We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ashanti Lodge Green Point
Nearby Hotels
US$134
Protea Hotels
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Protea Hotel Cape Town Victoria Junction(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$146
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$219
US$212
Radisson Blu
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hilton Cape Town City Centre(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$150
US$130
Hilton
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Protea Hotel Cape Town Sea Point(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$119
Protea Hotels
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$88
US$76
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Bar/Lounge
ONOMO Hotel Cape Town - Inn On The Square(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$62
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Cloud 9 Boutique Hotel & Spa(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$87
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
One&Only Cape Town(Cape Town Central)
US$767
US$737
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Victoria & Alfred Hotel(Cape Town Central)
US$275
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (199)
Filter reviews
199 results
Traveller rating
81
84
25
5
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
81
84
25
5
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfree pancakesdouble roomnice facilitiesbackpackers hostelideal place to stayshared bathroomcommunal kitchenany requestswill stay there againenjoyed my stayclean roomslounge areachecking instayed longerwalking distancenice staylocation was perfect
Filter
Updating list...
34 - 39 of 199 reviews
Reviewed 27 February 2017

My two friends and I had a great stay in the 3-bed room. It was simple, but clean and the location in the Green Point neighborhood was in a useful location center to many of our activities. It would have been nice to have our own private bathroom, but I knew that it was a shared bathroom when I made the reservation. The best part of our stay here was the amazing staff at this place who gave us invaluable tips and suggestions for making our stay in Cape Town awesome.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Y2207AKmikea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason-Greenpoint, Manager at Ashanti Lodge Green Point, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2017

Hi Y2207AKmikea

Thank you for the kind review, we are glad you enjoyed your stay and appreciate the input.

You are always welcome at Ashanti and we hope to see you again.

Kind regards,
Jason

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2017

Basic things ok, I didnt like that smoking was allowed next to open dormitory window and smoke came inside. Friendly staff, butvarious knowledge about sight seeings. I was dissopointed when I send somee-mails before arrival but didnt get any answer.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank VeliKe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason-Greenpoint, Manager at Ashanti Lodge Green Point, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2017

Hi Tuomo H

Thank you for your review, all input helps us improve and we will be sure to take your input into consideration.

With regards to the emails, we responded to your request for a transfer but that is the only email we got from you.

Kind regards,
Jason

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2017

The reception was solemn. We were frustrated after going through the process of checking in at the Ashanti Gardens instead of Greenpoint only to find out our bookin was actually in Green Point. We were not in the best mood and the receptionist was tolerant but also not very helpful. The dorm rooms were disappointing and we struggled to get in and out with the strange combination lock that was too low on the door.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank E3921SEcamib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason-Greenpoint, Manager at Ashanti Lodge Green Point, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2017

Hi E3921SEcamib

We are sorry that you went to the wrong property and had to do the check-in process twice due to this.

With regards to the dorms, having a combination door code is industry standard and we do this for our guests own safety and convenience.

Kind regards,
Jason

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2017

Dorm was roomy and bed comfortable with room to store luggage underneath the bed which you could lock with your own padlock. Staff friendly though not exactly willingly helpful in terms of where to get food, what to do etc. A nice stay overall.

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank RFultz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason-Greenpoint, Manager at Ashanti Lodge Green Point, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2017

Hi RFultz

Thank you for the review, all feedback helps us improve.

We are glad you enjoyed the room and are sorry the staff were not as helpful as they should have been. We pride ourselves in our friendliness and helpfulness so will definitely chat to the staff to rectify the matter.

We hope to see you again one day.

Kind regards,
Jason

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2017

Stayed here for a night after my overland camping tour, had a double bed to myself with shared facilities. The bed was super comfortable and the shared facilities were really clean. Really good location, quite safe in that area and things are nearby to walk or getting an uber is really cheap as well. Had breakfast and didn't enjoy it as my food was overcooked but it was really cheap.

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
Thank Tej_Chau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason-Greenpoint, Manager at Ashanti Lodge Green Point, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2017

Hi Tej_Chau

Thank you for the review, all input helps us improve.

We are glad you enjoyed you enjoyed your stay for the most part and will be sure to work on making our breakfast even more delicious :)

Kind regards,
Jason

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews