We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ashanti Lodge Green Point
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 December 2015

I have been to this place 2 times in a 5 day stay in Cape Town. I really liked the place and would definately stay there on my next visits. The stuff are great, welcoming and very helpful. The lodge itself is located at very convenient place.

Room Tip: A budget lodge with great value for money for a stay in Cape Town.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Hanyane P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LisaMas0n, Owner at Ashanti Lodge Green Point, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2015

HI Hanyane P
Thanks for your email. It feels great to have returning guests who appreciate the hard work we put in!
Regards
Lisa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (184)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

74 - 78 of 184 reviews

Reviewed 30 November 2015

On the surface, this backpackers is great. Solid Green Point location, nice amenities (although the WiFi is massively slow), and reasonable rooms.

But then, all that didn't matter. I booked 12 people here for six nights. On the 5th night, one of my group left a laptop on a table in the secure interior chill space while we sat less than 2 meters away at outside. I well recognize that she should not have left the computer on a table unattended, but... It is the only room in the place where there is not video surveillance and only employees would know this. Late in the evening, while we were sitting just outside, an Ashanti employee (the only person awake in the lodge besides our party) came into the room and "cleaned up." He brought a rubbish bag into the room, turned out the lights, moved some things around, and at that point the laptop in the room disappeared carrying a rubbish bag with something in it. He never took the rubbish bag to the rubbish bins which are on a motion activated camera. No one else entered or left the premise during this time, which can be documented by video surveillance.

When we talked the next morning to the staff, they were completely unconcerned, never pretended to care one bit about this theft, and the owner has still not responded to multiple phone calls and messages. The employee who most likely committed the theft is still employed there!!! Even the South African Police detectives who came, watched all the video footage, and investigated were fairly certain the employee stole the computer, but he was smart enough to do it in a way that precluded video evidence. I repeat that he still works there and the owner has done nothing.

If you want to stay in a cool spot and are willing to take the chance an employee of that spot may steal your valuables and know that the management and ownership won't even talk to you, stay here. But for me, a long time world traveller, I would stay as far away from this place as possible.

Less than one star. Spend your money in a place where employees don't magically show up and your valuables disappear.

  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ReidHresko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LisaMas0n, Owner at Ashanti Lodge Green Point, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2015

Dear ReidHresko

Thank you for your review and I apologise for the delay in responding, but we have been trying to get more information before submitting a reply.

We are extremely distressed by your feelings, because I can assure that both management and the owners of Ashanti are taking this event very seriously and have been spending a lot of time and energy investigating it fully.

Neither myself as the owner or the manager have had any communication from you at all regarding this incident – either telephonically or by email so it is very strange that you say you have left messages with no response. Of course we would respond!

The manager spent 5 hours the morning after it happened investigating CCTV footage and assisting Sommer with reporting it to the police and making phone calls on her behalf.

The delay in any effective action having taken place has been due to the lack of communication with the South African Police Service. Eventually, we went down to the police station, obtained the case number and spoke to the detective in charge of the case.

We spoke to a Warrant Office Oliver as well as Sergeant Constable Hlomela. Mr Hlomela was the detective who had come round to view the footage after hours and he said that unfortunately the CCTV footage is not conclusive enough to lay a charge. This information was only obtained yesterday and we have been informed that they have closed the file.

HOWEVER, we agree that there is a strong element of suspicion against our Ashanti staff member and to that end we are in the process of having our internal investigation which could lead to disciplinary action and possibly dismissal should it be necessary.

We will liaise with Sommer with the minutes of the meetings and the outcomes thereof.

Please be assured that under absolutely no circumstances would we tolerate theft from guests by a staff member!!

Regards
Lisa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2015

Quiet area and relax sleeping environment. Good for some relaxing in the busy city centre, and easy access to waterfront and green point. Quality of bed was good and the room was hostel was very clean. Only thing I missed was some buzz, but if you are in for some rest in a good environment this was the place to be!

  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank rogier32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LisaMas0n, Owner at Ashanti Lodge Green Point, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2015

Hi rogier32
Thanks for your review. Yes, we are quieter than a lot of other backpackers but the majority of our guests prefer it that way.
Regards
Lisa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2015

I would recommend Ashanti Greenpoint to anyone, whether traveling solo like I was or with others. The staff were really friendly and helpful and they can book all sorts of day trips and activities for you. I stayed in the 8-bed all-female dorm and it was a very clean, spacious room. And there is free pancake mixture on offer every morning for you to make your own pancakes!
The hostel itself is located in a quiet neighbourhood, but close enough that you can find lots of shops and restaurants within 10 minutes walk. The city centre and all the sights are easily accessible using the MyCiti buses which are very reliable and safe, and you can get your card at the hostel reception which was really helpful.
All in all, one of the nicest hostels I've stayed at and I would recommend it!

  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank katiemU2322PK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CalAshantiGreenpoint, Manager at Ashanti Lodge Green Point, responded to this reviewResponded 17 November 2015

Hi katiemU2322PK

Thanks so much for your wonderful words.

Im very happy that you had such a great stay.

Hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2015

Stayed there for 3 nights, enjoyed it very much. Great location for having a run because it is very close to the sea front and from there you can run/walk up to fancy Camps Bay!
Bus stops for MyCiti and the open red touristic doubledecker bus is also in walking distance!

  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 144ingah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CalAshantiGreenpoint, Manager at Ashanti Lodge Green Point, responded to this reviewResponded 17 November 2015

Hi 144ingah

Thanks for the review.

Hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
0.1 km away
The One 8 Hotel
The One 8 Hotel
#44 of 110 in Cape Town Central
272 reviews
0.2 km away
Romney Park All Suite Hotel & Spa
Romney Park All Suite Hotel & Sp...
#20 of 110 in Cape Town Central
368 reviews
0.8 km away
Never at Home Cape Town
Never at Home Cape Town
#5 of 128 in Cape Town Central
340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
Atlantic Point Backpackers
Atlantic Point Backpackers
#3 of 128 in Cape Town Central
687 reviews
0.8 km away
The Backpackers in Green Point
The Backpackers in Green Point
#1 of 128 in Cape Town Central
508 reviews
2.9 km away
Ashanti Lodge Gardens
Ashanti Lodge Gardens
#11 of 128 in Cape Town Central
527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ashanti Lodge Green Point? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashanti Lodge Green Point

Address: 23 Antrim Road | Green Point, Cape Town Central 8005, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 128 Speciality Lodging in Cape Town Central
Price Range: R297 - R1 323 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Ashanti Lodge Green Point 2*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newer and super stylish, Ashanti Backpackers Green Point offers an elegant alternative for travellers looking for quieter, more private accommodation in Cape Town. All rates now include breakfast! Green Point is celebrated for its vibrant nightlife and is also within walking distance are the V&A Waterfront and iconic Cape Town Stadium, yet a short distance to the city centre itself. Building on the unrivalled reputation and experience of Ashanti Gardens, the Green Point hostel shows the same attention to detail with superb facilities, outstanding service and excellent security. A variety of accommodation options are available, from backpacker dorms to private en-suite bedrooms; and all are equipped with overhead fans, heaters, fluffy white duvets, individual reading lights and personal safes. All the private rooms also have towels and satellite televisions. An inviting swimming pool, comfortable lounge/ TV room and a drink at reception are some of the relaxing communal areas on offer. Breakfast can be ordered if you so desire, but a fully equipped kitchen is available for self-catering. You can even make use of the barbeque (braai) if you fancy cooking in a more South African style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Ashanti Lodge Green Point reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing