We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Taj Cape Town(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 27/07
US$154
US$145
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 22/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$187
US$156
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Free cancellation until 28/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$165
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$89
US$77
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Bar/Lounge
Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$92
US$74
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$84/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Protea Hotel Cape Town Victoria Junction(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$133
US$130
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Protea Hotel Cape Town Sea Point(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 28/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$86
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Cloud 9 Boutique Hotel & Spa(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$83
US$75
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 38% below average rates

The price you found is 38% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$120/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Urban Hive Backpackers(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$32
US$21
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Internet
One&Only Cape Town(Cape Town Central)
Free cancellation until 21/07
US$865
US$799
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (199)
Filter reviews
199 results
Traveller rating
81
84
25
5
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
81
84
25
5
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdouble roomnice facilitiesbackpackers hostelideal place to stayshared bathroomcommunal kitchenany requestswill stay there againenjoyed my stayclean roomslounge areachecking instayed longernice staylocation was perfectgarden routewithin walking distance
Filter
Updating list...
33 - 38 of 199 reviews
Reviewed 13 March 2017

We arrived as a big group and were shown such warmth when checking in. The overall state of the lodge was pleasing to the eye and very clean. Ashanti Lodge will most certainly be seeing me again in the future.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank sarahjaneb291
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason-Greenpoint, Manager at Ashanti Lodge Green Point, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2017

Hi sarahjaneb291

I am so glad to hear that you received a warm welcome and enjoyed your stay.

We would love to have you again, please feel free to mail us any time with the dates you'd like to come.

Kind regards,
Jason

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2017

My two friends and I had a great stay in the 3-bed room. It was simple, but clean and the location in the Green Point neighborhood was in a useful location center to many of our activities. It would have been nice to have our own private bathroom, but I knew that it was a shared bathroom when I made the reservation. The best part of our stay here was the amazing staff at this place who gave us invaluable tips and suggestions for making our stay in Cape Town awesome.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Y2207AKmikea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason-Greenpoint, Manager at Ashanti Lodge Green Point, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2017

Hi Y2207AKmikea

Thank you for the kind review, we are glad you enjoyed your stay and appreciate the input.

You are always welcome at Ashanti and we hope to see you again.

Kind regards,
Jason

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2017

Basic things ok, I didnt like that smoking was allowed next to open dormitory window and smoke came inside. Friendly staff, butvarious knowledge about sight seeings. I was dissopointed when I send somee-mails before arrival but didnt get any answer.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank VeliKe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason-Greenpoint, Manager at Ashanti Lodge Green Point, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2017

Hi Tuomo H

Thank you for your review, all input helps us improve and we will be sure to take your input into consideration.

With regards to the emails, we responded to your request for a transfer but that is the only email we got from you.

Kind regards,
Jason

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2017

The reception was solemn. We were frustrated after going through the process of checking in at the Ashanti Gardens instead of Greenpoint only to find out our bookin was actually in Green Point. We were not in the best mood and the receptionist was tolerant but also not very helpful. The dorm rooms were disappointing and we struggled to get in and out with the strange combination lock that was too low on the door.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank E3921SEcamib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason-Greenpoint, Manager at Ashanti Lodge Green Point, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2017

Hi E3921SEcamib

We are sorry that you went to the wrong property and had to do the check-in process twice due to this.

With regards to the dorms, having a combination door code is industry standard and we do this for our guests own safety and convenience.

Kind regards,
Jason

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2017

Dorm was roomy and bed comfortable with room to store luggage underneath the bed which you could lock with your own padlock. Staff friendly though not exactly willingly helpful in terms of where to get food, what to do etc. A nice stay overall.

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank RFultz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason-Greenpoint, Manager at Ashanti Lodge Green Point, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2017

Hi RFultz

Thank you for the review, all feedback helps us improve.

We are glad you enjoyed the room and are sorry the staff were not as helpful as they should have been. We pride ourselves in our friendliness and helpfulness so will definitely chat to the staff to rectify the matter.

We hope to see you again one day.

Kind regards,
Jason

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews