We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ashanti Lodge Green Point
Nearby Hotels
Hippo Boutique Hotel(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$132
US$82
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pepperclub Hotel & Spa(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$256
US$161
Agoda.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
The Commodore(Cape Town Central)
US$304
US$241
Agoda.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Townhouse Hotel(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$157
US$94
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Protea Hotel Cape Town Waterfront Breakwater Lodge(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$160
US$128
Expedia.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Victoria & Alfred Hotel(Cape Town Central)
US$366
US$265
Agoda.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Taj Cape Town(Cape Town Central)
US$156
Expedia.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$461
US$408
Expedia.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Derwent House Boutique Hotel(Cape Town Central)
US$186
US$176
Travelocity
View Deal
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Table Bay Hotel(Cape Town Central)
US$453
US$440
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (199)
Filter reviews
199 results
Traveller rating
81
84
25
5
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
81
84
25
5
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfree pancakesdouble roomnice facilitiesbackpackers hostelideal place to stayshared bathroomcommunal kitchenany requestswill stay there againenjoyed my stayclean roomslounge areachecking instayed longerwalking distancenice staylocation was perfect
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
38 - 43 of 199 reviews
Reviewed 28 January 2017

Stayed here for a night after my overland camping tour, had a double bed to myself with shared facilities. The bed was super comfortable and the shared facilities were really clean. Really good location, quite safe in that area and things are nearby to walk or getting an uber is really cheap as well. Had breakfast and didn't enjoy it as my food was overcooked but it was really cheap.

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
Thank Tej_Chau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason-Greenpoint, Manager at Ashanti Lodge Green Point, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2017

Hi Tej_Chau

Thank you for the review, all input helps us improve.

We are glad you enjoyed you enjoyed your stay for the most part and will be sure to work on making our breakfast even more delicious :)

Kind regards,
Jason

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2017

We stayed at Ashanti Lodge in Green Point on the recommendation of the travel company we were about to tour with (Acacia Africa) and it was a great choice. Cheap rooms but very clean with nice facilities. Breakfast was OK (good value for money) and service from reception was fantastic. Location was good - felt safe and cheap to take a taxi to the V&A waterfront nearby or even to walk. Would likely stay again.

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kaelen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason-Greenpoint, Manager at Ashanti Lodge Green Point, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2017

Hi Kaelen S

Thank you for the review, we are glad you enjoyed your stay.
We also hope you had a great overland trip through Africa.

Kind regards,
Jason

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2017 via mobile

It was my first time at a backpackers place. I had ordered a double room all to my self and it was great. I shared bathrooms with all the people upstairs but never had any issues. Bathroom, kitchen and common areas including pool were clean. The staff were especially friendly and helpful with planning out activities for my trip. They get gold stars from me. Breakfast was a little pricey but good. The only thing is that wifi was strongest in the lobby and weak to non existent in the double bed rooms upstairs which was a little inconvenient but that was the only issue. I always felt secure, could walk in the area, lots of food options within 1km walk away and even went for a breathtakingly beautiful jog along the oceanfront.

Stayed: December 2016, travelled solo
1  Thank joeyjoi5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason-Greenpoint, Manager at Ashanti Lodge Green Point, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2017

Hi joeyjoi5

Thank you for the kind review, we are very glad you enjoyed your stay.
We are also aware of the wifi issue, unfortunately the internet standard in South Africa is still quite far behind the rest of the world. But be rest assured we try provide the highest quality standard that is available.

We hope to see you again one day.

Kind regards,
Jason

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2017

1)Good localization (near the beach) and is possible to use public transport easily to arrive in other attractions.
2)There is body cream and liquid soap in the bathrooms,
3)Pancakes, coffee, sugar and tea included (breakfast)
4)Internet works badly
5)Some staff member are unkind with the guests.

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Tania_Mangolini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason-Greenpoint, Manager at Ashanti Lodge Green Point, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2017

Hi Tania_Mangolini

Thank you for the review, all feedback helps us improve and pinpoint our mistakes.
Please be assured we will work hard in improving wherever possible.

Kind regards,
Jason

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2017

We stayed at Ashanti Backpackers greenpoint for 5 days. The rooms and facilities are extremely clean, even though it was public holidays I saw cleaners in at least once a day - this is a big plus for me when staying at any backpackers. Furthermore the staff members are very helpful and friendly and had good suggestions as to where we could go find more information/which shops are open and were just generally helpful. Another thing I liked was the kitchen, we cooked our own food, which was refreshing after travelling on take aways and canned food for a month. Also there are free pancakes dough available - yummy! Thanks Ashanti Backpackers.

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 759irenek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason-Greenpoint, Manager at Ashanti Lodge Green Point, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2017

Hi 759irenek

Thank you for the kind review, we are glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you in the near future.

Kind regards,
Jason

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews