We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty Good”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ashanti Lodge Green Point
Certificate of Excellence
Palmerston North, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Pretty Good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2017

Dorm was roomy and bed comfortable with room to store luggage underneath the bed which you could lock with your own padlock. Staff friendly though not exactly willingly helpful in terms of where to get food, what to do etc. A nice stay overall.

  • Stayed December 2016, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RFultz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason-Greenpoint, Manager at Ashanti Lodge Green Point, responded to this review, 8 February 2017
Hi RFultz

Thank you for the review, all feedback helps us improve.

We are glad you enjoyed the room and are sorry the staff were not as helpful as they should have been. We pride ourselves in our friendliness and helpfulness so will definitely chat to the staff to rectify the matter.

We hope to see you again one day.

Kind regards,
Jason
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    65
    73
    23
    5
    4
See reviews for
19
39
57
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2017

Stayed here for a night after my overland camping tour, had a double bed to myself with shared facilities. The bed was super comfortable and the shared facilities were really clean. Really good location, quite safe in that area and things are nearby to walk or getting an uber is really cheap as well. Had breakfast and didn't enjoy it as my food was overcooked but it was really cheap.

  • Stayed January 2017, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
Helpful?
Thank Tej_Chau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason-Greenpoint, Manager at Ashanti Lodge Green Point, responded to this review, 30 January 2017
Hi Tej_Chau

Thank you for the review, all input helps us improve.

We are glad you enjoyed you enjoyed your stay for the most part and will be sure to work on making our breakfast even more delicious :)

Kind regards,
Jason
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2017

We stayed at Ashanti Lodge in Green Point on the recommendation of the travel company we were about to tour with (Acacia Africa) and it was a great choice. Cheap rooms but very clean with nice facilities. Breakfast was OK (good value for money) and service from reception was fantastic. Location was good - felt safe and cheap to take a taxi to the V&A waterfront nearby or even to walk. Would likely stay again.

  • Stayed November 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kaelen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason-Greenpoint, Manager at Ashanti Lodge Green Point, responded to this review, 30 January 2017
Hi Kaelen S

Thank you for the review, we are glad you enjoyed your stay.
We also hope you had a great overland trip through Africa.

Kind regards,
Jason
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Haven, Connecticut
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2017 via mobile

It was my first time at a backpackers place. I had ordered a double room all to my self and it was great. I shared bathrooms with all the people upstairs but never had any issues. Bathroom, kitchen and common areas including pool were clean. The staff were especially friendly and helpful with planning out activities for my trip. They get gold stars from me. Breakfast was a little pricey but good. The only thing is that wifi was strongest in the lobby and weak to non existent in the double bed rooms upstairs which was a little inconvenient but that was the only issue. I always felt secure, could walk in the area, lots of food options within 1km walk away and even went for a breathtakingly beautiful jog along the oceanfront.

Stayed December 2016, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank joeyjoi5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason-Greenpoint, Manager at Ashanti Lodge Green Point, responded to this review, 11 January 2017
Hi joeyjoi5

Thank you for the kind review, we are very glad you enjoyed your stay.
We are also aware of the wifi issue, unfortunately the internet standard in South Africa is still quite far behind the rest of the world. But be rest assured we try provide the highest quality standard that is available.

We hope to see you again one day.

Kind regards,
Jason

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2017

1)Good localization (near the beach) and is possible to use public transport easily to arrive in other attractions.
2)There is body cream and liquid soap in the bathrooms,
3)Pancakes, coffee, sugar and tea included (breakfast)
4)Internet works badly
5)Some staff member are unkind with the guests.

  • Stayed January 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tania_Mangolini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason-Greenpoint, Manager at Ashanti Lodge Green Point, responded to this review, 11 January 2017
Hi Tania_Mangolini

Thank you for the review, all feedback helps us improve and pinpoint our mistakes.
Please be assured we will work hard in improving wherever possible.

Kind regards,
Jason
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
Ashanti Lodge Gardens
#11 of 125 in Cape Town Central
4.0 of 5 bubbles 492 reviews
Atlantic Point Backpackers
#3 of 125 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 613 reviews
The Backpackers in Green Point
#1 of 125 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Never at Home Cape Town
#9 of 125 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 262 reviews
City Bowl
The Backpack
The Backpack
#4 of 125 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 672 reviews
City Bowl
Once in Cape Town
Once in Cape Town
#8 of 125 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ashanti Lodge Green Point? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashanti Lodge Green Point

Property: Ashanti Lodge Green Point
Address: 23 Antrim Road | Green Point, Cape Town Central 8005, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 125 Speciality Lodging in Cape Town Central
Price range (per night): R240 - R1 108
Hotel Class:2 star — Ashanti Lodge Green Point 2*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly renovated and super stylish, Ashanti Green Point offers quieter, more private accommodation for the discerning traveller. Green Point is celebrated for its vibrant nightlife, and nearby Sea Point buzzes with shops and restaurants, a historic seafront walkway and secluded beaches. Also within walking distance are the V&A Waterfront, iconic Cape Town Stadium and the city centre itself.Building on the unrivalled experience of Ashanti Gardens, the Green Point lodge shows the same attention to detail with superb facilities, outstanding service and excellent security. Various accommodation options are available, from backpacker dorms to private en-suite bedrooms; all with fluffy white duvets, individual reading lights, personal safes and international plug points. Private rooms also have plasma screen televisions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelWorld and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ashanti Lodge Green Point reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing