We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best boutique hotel ever”
Review of MannaBay

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
MannaBay
Ranked #2 of 112 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We have just returned from our second visit to Mannabay, it was just as amazing as we remembered from two years ago and can't wait to plan our next trip there.

We stayed in the Versailles suite which is not only spacious but has every amenity you could possibly need together with a huge balcony to the front overlooking the city all the way down to the ocean and, to the back, nothing more than table mountain in all its glory.

Fabulous food, breakfast, afternoon tea, snacks and all drinks are included.

The management and staff are, without exception, the nicest people you could ever wish to meet and there to pander to your every whim!

It's the calmest, friendliest and most wonderful place we have ever stayed.... we never want to leave.

Denise and Roger Bostock

Room Tip: The Versailles suite is the most spacious with amazing views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank deniserogerb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (474)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 474 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

MannaBay is a truly unique boutique hotel. The hotel features some of the most beautiful views of both the city of Cape Town and Table Mountain. The rooms are spacious and boast your own private butler. The staff are friendly and service received was amazing. From the GM to the cleaner, all took pride in their job which culminate to leave you as the guest feeling welcome and relaxed.

Room Tip: unique rooms, amazing views, excellent service!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Skybound_Safaris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MannabayManagement, General Manager at MannaBay, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Nik,

Thank you so much for posting an awesome review; it was such a pleasure having you stay at MannaBay.

Looking forward to seeing you again soon!

Kind regards,
Stretton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We have just returned from six nights at the MannaBay and can't speak too highly of it. It's a lovely boutique hotel in a great part of the city with stunning views of both the city and Table Mountain. The afternoon tea was very welcome after a hard day's sightseeing - the cakes were irresistible! We particularly liked the chauffeur service to and from restaurants in the evenings and Ayanda, the driver, was helpful, polite and friendly. The service from all the staff was excellent, nothing was too much trouble. The manager, Stretton, was particularly helpful with great restaurant recommendations. One of the best hotels we've stayed at!

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Carole H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MannabayManagement, General Manager at MannaBay, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Carole,

It was such a pleasure having you stay with us, and getting to know you both. I do hope you enjoyed your first trip through South Africa and that your safari experience was a magical one.

Thank you for taking the time to post such a glowing review of your stay here, and indeed for highlighting Ayanda - he truly is an exceptional member of our team. We are lucky to have an incredible group of people here who really make all the difference.

I certainly look forward to seeing you again.

Warm regards,
Stretton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

There are no improvements to be made! A fantastic place that is close to the best restaurants and shopping at the V&A. A wonderful in-house chauffeur service that runs you to and from evening restaurants free of charge.

The view from our room was spectacular and service was universally friendly and efficient. It was really cool to see the huge cruise ships come in and out of the harbour with a direct view over the coast from your bed!

We really enjoyed the afternoon tea (included in the room rate) Accompanied by Rose sparkling wine and beautiful cakes! Especially loved the quiche!

We have historically stayed at the One & Only whenever in Cape Town, but this hotel is better as it has so much more character and personality and you can still just jump in a car and be at Nobu in 10 mins... perfect balance!

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Rose S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MannabayManagement, General Manager at MannaBay, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Rose S,

What a pleasure it was to host you and your husband at MannaBay last week. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed every aspect your stay with us. It would be very hard to beat the views from our Versailles Suite, as well as the sweet and savoury delights on our High Tea! Thank you for acknowledging the service our incredible team provides too.

We look forward to your regular return visits to our house.

Warm regards,
Stretton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

After our three week adventure in Zimbabwe, Botswana and Rwanda, we arrived in Capetown as the last stop on our journey. Capetown is an amazingly beautiful city and this location takes full advantage of the best the city has to offer. It backs right up to the mountain (our room had beautiful unobstructed views to the mountain as the hotel is literally on the highest road on the hill); and from the breakfast room and common areas there are amazing views of the city and the waterfront (that view was also available from several of the rooms). The staff were amazingly helpful and accommodating and the breakfasts were wonderful. Fresh foods prepared to order by chefs in the central kitchen. As they didn’t serve dinner on the property, there was a driver available to drop you off at restaurants around the city and pick you up upon request.

We booked through a travel company and the food and beverages were all inclusive. A very nice touch. The afternoon high tea included appetizers and pastries that could serve as a meal for many.....

If you are looking for a special place to start or end your trip, or are just looking for a unique property in Capetown, check this out. With only a limited number of rooms (8, I think), each with its own design theme, you are undoubtedly going to find the perfect room in the perfect property here at Manna Bay.

Stayed: January 2018
Thank Ralph S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MannabayManagement, General Manager at MannaBay, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Ralph,

It was a pleasure to have you staying with us these past few days. Thank you for posting such a glowing review of your stay at MannaBay.

The aspects of your experience you highlighted that stood out for you, such as the views from our unique location, our incredible staff, the food, design aspect and all the extra inclusions, are definitely things we are proud of.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you both back to MannaBay in the near future.

Warm regards,
Stretton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cape Town Central
City Bowl
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
#3 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1 472 reviews
POD Camps Bay
#1 of 12 in Camps Bay
693 reviews
Cape Grace
#7 of 112 in Cape Town Central
2 151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Tree House Boutique Hotel
#6 of 112 in Cape Town Central
122 reviews
City Bowl
Four Rosmead
Four Rosmead
#5 of 112 in Cape Town Central
575 reviews
Blackheath Lodge
#4 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1 918 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MannaBay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MannaBay

Address: 8 Bridle Road | Oranjezicht, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central > City Bowl , Oranjezicht
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 112 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Price Range: R 6 713 - R 8 641 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4,5 star — MannaBay 4.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You can't get much closer to Table Mountain than this... In the heart of Cape Town, MannaBay has just eight uniquely designed suites that set the bar for contemporary luxury. From this prime setting on the border of the Table Mountain National Park with suites becoming of Persian Princes, Orchid Hunters and Heroic Explorers alike, you can experience the Mother City in sheer comfort and privacy, with a team of friendly staff dedicated to making every guest's experience as special as possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your MannaBay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing