We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Queen Victoria Hotel & Manor House
Nearby Hotels
US$183
US$139
Protea Hotels
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$266
US$210
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hilton Cape Town City Centre(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$145
US$134
Hilton
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Cape Diamond Hotel(Cape Town Central)
US$148
US$64
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Protea Hotel Cape Town Victoria Junction(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$166
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Cloud 9 Boutique Hotel & Spa(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$151
US$88
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
ONOMO Hotel Cape Town - Inn On The Square(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$73
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Protea Hotel Cape Town Sea Point(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$122
Protea Hotels
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$98
US$84
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Bar/Lounge
One&Only Cape Town(Cape Town Central)
US$790
US$751
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (782)
Filter reviews
782 results
Traveller rating
610
130
27
9
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
610
130
27
9
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdash restaurantdock housepremium roomsister hoteltable mountainboutique hotelhuge bathroomturn down servicebeautiful hotelperfect locationwaterfront areahighly recommend this hotelsmall hotelour honeymooneach eveningfour nightsfew minutes walk
Filter
Updating list...
299 - 304 of 782 reviews
Reviewed 5 April 2015

My wife and I stayed one night in a premium double on our way back to the UK. On arrival we were greeted with a very warm welcome by the hotel staff and given refreshing complimentary drink, a nice touch after a long journey from our base in Knysna. We were taken to our room which was enormous and very well furnished, a true touch of class and up there with some of the most luxurious rooms / suites we've stayed in. The hotel is literally next door to the hub of the V&A water front so we simply walked to one of the many restaurants and enjoyed a fabulous evening meal, booked care of the super efficient hotel's concierge.
We got up the next day and arranged a late checkout with the hotel who were only too pleased to assist, thanks again.

Breakfast was excellent with a great choice of hot and cold food options and more memorable as it was served to us on the peaceful patio in the morning Cape Town sunshine, awesome experience and definitely recommended before embarking on any long haul flight home.

Overall a most enjoyable stay.

Stayed: February 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank McMinus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike_Vroom, General Manager at Queen Victoria Hotel & Manor House, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2015

Dear McMinus,

Our team are always more than delighted to read positive reviews and thank you so much for the wonderful comments. I'm happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and that you experienced our personalized attention to guests that we pride ourselves on.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon to create another memorable experience with us, so on your next visit please do reach out to reservations@newmarkhotels.com so that we can make your next Queen Victoria stay unforgettable.

Kind regards,

Mike Vroom

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2015

The Queen Victoria is very high standard, quiet and perfectly placed to visit the sites of Cape Town. The staff are friendly and efficient. We do enjoy staying here as it is stylish, relaxed with great rooms--so comfortable. It is so different from most city hotels. Plus the gardens are a great way to relax away from the busy Waterfront. Highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank susieQ321_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike_Vroom, General Manager at Queen Victoria Hotel & Manor House, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2015

Dear susieQ321_12,

I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us at the Queen Victoria Hotel. My Team and I take great pleasure in reading such positive reviews and great pride in sharing our truly South African hospitality with you.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon to create another memorable experience with us, so on your next visit please do reach out to reservations@newmarkhotels.com so that we can make your next Queen Victoria stay unforgettable.

Kind regards,

Mike Vroom

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2015

My husband and I were due to stay at the Victoria & Alfred Hotel but we were told on arrival that we were being 'upgraded' to the Queen Victoria. I am always a little sceptical if this happens but we were not disappointed. You have access to all three hotels in the Newark chain, the V&A, the Dockhouse & the Queen Victoria. We didn't have an evening meal in any of them as there are so many restaurants to choose from at the waterfront. (See separate reviews). The rooms were lovely with a large bed, plenty of hanging space, tea/coffee making facilities, bottles of still water, mini bar, safe and a view of Table Mountain. The bathroom had everything! Large bath, two sinks, fantastic shower, plenty of toiletries and the thickest, fluffiest white towels I have ever had at a hotel! The hotel is very particular to make your stay a pleasant one. Helpful and friendly staff, in particular Mo who gave us a very personal service from a guide around the hotel to making bookings for trips, which made our stay so easy and relaxed.

When you read the details on the hotel website it states it has a pool. The Queen Victoria does not have its own pool but guests can use the one at The Dockhouse, (1 minute away) however this is more of a plunge pool than a swimming pool, it has a beautiful garden with sun loungers, bar & waiter service.

Back to the Queen Victoria, it is ideally located by the harbour, near to the ferry for Robben Island, a taxi will take you to Table Mountain & it has good free wifi. Overall we would stay here again.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 1212 which was great. Didn't see any other rooms to comment.
  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Judrop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike_Vroom, General Manager at Queen Victoria Hotel & Manor House, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2015

Dear Judrop,

Thank you for your wonderful review and your kind words with regards to your most recent visit to the Queen Victoria Hotel. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that our team treated you to our truly South African hospitality. I will most certainly pass your kind words on to MO, as she definetly an asset to out team.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon to create another memorable experience with us, so on your next visit please do reach out to reservations@newmarkhotels.com so that we can make your next Queen Victoria stay unforgettable.

Kind regards,

Mike Vroom

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2015

Stayed on our southern Africa tour with my husband. Stayed two nights, wonderful location. Away from the busy waterfront but near shops and restaurants. Staff were helpful, the bartender was so pleasant.
Great rooms, amazing shower. The meals were good, although service wasn't always.
Overall it was a great stay.

  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank merrymar250
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike_Vroom, General Manager at Queen Victoria Hotel & Manor House, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2015

Dear merrymar250,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review after your recent stay with us. I am glad to read that you enjoyed all the Queen Victoria Hotel has to offer.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon to create another memorable experience with us, so on your next visit please do reach out to reservations@newmarkhotels.com so that we can make your next Queen Victoria stay unforgettable.

Kind regards,

Mike Vroom

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2015 via mobile

As a frequent visitor to Cape Town always wanted to try Queen Victoria which is part of the Newark Group. Their restaurant Dash is incredible so based on the quality of food and service I thought this would extend to the hotel..

Wrong.

Miscommunication between staff is one of the biggest issues here & we experienced a few niggles here and there. Major problem was what appeared to be dishonesty over left luggage.

On leaving Cape Town we noticed that a very expensive bag wasn't with us. Once we realised we called the hotel to check lost property and check with maid. They verified they didn't have it. We tried several times to speak to a manager - no avail. On arriving back in London I called again and said I would be taking it further as the bag must have been stolen by a member of staff. Miraculously it was then located an hour later.

Cost best part of £150 to post it back despite the hotel being at fault and has been returned in a terrible condition. Really shocking service from a 5 star hotel.

Please check your luggage and be incredibly careful who moves it. Wouldn't let anything out of your sight!

  • Stayed: February 2015
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Glutenfree_essex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike_Vroom, General Manager at Queen Victoria Hotel & Manor House, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2015

Dear Glutenfree_essex,

We are truly saddened to read this review and that your experience at the Queen Victoria Hotel was not what you expected it to be. This is certainly not the standard we adhere to and we strive for faultless service and to read that you did not receive that experience is sad to read.

I would like to guarantee you that your back never left the hotel and was in our lost and found department until such time that it was shipped to you. You will also note that there was no shipping cost to have your back send through to you.

Again, we apologise for your unpleasant experience and hope to make this up to you on your next visit.

Kind regards,

Mike Vroom

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews