We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Atlantic Marina Waterfront Apartments
Reviewed 30 November 2017

These apartments are really well situated, right on the vibrant V&A waterfront, but not affected by noise from the weekend activities there. They are privately owned and so I can appreciate that the quality of the interior décor is likely to differ from one to another - hence some of the previous comments are less complimentary. We had a reasonably well appointed one bedroom apartment. It was clean, well-maintained, and had everything we needed as a base for Cape Town and peninsula sight seeing. We found it helpful to be able to just crash out and cater for ourselves after full day trips, so it was great to have a full oven and dishwasher in the kitchen area. The furnished balcony overlooking the canal was a lovely spot for enjoying an early evening drink in the sun. The addition of a washer-dryer also made it possible to refresh worn clothes before we moved on to the next stage of our tour. Good security too. The only down-side was the expensive cost of Wi-Fi in the apartment - connection was only free in the tiny reception area. We were aware of this before arriving, but feel it is an unnecessary extra which spoils the overall package, given the general quality of the accommodations, and is something that needs fixing by the community of owners to ensure their offering keeps up with the times.

Room Tip: Buy a local SIM card on arrival so you have access to local call rates and a secure data connection...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trainer49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (42)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 42 reviews

Reviewed 8 November 2017 via mobile

We always stay here and haven't been disappointed with the facilities - you'll need to be careful with water restrictions as this can ruin your day. Adequate gym facilities if you want to stay fit and the largest mullet I have ever seen in the canal. Wish we could fish in it.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled on business
Thank Ben S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2017

I could not implore you more wholeheartedly to avoid this property at all costs. First of all, my family chose this location in Cape Town so we could be in a three-bedroom apartment together. However, the day we were set to arrive, we were told they could no longer accommodate our booking, and we were moved to a two-bedroom and a one-bedroom apartment. My sister and I stayed in the two-bedroom. It was just okay, certainly not worth the money, with missing amenities and a shower that flooded every time. My parents were placed in a basement one-bedroom apartment that was disgusting and falling apart. When they complained, they were moved to a different one-bedroom where the air conditioning/heater was broken. They were finally moved again to a two-bedroom apartment that had a bloody duvet cover, which was never replaced even though they called management multiple times. However, the next morning we were informed at 8:00 am (when we were leaving to catch our Robben Island ferry at 8:15 am) that we had to move into a three-bedroom that was now available. We were given no warning and no choice in the matter. We had to throw our things into our bags, resulting in some items being lost. The next two days passed rather uneventfully in the three-bedroom, though the amenities and quality were not acceptable. There was dust and mold in every room, and the entire apartment looked run down and poorly maintained. We are typically not finicky guests and are not terribly hard to please, but the service we received and the quality of the (many) rooms we experienced was beyond poor. I haven't even begun to mention the malfunctioning wi-fi that you had to pay for, by the gigabyte! Please do yourself a favor and stay at an Air B&B or one of the other lovely waterfront hotels. This is not a viable option if you want to have decent accommodations in Cape Town.

Room Tip: Don't stay here. Stay anywhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Kim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 18 July 2017

Afternoon Kim,
My apologies you had such a awful stay in our beautiful Cape Town.
Please do note: You are complaining against Atlantic Marina and we are not the managing agent that you stayed with.
Kindly ensure to be in contact with the correct agent you stayed with as I know we would not want our guests leaving the way you did, and Im sure they would like to have the opportunity to rectify.
Kind Regards,
Louise
Reservations Manager
Atlantic Marina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2017

Very nice appartment, well equipped, but the owner and agency are just interested in rents!
Mind internet is a rip off. You only get 2 gig, so it cuts immediately if you go into facebook, Utube....
The building was under renovation, so we had to climb over cables, plastic sheets, lader, planks, pot of paint to access our door on teh 3rd floor without lift due to teh renovation.
I got dirty everytime I went out with dust and plaster on my suit.
Security was lacking, as electrical cables were hanging out of the ceiling.... In the morning, drill wokes us up, knocking on the door to see if we could let them in to check the alarm system!! Hello, we are renting for holidays here!
The cleanling was not at teh best, for example the terrace hasn't been cleaned for the three days we stayed there with birds excrements!!!
The fact of all this work going on outside, the appartment was very dirty with dust and plaster.....

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Stephane V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2017

The pre-booking service was excellent and professional. E-mails were answered speedily and accurately.
The apartment we were in (Kylemore C 011) was clean, tidy and perfect for what we required.
However, there was no complimentary internet which we addressed before arriving. They were kind enough to offer us 5GB of free internet, and they provided us with a mifi for that purpose. However, there was no way that they had loaded 5mg of data and was probably 1gb or even less.
They also never checked up on how we were, if we needed anything or checked us out. We were left to leave by ourselves after having given a "breakage" deposit. Nothing was broken, but they never checked when we left!!!
One day there was no cleaning service and only came after we had to call several times.
Two other criticisms were that, despite requests, they were mean on towels, and that the pool was not cleaned for the 7 days we were there and by the 7th day was filthy with flies, feathers etc.
Hopefully they will take note so that it will be better if we returned to them.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank ameliashiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
The Table Bay Hotel
#17 of 112 in Cape Town Central
2 441 reviews
Waterfront Village
#68 of 112 in Cape Town Central
679 reviews
Lawhill Luxury Apartments
#7 of 131 in Cape Town Central
416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Schotsche Kloof
Hilton Cape Town City Centre
Hilton Cape Town City Centre
#39 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1 407 reviews
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
#24 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1 614 reviews
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#30 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1 856 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atlantic Marina Waterfront Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlantic Marina Waterfront Apartments

Address: West Quay Road | V&A Waterfront, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #74 of 131 Speciality Lodging in Cape Town Central
Price Range: R 2 247 - R 4 763 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Atlantic Marina Waterfront Apartments 5*
Number of rooms: 28

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing