We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap and Valuable”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ashanti Lodge Green Point
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Cheap and Valuable”
Reviewed 28 January 2017

Stayed here for a night after my overland camping tour, had a double bed to myself with shared facilities. The bed was super comfortable and the shared facilities were really clean. Really good location, quite safe in that area and things are nearby to walk or getting an uber is really cheap as well. Had breakfast and didn't enjoy it as my food was overcooked but it was really cheap.

  • Stayed January 2017, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
Helpful?
Thank Tej_Chau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason-Greenpoint, Manager at Ashanti Lodge Green Point, responded to this review, 30 January 2017
Hi Tej_Chau

Thank you for the review, all input helps us improve.

We are glad you enjoyed you enjoyed your stay for the most part and will be sure to work on making our breakfast even more delicious :)

Kind regards,
Jason
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    67
    75
    23
    5
    4
See reviews for
20
40
58
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 January 2017

We stayed at Ashanti Lodge in Green Point on the recommendation of the travel company we were about to tour with (Acacia Africa) and it was a great choice. Cheap rooms but very clean with nice facilities. Breakfast was OK (good value for money) and service from reception was fantastic. Location was good - felt safe and cheap to take a taxi to the V&A waterfront nearby or even to walk. Would likely stay again.

  • Stayed November 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kaelen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason-Greenpoint, Manager at Ashanti Lodge Green Point, responded to this review, 30 January 2017
Hi Kaelen S

Thank you for the review, we are glad you enjoyed your stay.
We also hope you had a great overland trip through Africa.

Kind regards,
Jason
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Haven, Connecticut
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2017 via mobile

It was my first time at a backpackers place. I had ordered a double room all to my self and it was great. I shared bathrooms with all the people upstairs but never had any issues. Bathroom, kitchen and common areas including pool were clean. The staff were especially friendly and helpful with planning out activities for my trip. They get gold stars from me. Breakfast was a little pricey but good. The only thing is that wifi was strongest in the lobby and weak to non existent in the double bed rooms upstairs which was a little inconvenient but that was the only issue. I always felt secure, could walk in the area, lots of food options within 1km walk away and even went for a breathtakingly beautiful jog along the oceanfront.

Stayed December 2016, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank joeyjoi5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason-Greenpoint, Manager at Ashanti Lodge Green Point, responded to this review, 11 January 2017
Hi joeyjoi5

Thank you for the kind review, we are very glad you enjoyed your stay.
We are also aware of the wifi issue, unfortunately the internet standard in South Africa is still quite far behind the rest of the world. But be rest assured we try provide the highest quality standard that is available.

We hope to see you again one day.

Kind regards,
Jason

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2017

1)Good localization (near the beach) and is possible to use public transport easily to arrive in other attractions.
2)There is body cream and liquid soap in the bathrooms,
3)Pancakes, coffee, sugar and tea included (breakfast)
4)Internet works badly
5)Some staff member are unkind with the guests.

  • Stayed January 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tania_Mangolini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason-Greenpoint, Manager at Ashanti Lodge Green Point, responded to this review, 11 January 2017
Hi Tania_Mangolini

Thank you for the review, all feedback helps us improve and pinpoint our mistakes.
Please be assured we will work hard in improving wherever possible.

Kind regards,
Jason
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 2 January 2017

We stayed at Ashanti Backpackers greenpoint for 5 days. The rooms and facilities are extremely clean, even though it was public holidays I saw cleaners in at least once a day - this is a big plus for me when staying at any backpackers. Furthermore the staff members are very helpful and friendly and had good suggestions as to where we could go find more information/which shops are open and were just generally helpful. Another thing I liked was the kitchen, we cooked our own food, which was refreshing after travelling on take aways and canned food for a month. Also there are free pancakes dough available - yummy! Thanks Ashanti Backpackers.

  • Stayed December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank 759irenek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason-Greenpoint, Manager at Ashanti Lodge Green Point, responded to this review, 9 January 2017
Hi 759irenek

Thank you for the kind review, we are glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you in the near future.

Kind regards,
Jason
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
Ashanti Lodge Gardens
#11 of 125 in Cape Town Central
501 reviews
The Backpackers in Green Point
#1 of 125 in Cape Town Central
490 reviews
Atlantic Point Backpackers
#2 of 125 in Cape Town Central
640 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Never at Home Cape Town
#7 of 125 in Cape Town Central
278 reviews
City Bowl
The Backpack
The Backpack
#4 of 125 in Cape Town Central
678 reviews
City Bowl
Once in Cape Town
Once in Cape Town
#6 of 125 in Cape Town Central
508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ashanti Lodge Green Point? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashanti Lodge Green Point

Property: Ashanti Lodge Green Point
Address: 23 Antrim Road | Green Point, Cape Town Central 8005, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 125 Speciality Lodging in Cape Town Central
Price range (per night): R298 - R1 025
Hotel Class:2 star — Ashanti Lodge Green Point 2*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly renovated and super stylish, Ashanti Green Point offers quieter, more private accommodation for the discerning traveller. Green Point is celebrated for its vibrant nightlife, and nearby Sea Point buzzes with shops and restaurants, a historic seafront walkway and secluded beaches. Also within walking distance are the V&A Waterfront, iconic Cape Town Stadium and the city centre itself.Building on the unrivalled experience of Ashanti Gardens, the Green Point lodge shows the same attention to detail with superb facilities, outstanding service and excellent security. Various accommodation options are available, from backpacker dorms to private en-suite bedrooms; all with fluffy white duvets, individual reading lights, personal safes and international plug points. Private rooms also have plasma screen televisions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Ashanti Lodge Green Point reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing