We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful New Years Eve Treat”

La Mouette Restaurant
Ranked #27 of 1 297 Restaurants in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: La Mouette Restaurant opened in 2010 by Chef and co-owner Henry Vigar, his wife, Mari and their business partner Gerrit Bruwer. La Mouette offers seasonally inspired and modern food. With ever-changing and seasonally inspired menus, friendly staff and a beautiful and unique venue, La Mouette has become a firm favorite with locals and regulars as well as established itself as a return go-to for our international guests. We look forward to welcoming you soon!
Reviewed 2 January 2018 via mobile

Enjoyed a top tasting menu with wine for New Years Eve
Food was outstanding the staff were very friendly and a lovely atmosphere

Date of visit: January 2018
Thank Teesdalepark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1 701)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

142 - 146 of 1 701 reviews

Reviewed 1 January 2018

We booked for New Years' Eve some months ago. Leisel kindly organised our transportation to and from the restaurant and greeted us on arrival as did Gerrint. We met some fellow guests from England and they were able to push our tables together which made for a very pleasant evening win convivial company.

The service, food and wine were impeccable and beautifully presented.

Thank you for a wonderful evening.

We will most certainly be back.

Date of visit: January 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank allmylife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2018

Living in Cape Town means that for Xmas and Boxing Day all the Europeans flood into the city and it’s rare to find a place without the mass tourists that can ruin your day.... La Mouette not only has the style to combine a festive event like Xmas with the sun of the african summer, it not only offers a menu that combines Michelin quality with the Laisser-faire of Cape Town .... it creates beyond what you can expect a distinguished but hartfull and charming crowd which being part of is an honour for each guest

A clear must for every traveler with style

https://www.tripadvisor.de/ShowUserReviews-g187104-d2661211-r549022629-La_Mouette-Saint_Malo_Ille_et_Vilaine_Brittany.html#

Date of visit: December 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank aleksander222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2017

Had the three course tasting menu and couldn't not find fault with anything (and when it comes to food I usually do!) The ostrich was superb and the yellowtail was the best I've ever tasted. Burrata starter melts in your mouth and the strawberries and cream desert was innovative and amazing. I have celiac and they were able to cater for my dietary restrictions (although initially with a bit of confusion among servers, they were able to figure it out and a manager came to confirm everything I was to eat was safe and gluten free). It is a lively yet relaxed atmosphere, a perfect date night. Would highly recommend.

Date of visit: December 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank lindseyp56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2017 via mobile

Every single dish we tried was amazing. The dishes look amazing and taste great as well. I tried the tapas, tuna, beef, ostrich, and the honey desert — amazing! Service was great as well, the wines in the pairing are superb and the pours are generous incl refills

Date of visit: December 2017
Thank 620kerstenh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Mouette Restaurant also viewed

Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to La Mouette Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing