We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty Good”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ashanti Lodge Green Point
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 February 2017

Dorm was roomy and bed comfortable with room to store luggage underneath the bed which you could lock with your own padlock. Staff friendly though not exactly willingly helpful in terms of where to get food, what to do etc. A nice stay overall.

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank RFultz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason-Greenpoint, Manager at Ashanti Lodge Green Point, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2017

Hi RFultz

Thank you for the review, all feedback helps us improve.

We are glad you enjoyed the room and are sorry the staff were not as helpful as they should have been. We pride ourselves in our friendliness and helpfulness so will definitely chat to the staff to rectify the matter.

We hope to see you again one day.

Kind regards,
Jason

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (194)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

33 - 37 of 194 reviews

Reviewed 28 January 2017

Stayed here for a night after my overland camping tour, had a double bed to myself with shared facilities. The bed was super comfortable and the shared facilities were really clean. Really good location, quite safe in that area and things are nearby to walk or getting an uber is really cheap as well. Had breakfast and didn't enjoy it as my food was overcooked but it was really cheap.

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
Thank Tej_Chau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason-Greenpoint, Manager at Ashanti Lodge Green Point, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2017

Hi Tej_Chau

Thank you for the review, all input helps us improve.

We are glad you enjoyed you enjoyed your stay for the most part and will be sure to work on making our breakfast even more delicious :)

Kind regards,
Jason

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2017

We stayed at Ashanti Lodge in Green Point on the recommendation of the travel company we were about to tour with (Acacia Africa) and it was a great choice. Cheap rooms but very clean with nice facilities. Breakfast was OK (good value for money) and service from reception was fantastic. Location was good - felt safe and cheap to take a taxi to the V&A waterfront nearby or even to walk. Would likely stay again.

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kaelen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason-Greenpoint, Manager at Ashanti Lodge Green Point, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2017

Hi Kaelen S

Thank you for the review, we are glad you enjoyed your stay.
We also hope you had a great overland trip through Africa.

Kind regards,
Jason

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2017 via mobile

It was my first time at a backpackers place. I had ordered a double room all to my self and it was great. I shared bathrooms with all the people upstairs but never had any issues. Bathroom, kitchen and common areas including pool were clean. The staff were especially friendly and helpful with planning out activities for my trip. They get gold stars from me. Breakfast was a little pricey but good. The only thing is that wifi was strongest in the lobby and weak to non existent in the double bed rooms upstairs which was a little inconvenient but that was the only issue. I always felt secure, could walk in the area, lots of food options within 1km walk away and even went for a breathtakingly beautiful jog along the oceanfront.

Stayed: December 2016, travelled solo
1  Thank joeyjoi5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason-Greenpoint, Manager at Ashanti Lodge Green Point, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2017

Hi joeyjoi5

Thank you for the kind review, we are very glad you enjoyed your stay.
We are also aware of the wifi issue, unfortunately the internet standard in South Africa is still quite far behind the rest of the world. But be rest assured we try provide the highest quality standard that is available.

We hope to see you again one day.

Kind regards,
Jason

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2017

1)Good localization (near the beach) and is possible to use public transport easily to arrive in other attractions.
2)There is body cream and liquid soap in the bathrooms,
3)Pancakes, coffee, sugar and tea included (breakfast)
4)Internet works badly
5)Some staff member are unkind with the guests.

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Tania_Mangolini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason-Greenpoint, Manager at Ashanti Lodge Green Point, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2017

Hi Tania_Mangolini

Thank you for the review, all feedback helps us improve and pinpoint our mistakes.
Please be assured we will work hard in improving wherever possible.

Kind regards,
Jason

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
Never at Home Cape Town
#5 of 130 in Cape Town Central
371 reviews
A Sunflower Stop
#9 of 130 in Cape Town Central
350 reviews
Ashanti Lodge Gardens
#10 of 130 in Cape Town Central
543 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Bowl
Once in Cape Town
Once in Cape Town
#8 of 130 in Cape Town Central
556 reviews
City Bowl
The Backpack
The Backpack
#4 of 130 in Cape Town Central
705 reviews
The Backpackers in Green Point
#1 of 130 in Cape Town Central
517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ashanti Lodge Green Point? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashanti Lodge Green Point

Address: 23 Antrim Road | Green Point, Cape Town Central 8005, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 130 Speciality Lodging in Cape Town Central
Price Range: R315 - R1 286 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Ashanti Lodge Green Point 2*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newer and super stylish, Ashanti Backpackers Green Point offers an elegant alternative for travellers looking for quieter, more private accommodation in Cape Town. All rates now include breakfast! Green Point is celebrated for its vibrant nightlife and is also within walking distance are the V&A Waterfront and iconic Cape Town Stadium, yet a short distance to the city centre itself. Building on the unrivalled reputation and experience of Ashanti Gardens, the Green Point hostel shows the same attention to detail with superb facilities, outstanding service and excellent security. A variety of accommodation options are available, from backpacker dorms to private en-suite bedrooms; and all are equipped with overhead fans, heaters, fluffy white duvets, individual reading lights and personal safes. All the private rooms also have towels and satellite televisions. An inviting swimming pool, comfortable lounge/ TV room and a drink at reception are some of the relaxing communal areas on offer. Breakfast can be ordered if you so desire, but a fully equipped kitchen is available for self-catering. You can even make use of the barbeque (braai) if you fancy cooking in a more South African style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Ashanti Lodge Green Point reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing