We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quite a surprise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Dolphin Inn Guesthouse, Mouille Point
Ranked #48 of 156 Cape Town Central B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 April 2016

I had always seen the Dolphin Inn on the beach front and when I found the price was right I booked for a fortnight. I was a bit hesitant because I have had experiences of these "quaint' places. Anyway to my surprise it turned out to be very suitable for a single guest and I felt quite at home. Thanks Paul and Tania you were great.. The only gripes were I think I could have had some type of cupboard in the room. The promise of free parking is in the street outside and of course the WIFI was Ok but not great

  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank chutzpah44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (172)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

26 - 30 of 172 reviews

Reviewed 25 March 2016

A great three night weekend before the Easter crowds arrived (and after the Argus cyclists had left). Paul and Tania were great hosts and prepared great breakfasts and tasty espresso-based coffee. The room was well equipped and beds comfy. bathroom and shower worked perfectly with a sliding door, saving space. No airconditioner in the room, but opening windows allowed fresh sea breezes in. The location offers something for the energetic (jogging, cycling, skateboarding, or just walking along the seafront) or easy access to the V&A. The MyCiti bus route stops close to the Inn, so connecting with inner city attractions is a breeze. Restaurants in the area offer a variety of cuisines and range from ultra casual deli, Tapas, steaks and seafood, to fine dining. Well worth a visit at a reasonable price for the area. We will be back!

Room Tip: Rooms on the west have afternoon sun, so can be quite warm if you don't pull down the blinds/sun...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Bob G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2016 via mobile

This was our second stay at the Dolphin inn. The guesthouse has lovely clean & tidy room's, it's within walking distance to restaurants, coffee shops and boasts beautiful sea views. Would highly recommend this guesthouse , the owners always make us feel welcome and serve a fantastic full english breakfast!

Stayed: March 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Rebecca769
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2016 via mobile

The room was very clean, the service friendly and very helpful. Location was perfect right across from the ocean. Beautiful and safe place to stay and walk. I would highly recommend staying here. Would have given 5 stars but the room we had (across from the dining room) was noisy from 6:30 on. Otherwise it was a perfect setting.

  • Stayed: March 2016
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suesmith52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2016

Lovely guesthouse with a personal touch. Magnificient view of the ocean from the communal room, where breakfast was served. Great breakfast as well. Owners are friendly and helpful. Our room was neat, clean, and comfortable.
The guesthouse is easily accessible, with restaurants and cafes nearby, and the Waterfront within walking (or jogging) distance. The jogging / walking / biking path along the seaside is just on the opposite side of the road, and my only regret is that I did not bring my running shoes on this trip!
I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank leila231
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
Wilton Manor Guest House
#40 of 156 in Cape Town Central
283 reviews
Leeuwenzee Guest House
#51 of 156 in Cape Town Central
101 reviews
Cape Finest Guesthouse
#45 of 156 in Cape Town Central
107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Bowl
Villa Bianca
Villa Bianca
#44 of 156 in Cape Town Central
55 reviews
Cape Standard
#15 of 156 in Cape Town Central
617 reviews
Rutland Lodge
#53 of 156 in Cape Town Central
214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dolphin Inn Guesthouse, Mouille Point? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dolphin Inn Guesthouse, Mouille Point

Address: 75 Beach Road | Mouille Point, Cape Town Central 8005, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 156 B&Bs / Inns in Cape Town Central
Price Range: R 1 241 - R 1 943 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3,5 star — Dolphin Inn Guesthouse, Mouille Point 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfortable, seafront Guesthouse, walking distance to top restaurants, coffee shops, salons, spas and the V+A Waterfront for all your shopping and entertainment needs. The Cape Town Stadium is less than 700m away and the CTICC is a 10 minute drive. Continental and hot breakfast included. Free Wi-Fi. Spectacular views across Table Bay to Robben Island from the living room. The air-conditioned luxury suite on the 1st floor features an open plan design with a galley kitchen with stove and microwave, a small bar and living room. Sliding doors open onto a partially covered balcony providing the perfect space for sundowner cocktails or a leisurely breakfast watching the dolphins. Ideal for a romantic getaway or the business traveller who needs some space to work from. Comfortable, spacious accommodation. All standard rooms are en-suite with LED TV, mini bar, tea&coffee facilities, hairdryers, and ceiling fans. One standard is fitted with an aircon. Safe and secure area. Beautiful promenade for walkers and runners. Metropolitan Golf course is behind us and the Virgin Active Gym is a quick jog away. Convenient bus access to City Centre, Waterfront and Camps Bay. Cape Peninsula Technikon and Survival Centre - 5min walk. We can help with car hire, tours and adventure activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Dolphin Inn Guesthouse, Mouille Point reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing