We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ashanti Lodge Green Point
Certificate of Excellence
Grahamstown, South Africa
1 review
“Perfect place”
Reviewed 13 March 2017

We arrived as a big group and were shown such warmth when checking in. The overall state of the lodge was pleasing to the eye and very clean. Ashanti Lodge will most certainly be seeing me again in the future.

  • Stayed February 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank sarahjaneb291
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason-Greenpoint, Manager at Ashanti Lodge Green Point, responded to this review, 16 March 2017
Hi sarahjaneb291

I am so glad to hear that you received a warm welcome and enjoyed your stay.

We would love to have you again, please feel free to mail us any time with the dates you'd like to come.

Kind regards,
Jason
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    67
    77
    23
    5
    4
See reviews for
20
41
58
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
Reviewed 27 February 2017

My two friends and I had a great stay in the 3-bed room. It was simple, but clean and the location in the Green Point neighborhood was in a useful location center to many of our activities. It would have been nice to have our own private bathroom, but I knew that it was a shared bathroom when I made the reservation. The best part of our stay here was the amazing staff at this place who gave us invaluable tips and suggestions for making our stay in Cape Town awesome.

  • Stayed February 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Y2207AKmikea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason-Greenpoint, Manager at Ashanti Lodge Green Point, responded to this review, 7 March 2017
Hi Y2207AKmikea

Thank you for the kind review, we are glad you enjoyed your stay and appreciate the input.

You are always welcome at Ashanti and we hope to see you again.

Kind regards,
Jason
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2017

Basic things ok, I didnt like that smoking was allowed next to open dormitory window and smoke came inside. Friendly staff, butvarious knowledge about sight seeings. I was dissopointed when I send somee-mails before arrival but didnt get any answer.

  • Stayed February 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Tuomo H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason-Greenpoint, Manager at Ashanti Lodge Green Point, responded to this review, 7 March 2017
Hi Tuomo H

Thank you for your review, all input helps us improve and we will be sure to take your input into consideration.

With regards to the emails, we responded to your request for a transfer but that is the only email we got from you.

Kind regards,
Jason
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviewed 12 February 2017

The reception was solemn. We were frustrated after going through the process of checking in at the Ashanti Gardens instead of Greenpoint only to find out our bookin was actually in Green Point. We were not in the best mood and the receptionist was tolerant but also not very helpful. The dorm rooms were disappointing and we struggled to get in and out with the strange combination lock that was too low on the door.

  • Stayed February 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank E3921SEcamib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason-Greenpoint, Manager at Ashanti Lodge Green Point, responded to this review, 15 February 2017
Hi E3921SEcamib

We are sorry that you went to the wrong property and had to do the check-in process twice due to this.

With regards to the dorms, having a combination door code is industry standard and we do this for our guests own safety and convenience.

Kind regards,
Jason
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palmerston North, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2017

Dorm was roomy and bed comfortable with room to store luggage underneath the bed which you could lock with your own padlock. Staff friendly though not exactly willingly helpful in terms of where to get food, what to do etc. A nice stay overall.

  • Stayed December 2016, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RFultz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason-Greenpoint, Manager at Ashanti Lodge Green Point, responded to this review, 8 February 2017
Hi RFultz

Thank you for the review, all feedback helps us improve.

We are glad you enjoyed the room and are sorry the staff were not as helpful as they should have been. We pride ourselves in our friendliness and helpfulness so will definitely chat to the staff to rectify the matter.

We hope to see you again one day.

Kind regards,
Jason
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
1.0 km away
Atlantic Point Backpackers
Atlantic Point Backpackers
#2 of 128 in Cape Town Central
653 reviews
0.8 km away
The Backpackers in Green Point
The Backpackers in Green Point
#1 of 128 in Cape Town Central
494 reviews
0.8 km away
Never at Home Cape Town
Never at Home Cape Town
#5 of 128 in Cape Town Central
311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 km away
Ashanti Lodge Gardens
Ashanti Lodge Gardens
#11 of 128 in Cape Town Central
510 reviews
0.4 km away
Altona Lodge
Altona Lodge
#3 of 128 in Cape Town Central
329 reviews
0.4 km away
A Sunflower Stop
A Sunflower Stop
#8 of 128 in Cape Town Central
333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ashanti Lodge Green Point? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashanti Lodge Green Point

Property: Ashanti Lodge Green Point
Address: 23 Antrim Road | Green Point, Cape Town Central 8005, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 128 Speciality Lodging in Cape Town Central
Price range (per night): R317 - R1 321
Hotel Class:2 star — Ashanti Lodge Green Point 2*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newer and super stylish, Ashanti Backpackers Green Point offers an elegant alternative for travellers looking for quieter, more private accommodation in Cape Town. All rates now include breakfast! Green Point is celebrated for its vibrant nightlife and is also within walking distance are the V&A Waterfront and iconic Cape Town Stadium, yet a short distance to the city centre itself. Building on the unrivalled reputation and experience of Ashanti Gardens, the Green Point hostel shows the same attention to detail with superb facilities, outstanding service and excellent security. A variety of accommodation options are available, from backpacker dorms to private en-suite bedrooms; and all are equipped with overhead fans, heaters, fluffy white duvets, individual reading lights and personal safes. All the private rooms also have towels and satellite televisions. An inviting swimming pool, comfortable lounge/ TV room and a drink at reception are some of the relaxing communal areas on offer. Breakfast can be ordered if you so desire, but a fully equipped kitchen is available for self-catering. You can even make use of the barbeque (braai) if you fancy cooking in a more South African style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Ashanti Lodge Green Point reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing