We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Truly excellent hospitality ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Dutch Manor Antique Hotel
Ranked #67 of 156 Cape Town Central B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 December 2017 via mobile

We stayed 8 days and enjoyed every minute. Nathan is a hospitality expert. The food was wonderful, a generous breakfast menu, great service. We liked the old world elegance ( if you are looking for modern, sleek, minimalism, this is not for you) it is rather a delightful step back in time with it’s antique furnishings and an afternoon sip of Sherry. Modern bath, WiFi and service. It is very cosmopolitan.We met others from all over the world staying there, Brazil, Israel, The Netherlands, France, Germany.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Judith E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (225)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 225 reviews

Reviewed 23 December 2017

From the time you walk into the front door you feel Welcome! There is no other way to start your day as with the freshly prepared breakfast.Compliments to all the staff for their helpfulness and not to talk about the friendliness. Everything was explained to the point. The Rooms are all equipped with a safe, all procedures duly explained, a absolutely plus point when you are on holiday. The rooms are comfortable in old Dutch Style, the hotel is centrally placed with the famous red bus stop right across the hotel.

Room Tip: Stayed upstairs, nice balcony next to the room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Naomie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2017 via mobile

Do not stay at this hotel! Money was stolen from the safe in our room, hundreds of dollars’ worth, by the staff lurking about! Do not be fooled by the apparent friendliness of the staff or hotel manager. When we asked for help to deal with the situation and call the police, no assistance was given and we had to do everything ourselves, reporting to the police, getting a theft report drawn up, etc. Despite the fact the theft happened under their own roof, no accountability was taken and no full refund provided! The response we got back was 'we do not owe you anything'! Please stay away from this hotel, it isn't worth it!

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank geronimo12543
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DutchManorHotel, Director of Sales at Dutch Manor Antique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 December 2017

Dear Guest. Thank you for the review. However lets set a couple of facts straight. Firstly you were the only one with the access code for your safe that was situated in your room. You have indicated that there was money in the safe, however the Hotel cannot confirm this.The Hotel manager telephonically informed you that a case of theft must be opened. It was confirmed that a full investigation will be done on the alleged theft and that the case number is required.You indicated that you have insurance in this regard and you will be claiming your losses from the insurance company. You were reimbursed with 50% of your account.You indicated to the director of the company that you were very happy with the actions being taken by the Hotel.I cannot believe that you insist on a full refund on your entire account, and find this very odd taking into account that you are going to claim your losses from the insurance.Nothing like a free holiday based on an assumed theft.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2017

2000 rand was stolen from my wallet while I was sleeping or taking a breakfast. The room was not locked. At that time, there were only hotel staffs and I was the only hotel guest. I found my money missing when I was shopping outside. I could calculate the loss easily because it happened on the day or in the next morning of the check-in and I had been sleeping in my room without spending any money after check-in. I knew how much I kept in my wallet.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank 4security
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DutchManorHotel, General Manager at Dutch Manor Antique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2017

Dear 4Security

I trust that you are doing well, thank you for your review.

I would firstly like to take the opportunity to apologise for the inconvenience caused by your experience, but it is from the position of the Dutch Manor Antique Hotel highly unlikely that money could have disappeared from your wallet for several reasons.

Firstly, on check in you were informed that your room is equipped with a safe for money, valuables, passport and other important documents. This is a service that we offer to all our guests and for your convenience. It is also not uncommon for me as the GM to show guests how to operate the safe, or inform them on how to do so themselves using pins that only they would know. So for staff to have access to the safe would be as unlikely as knowing the pin to your bank card, quite impossible.

Secondly none of our staff members are allowed to enter into the rooms while our guests are having breakfast/present in the hotel. During the breakfast service the members of staff are all attending to serving guests in the dining room, and do not turn-over the rooms during this time. Turn-over times commences after the breakfast service or after guests have left their rooms, and this is done on a two staff member basis to ensure that no irregularities take place. It is against company policy for one staff member to do so alone, and can assure you that the GM of the hotel is present in the case of only one porter/cleaner.

Additionally, had you brought any irregularities to my attention immediately, I would have been better able to assist while you were present. No such matter was brought under my attention or the attention of the staff during your stay with us. It is not the position of the Dutch Manor Antique Hotel to neglect such a serious complaint, and would have assisted above and beyond had you been forthcoming about this particular incident.

Again, on behalf of the Dutch Manor Antique Hotel, I would like to extend my personal apologies for the incident. I would also like to extend my assistance if you have any other information on the matter that I do not, and see how I am able to be of greater help. My staff and I pride ourselves on our professionalism and service, and take such a complaint very seriously. Should you have any other information that you would like to share with us, please feel free to contact me directly and I will happily assist.

I look forward to hearing from you again, and hope that you continue to have a wonderful day.

Warm regards,

Elona Kroon
General Manager
Dutch Manor Antique Hotel
158 Buitengracht Street
Bo-Kaap
t: +27 21 422 4767
m: +27 73 088 4740
e: info@dutchmanor.co.za

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2017

Large, comfortable room in an old Cape Dutch home. Charmingly furnished with original antigue Cape Dutch and French furniture. Centrally placed and close to motorways. Friendly and helpful staff. All round, a nostalgic and pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marilyn A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DutchManorHotel, General Manager at Dutch Manor Antique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2017

Dear Marilyn A

I trust that you are doing well. Thank you for your review.

It is always wonderful to hear that guests enjoyed the facilities that we have on offer, and that the time you spent with us at the Dutch Manor Antique Hotel was memorable for you. Coupled with the historic surroundings, the contrasting city hustle and our world class hotel, I believe it makes for a wonderful all-round experience.

I hope that you continue to have a wonderful afternoon and together with the Mother City, the Dutch Manor Antique Hotel looks forward to hosting you again in the near future.

Warm regards,

Elona Kroon
General Manager
Dutch Manor Antique Hotel
158 Buitengracht Street
Bo-Kaap
t: +27 21 422 4767
m: +27 73 088 4740
e: info@dutchmanor.co.za

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
Long Street Boutique Hotel
#34 of 112 in Cape Town Central
238 reviews
Cape Heritage Hotel
#10 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1 352 reviews
Rouge on Rose
#5 of 156 in Cape Town Central
1 005 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cape Standard
#16 of 156 in Cape Town Central
616 reviews
City Bowl
Underberg House
Underberg House
#3 of 156 in Cape Town Central
669 reviews
Leeuwenzee Guest House
#50 of 156 in Cape Town Central
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dutch Manor Antique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dutch Manor Antique Hotel

Address: 158 Buitengracht Street | Bo-Kaap, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central > Schotsche Kloof
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #67 of 156 B&Bs / Inns in Cape Town Central
Price Range: R 1 546 - R 2 186 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Dutch Manor Antique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dutch Manor represents the ultimate in heritage-rich style and comfort. Every room is uniquely decorated with the greatest attention to detail and the finest antique furnishings and fittings, each with its own unique tale. The four-star boutique hotel is deliberately small and comprises of six rooms, all with en-suite modernized bathrooms, spacious showers and air-conditioning. All the rooms have 26-inch flat screen TVs and luxurious Egyptian percale cotton bedding. Various popular tourist attractions are within a 3km radius of the hotel: The V&A Waterfront, the trendy De Waterkant and Kloof Street for shopping and dining, the Company’s Gardens and Cape Town International Convention Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Dutch Manor Antique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing