offering our guests

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon to create another memorable experience with us, so on your next visit please do reach out to reservations@newmarkhotels.com so that we can make your next Queen Victoria stay unforgettable.

Kind regards,

Mike Vroom

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2015

we were "upgraded " to this hotel after the disaster at V&A. very nice room, dubious furniture, very confortable bed . how can this be a 5 star hotel when
a) no magnifying mirror
b) very dark bathroom
c) huge bathroom one small bathmat
d) tv with few channels and on last night it lost most channels showing a message of payment of dstv overdue ???
e) we left our second key in the room slot to keep the zircon going and every day this key would not be there at all obliging us to ask for a second key ever day
f) the wifi was in my books quite poor, weak and requiring to log in very often , again and again

lots of fuss, debatable delivery and certainly not worth the price , if paid in full

Room Tip: our room was ground floor and on the street , any room with view would be better
  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank nicolass208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews