We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (45)
Filter reviews
45 results
Traveller rating
25
10
5
3
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
25
10
5
3
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews bedroom apartment cape grace hotel minute walk great location self catering washer balcony waterfront facilities lounge luxury
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 45 reviews
Reviewed 8 November 2017 via mobile

We always stay here and haven't been disappointed with the facilities - you'll need to be careful with water restrictions as this can ruin your day. Adequate gym facilities if you want to stay fit and the largest mullet I have ever seen in the canal. Wish we could fish in it.

Date of stay: November 2017
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank Ben S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2017

I could not implore you more wholeheartedly to avoid this property at all costs. First of all, my family chose this location in Cape Town so we could be in a three-bedroom apartment together. However, the day we were set to arrive, we were told they could no longer accommodate our booking, and we were moved to a two-bedroom and a one-bedroom apartment. My sister and I stayed in the two-bedroom. It was just okay, certainly not worth the money, with missing amenities and a shower that flooded every time. My parents were placed in a basement one-bedroom apartment that was disgusting and falling apart. When they complained, they were moved to a different one-bedroom where the air conditioning/heater was broken. They were finally moved again to a two-bedroom apartment that had a bloody duvet cover, which was never replaced even though they called management multiple times. However, the next morning we were informed at 8:00 am (when we were leaving to catch our Robben Island ferry at 8:15 am) that we had to move into a three-bedroom that was now available. We were given no warning and no choice in the matter. We had to throw our things into our bags, resulting in some items being lost. The next two days passed rather uneventfully in the three-bedroom, though the amenities and quality were not acceptable. There was dust and mold in every room, and the entire apartment looked run down and poorly maintained. We are typically not finicky guests and are not terribly hard to please, but the service we received and the quality of the (many) rooms we experienced was beyond poor. I haven't even begun to mention the malfunctioning wi-fi that you had to pay for, by the gigabyte! Please do yourself a favor and stay at an Air B&B or one of the other lovely waterfront hotels. This is not a viable option if you want to have decent accommodations in Cape Town.

Room tip: Don't stay here. Stay anywhere else.
Date of stay: July 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Kim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 18 July 2017

Afternoon Kim,
My apologies you had such a awful stay in our beautiful Cape Town.
Please do note: You are complaining against Atlantic Marina and we are not the managing agent that you stayed with.
Kindly ensure to be in contact with the correct agent you stayed with as I know we would not want our guests leaving the way you did, and Im sure they would like to have the opportunity to rectify.
Kind Regards,
Louise
Reservations Manager
Atlantic Marina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2017

Very nice appartment, well equipped, but the owner and agency are just interested in rents!
Mind internet is a rip off. You only get 2 gig, so it cuts immediately if you go into facebook, Utube....
The building was under renovation, so we had to climb over cables, plastic sheets, lader, planks, pot of paint to access our door on teh 3rd floor without lift due to teh renovation.
I got dirty everytime I went out with dust and plaster on my suit.
Security was lacking, as electrical cables were hanging out of the ceiling.... In the morning, drill wokes us up, knocking on the door to see if we could let them in to check the alarm system!! Hello, we are renting for holidays here!
The cleanling was not at teh best, for example the terrace hasn't been cleaned for the three days we stayed there with birds excrements!!!
The fact of all this work going on outside, the appartment was very dirty with dust and plaster.....

Date of stay: April 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Stephane V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2017

The pre-booking service was excellent and professional. E-mails were answered speedily and accurately.
The apartment we were in (Kylemore C 011) was clean, tidy and perfect for what we required.
However, there was no complimentary internet which we addressed before arriving. They were kind enough to offer us 5GB of free internet, and they provided us with a mifi for that purpose. However, there was no way that they had loaded 5mg of data and was probably 1gb or even less.
They also never checked up on how we were, if we needed anything or checked us out. We were left to leave by ourselves after having given a "breakage" deposit. Nothing was broken, but they never checked when we left!!!
One day there was no cleaning service and only came after we had to call several times.
Two other criticisms were that, despite requests, they were mean on towels, and that the pool was not cleaned for the 7 days we were there and by the 7th day was filthy with flies, feathers etc.
Hopefully they will take note so that it will be better if we returned to them.

Date of stay: February 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank ameliashiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2017

These apartments are fantastic and really surpassed all our expectations. On arrival we were greeted by Andre who was very accommodating and allowed us early access to our apartment, which was appreciated after a long flight.

Waiting for us in the apartment was a lovely gift box as it was over the xmas/ new years week, full of south african goodies and two bottles of wine which was a really nice touch.

Our one bed apartment was beautifully decorated and very big. We had a balcony which was great for having breakfast in the morning over looking the boats and marina.

The kitchen was large and well equipped, cooker, microwave, fridge freezer etc. The washer drier and complementary washing powder was very useful as well.

Location is great- short walk over to the V&A waterfront and accessible to all other areas of town (20min drive to camps bay, 15min drive to table mountain). The One and Only hotel is very close and we visited Nobu and their bar in the evening which we would highly recommend.

You can also pay 150 rand per person to access the pool and gym. The gym has glass doors which all open out onto the marina area, so it's lovely to get the breeze as you work out. The pool was nice and quiet.

Date of stay: January 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Samantha Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews