We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great comfort and excellent service worthy more than 5 stars!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Queen Victoria Hotel & Manor House
Ranked #16 of 112 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 April 2015

If you are looking for the perfect hotel in the perfect location in Cape Town, the Queen Victoria Hotel is your place. It is situated on the hill overlooking the Waterfront and with unspoilt views of the iconic Table Mountain. Service through out our stay was fantastic with friendly and efficient staff every where. The rooms are more than comfortable, with all the finishes done in great style, elegant and beautiful. Bed and pillows just perfect, like your own at home! The breakfast was a superb meal - lovely variety from the buffet, including Salmon and sparkling wine! The choice of hot breakfast is just amazing and as tasty as promised on the menu. We were sorry that we could not stay longer to have dinner, as our dinner appointment was in the Waterfront.

A small but luxurious hotel with personal service and very high standards, ideal to use as your base to visit Cape Town for business and pleasure! We will be back!

Room Tip: All the rooms are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled on business
    • Service
1  Thank bennie1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike_Vroom, General Manager at Queen Victoria Hotel & Manor House, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2015

Dear bennie1952,

Thank you for your lovely review of the Queen Victoria Hotel after your recent stay with us. I am glad to read that you enjoyed your stay and all that the hotel has to offer. Our breakfast's are some of the best around and our team strives to ensure that any meal at Dash is a memorable one.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon to create another memorable experience with us, so on your next visit please do reach out to reservations@newmarkhotels.com so that we can make your next Queen Victoria stay unforgettable.

Kind regards,

Mike Vroom

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (754)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

275 - 279 of 754 reviews

Reviewed 5 April 2015

My wife and I stayed one night in a premium double on our way back to the UK. On arrival we were greeted with a very warm welcome by the hotel staff and given refreshing complimentary drink, a nice touch after a long journey from our base in Knysna. We were taken to our room which was enormous and very well furnished, a true touch of class and up there with some of the most luxurious rooms / suites we've stayed in. The hotel is literally next door to the hub of the V&A water front so we simply walked to one of the many restaurants and enjoyed a fabulous evening meal, booked care of the super efficient hotel's concierge.
We got up the next day and arranged a late checkout with the hotel who were only too pleased to assist, thanks again.

Breakfast was excellent with a great choice of hot and cold food options and more memorable as it was served to us on the peaceful patio in the morning Cape Town sunshine, awesome experience and definitely recommended before embarking on any long haul flight home.

Overall a most enjoyable stay.

Stayed: February 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank McMinus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike_Vroom, General Manager at Queen Victoria Hotel & Manor House, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2015

Dear McMinus,

Our team are always more than delighted to read positive reviews and thank you so much for the wonderful comments. I'm happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and that you experienced our personalized attention to guests that we pride ourselves on.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon to create another memorable experience with us, so on your next visit please do reach out to reservations@newmarkhotels.com so that we can make your next Queen Victoria stay unforgettable.

Kind regards,

Mike Vroom

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2015

The Queen Victoria is very high standard, quiet and perfectly placed to visit the sites of Cape Town. The staff are friendly and efficient. We do enjoy staying here as it is stylish, relaxed with great rooms--so comfortable. It is so different from most city hotels. Plus the gardens are a great way to relax away from the busy Waterfront. Highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank susieQ321_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike_Vroom, General Manager at Queen Victoria Hotel & Manor House, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2015

Dear susieQ321_12,

I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us at the Queen Victoria Hotel. My Team and I take great pleasure in reading such positive reviews and great pride in sharing our truly South African hospitality with you.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon to create another memorable experience with us, so on your next visit please do reach out to reservations@newmarkhotels.com so that we can make your next Queen Victoria stay unforgettable.

Kind regards,

Mike Vroom

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2015

My husband and I were due to stay at the Victoria & Alfred Hotel but we were told on arrival that we were being 'upgraded' to the Queen Victoria. I am always a little sceptical if this happens but we were not disappointed. You have access to all three hotels in the Newark chain, the V&A, the Dockhouse & the Queen Victoria. We didn't have an evening meal in any of them as there are so many restaurants to choose from at the waterfront. (See separate reviews). The rooms were lovely with a large bed, plenty of hanging space, tea/coffee making facilities, bottles of still water, mini bar, safe and a view of Table Mountain. The bathroom had everything! Large bath, two sinks, fantastic shower, plenty of toiletries and the thickest, fluffiest white towels I have ever had at a hotel! The hotel is very particular to make your stay a pleasant one. Helpful and friendly staff, in particular Mo who gave us a very personal service from a guide around the hotel to making bookings for trips, which made our stay so easy and relaxed.

When you read the details on the hotel website it states it has a pool. The Queen Victoria does not have its own pool but guests can use the one at The Dockhouse, (1 minute away) however this is more of a plunge pool than a swimming pool, it has a beautiful garden with sun loungers, bar & waiter service.

Back to the Queen Victoria, it is ideally located by the harbour, near to the ferry for Robben Island, a taxi will take you to Table Mountain & it has good free wifi. Overall we would stay here again.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 1212 which was great. Didn't see any other rooms to comment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Judrop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike_Vroom, General Manager at Queen Victoria Hotel & Manor House, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2015

Dear Judrop,

Thank you for your wonderful review and your kind words with regards to your most recent visit to the Queen Victoria Hotel. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that our team treated you to our truly South African hospitality. I will most certainly pass your kind words on to MO, as she definetly an asset to out team.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon to create another memorable experience with us, so on your next visit please do reach out to reservations@newmarkhotels.com so that we can make your next Queen Victoria stay unforgettable.

Kind regards,

Mike Vroom

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2015

Stayed on our southern Africa tour with my husband. Stayed two nights, wonderful location. Away from the busy waterfront but near shops and restaurants. Staff were helpful, the bartender was so pleasant.
Great rooms, amazing shower. The meals were good, although service wasn't always.
Overall it was a great stay.

  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank merrymar250
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike_Vroom, General Manager at Queen Victoria Hotel & Manor House, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2015

Dear merrymar250,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review after your recent stay with us. I am glad to read that you enjoyed all the Queen Victoria Hotel has to offer.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon to create another memorable experience with us, so on your next visit please do reach out to reservations@newmarkhotels.com so that we can make your next Queen Victoria stay unforgettable.

Kind regards,

Mike Vroom

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
0,5 km away
The Table Bay Hotel
The Table Bay Hotel
#17 of 112 in Cape Town Central
2 444 reviews
0,1 km away
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
#25 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1 617 reviews
0,3 km away
Cape Grace
Cape Grace
#7 of 112 in Cape Town Central
2 151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0,4 km away
One&Only Cape Town
One&Only Cape Town
#13 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1 737 reviews
1 km away
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#33 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1 858 reviews
2,1 km away
Taj Cape Town
Taj Cape Town
#15 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1 863 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Queen Victoria Hotel & Manor House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Queen Victoria Hotel & Manor House

Address: Portswood Close, Portswood Ridge | V&A Waterfront, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 112 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Price Range: R 3 424 - R 8 403 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Queen Victoria Hotel & Manor House 5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Queen Victoria Hotel & Manor House is a luxuriously appointed, deluxe boutique hotel in the Portswood Ridge Precinct in the Victoria & Alfred Waterfront, Cape Town. The hotel not only encapsulates the luxurious style and attention to detail that defines small, luxury retreats around the world but also enjoys a unique location. The hotel has 35 luxurious rooms and suites, including a presidential suite with a generous terrace for al fresco entertaining. From the food and beverage offering at Dash, the hotel’s restaurant and cocktail bar, to the interior aesthetics, the Queen Victoria Hotel embodies exquisite international flair that is fused with local flavour. The Manor House is adjacent to the Queen Victoria Hotel - and is a butler-serviced 4 suite boutique hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Queen Victoria Hotel & Manor House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing