We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ashanti Lodge Green Point
Nearby Hotels
Pepperclub Hotel & Spa(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$256
US$161
Agoda.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
The Commodore(Cape Town Central)
US$304
US$241
Agoda.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Townhouse Hotel(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$157
US$94
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Protea Hotel Cape Town Waterfront Breakwater Lodge(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$160
US$128
Expedia.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hippo Boutique Hotel(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$132
US$65
Agoda.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Victoria & Alfred Hotel(Cape Town Central)
US$366
US$265
Agoda.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Taj Cape Town(Cape Town Central)
US$241
US$156
Expedia.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$463
US$408
Expedia.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Derwent House Boutique Hotel(Cape Town Central)
US$186
US$177
Hotels.com
View Deal
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Table Bay Hotel(Cape Town Central)
US$453
US$440
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (199)
Filter reviews
199 results
Traveller rating
81
84
25
5
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
81
84
25
5
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfree pancakesdouble roomnice facilitiesbackpackers hostelideal place to stayshared bathroomcommunal kitchenany requestswill stay there againenjoyed my stayclean roomslounge areachecking instayed longerwalking distancenice staylocation was perfect
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
89 - 94 of 199 reviews
Reviewed 30 November 2015

On the surface, this backpackers is great. Solid Green Point location, nice amenities (although the WiFi is massively slow), and reasonable rooms.

But then, all that didn't matter. I booked 12 people here for six nights. On the 5th night, one of my group left a laptop on a table in the secure interior chill space while we sat less than 2 meters away at outside. I well recognize that she should not have left the computer on a table unattended, but... It is the only room in the place where there is not video surveillance and only employees would know this. Late in the evening, while we were sitting just outside, an Ashanti employee (the only person awake in the lodge besides our party) came into the room and "cleaned up." He brought a rubbish bag into the room, turned out the lights, moved some things around, and at that point the laptop in the room disappeared carrying a rubbish bag with something in it. He never took the rubbish bag to the rubbish bins which are on a motion activated camera. No one else entered or left the premise during this time, which can be documented by video surveillance.

When we talked the next morning to the staff, they were completely unconcerned, never pretended to care one bit about this theft, and the owner has still not responded to multiple phone calls and messages. The employee who most likely committed the theft is still employed there!!! Even the South African Police detectives who came, watched all the video footage, and investigated were fairly certain the employee stole the computer, but he was smart enough to do it in a way that precluded video evidence. I repeat that he still works there and the owner has done nothing.

If you want to stay in a cool spot and are willing to take the chance an employee of that spot may steal your valuables and know that the management and ownership won't even talk to you, stay here. But for me, a long time world traveller, I would stay as far away from this place as possible.

Less than one star. Spend your money in a place where employees don't magically show up and your valuables disappear.

  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ReidHresko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LisaMas0n, Owner at Ashanti Lodge Green Point, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2015

Dear ReidHresko

Thank you for your review and I apologise for the delay in responding, but we have been trying to get more information before submitting a reply.

We are extremely distressed by your feelings, because I can assure that both management and the owners of Ashanti are taking this event very seriously and have been spending a lot of time and energy investigating it fully.

Neither myself as the owner or the manager have had any communication from you at all regarding this incident – either telephonically or by email so it is very strange that you say you have left messages with no response. Of course we would respond!

The manager spent 5 hours the morning after it happened investigating CCTV footage and assisting Sommer with reporting it to the police and making phone calls on her behalf.

The delay in any effective action having taken place has been due to the lack of communication with the South African Police Service. Eventually, we went down to the police station, obtained the case number and spoke to the detective in charge of the case.

We spoke to a Warrant Office Oliver as well as Sergeant Constable Hlomela. Mr Hlomela was the detective who had come round to view the footage after hours and he said that unfortunately the CCTV footage is not conclusive enough to lay a charge. This information was only obtained yesterday and we have been informed that they have closed the file.

HOWEVER, we agree that there is a strong element of suspicion against our Ashanti staff member and to that end we are in the process of having our internal investigation which could lead to disciplinary action and possibly dismissal should it be necessary.

We will liaise with Sommer with the minutes of the meetings and the outcomes thereof.

Please be assured that under absolutely no circumstances would we tolerate theft from guests by a staff member!!

Regards
Lisa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2015

Quiet area and relax sleeping environment. Good for some relaxing in the busy city centre, and easy access to waterfront and green point. Quality of bed was good and the room was hostel was very clean. Only thing I missed was some buzz, but if you are in for some rest in a good environment this was the place to be!

  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank rogier32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LisaMas0n, Owner at Ashanti Lodge Green Point, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2015

Hi rogier32
Thanks for your review. Yes, we are quieter than a lot of other backpackers but the majority of our guests prefer it that way.
Regards
Lisa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2015

I would recommend Ashanti Greenpoint to anyone, whether traveling solo like I was or with others. The staff were really friendly and helpful and they can book all sorts of day trips and activities for you. I stayed in the 8-bed all-female dorm and it was a very clean, spacious room. And there is free pancake mixture on offer every morning for you to make your own pancakes!
The hostel itself is located in a quiet neighbourhood, but close enough that you can find lots of shops and restaurants within 10 minutes walk. The city centre and all the sights are easily accessible using the MyCiti buses which are very reliable and safe, and you can get your card at the hostel reception which was really helpful.
All in all, one of the nicest hostels I've stayed at and I would recommend it!

  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank katiemU2322PK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CalAshantiGreenpoint, Manager at Ashanti Lodge Green Point, responded to this reviewResponded 17 November 2015

Hi katiemU2322PK

Thanks so much for your wonderful words.

Im very happy that you had such a great stay.

Hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2015

Stayed there for 3 nights, enjoyed it very much. Great location for having a run because it is very close to the sea front and from there you can run/walk up to fancy Camps Bay!
Bus stops for MyCiti and the open red touristic doubledecker bus is also in walking distance!

  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 144ingah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CalAshantiGreenpoint, Manager at Ashanti Lodge Green Point, responded to this reviewResponded 17 November 2015

Hi 144ingah

Thanks for the review.

Hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2015

A great hostel in a save neighborhood in Greenpoint with friendly and supportive staff, nice guests, clean dorm rooms and bathrooms, free breakfast (pancakes) and a good location (close to downtown and the waterfront).

  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 177tobiasr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CalAshantiGreenpoint, Manager at Ashanti Lodge Green Point, responded to this reviewResponded 17 November 2015

Hi 177tobiasr

Thanks so much for your kind words.

We hope to see you again one day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews