We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“One of the most beautiful hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of MannaBay

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
MannaBay
Ranked #2 of 106 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“One of the most beautiful hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We travelled to Africa the first time and MannaBay is the first hotel over our trip. After 13 hours flight we finally reached to the hotel around noon time. The staff welcomes us with the nicest smile and the check in is hassle-free and fast as they just hand out simple document and we are in our room in 5 mins. The day was sunny, although it's still little chilly in their early spring, the outside deck with pool against the magnificent Table Mountain view is really impressive. The breakfast is phenomenal and with kitchen just right next to us - basically you can order whatever you like in additions to the beautiful and hearty spread of pastries, yogurt and fruits. Every room has individual design so just go to their website and make your choice! The staff is really attentive to our different requests - and they offered free rides to the (and return) city centre! It's small boutique style with modern and luxurious touch in your room and common area, and lots of artworks! It's one of the most comfortable and beutuful hotel we ever stayed. Kudos to the team!

Stayed September 2016, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank CBCBUX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard31CapeTown, General Manager at MannaBay, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Thank you, Thank you, Thank you! We loved your review and appreciate you sharing these kind words. We hope to welcome you back to MannaBay sometime soon.
Best wishes,
Mitch
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

395 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    385
    9
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
38
268
11
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bath
Level Contributor
38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This is a gorgeous place with gorgeous people looking after your every need. Just go there you will not be disappointed, lovely bed linen, massive room, comfy bed, everything you need. Plus gorgeous fresh breakfasts, great coffee and fabulous afternoon teas. Also a driver to ferry you out to dinner and back. If you are going to Capetown Imwould highly recommend staying here.

Room Tip: We had the Persian room which has direct access to the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2016, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gotonebooked
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard31CapeTown, General Manager at MannaBay, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Thank you for your review! We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience.
Best wishes,
Mitch
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
198 reviews
118 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Hard to find sufficient superlatives for this place, and we have stayed at so many good places in Cape Town. The location is one of the best if you want to be near the mountain or town. Its quiet and with sweeping views of the mountain - the cable car line passes overhead not far from Manna Bay - and of the harbour and Table Bay beyond. You can walk through quiet roads, with much interesting residential architecture, along the bottom edge of the Table Mountain park and then on trails through it round to Camps Bay. Its only a few minutes further from the CBD and V&A than staying in Sea Point, and either the free Manna Bay shuttle service or Uber will get you there rapidly - or you can walk down, steep but pleasant quiet roads, in about 30 minutes. The rooms are large and beautifully decorated and equipped, each with a distinct style. The many indoor and outdoor public areas are large and varied, filled with interesting art and furnishings, and it never felt crowded even when what seemed like all the guests were there at tea time. The pool and sundeck are lovely and the gym superb for a guest house. The food is excellent and the staff lovely - although management and waitstaff more so than the cleaners. Between the breakfast and the generous high tea, you may not need to eat anything else until you go out for dinner. Its probably one of the more expensive guesthouses in town (R5000/$350), but is also better value for money than many. All in all a superb experience

Room Tip: Flamingo has a large private deck facing the mountain.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JonB_SA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard31CapeTown, General Manager at MannaBay, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Jon,
Thank you for your thorough review and kind words. We hope to welcome you back to MannaBay sometime soon.
Best wishes,
Mitch
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

After two weeks of exploring the wonderful ness that South Africa has to offer, we arrived at Mannabay.

It is clearly evident that they know how things should be done here, with attentive but not obtrusive service.

Outstanding breakfasts and afternoon tea, flowing drinks and a million books to sit by the pool and read if you so wish.

Anything you need they can organise, including a ride to dinner each night.

Rooms are beautifully equipped, and include extra special touches such as hair straighteners and a beach bag filled with towels.

We can't wait to return, so much so, we are staying for nine days next time and trying three different rooms.

Stayed January 2016, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Forkandawesome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard31CapeTown, General Manager at MannaBay, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Music to our ears! Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with the Tripadvisor community. We look forward to welcoming you back to MannaBay!
Best wishes,
Mitch
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2016 via mobile

Great value for money! The excellent staff and service simply just add to an overall amazing experience. Came here for high tea and even though we were not guests staying the night, we were treated as if we were back home. Would definitely recommend Mannabay. Thank you, will visit again soon!

Stayed December 2016, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Mel K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard31CapeTown, General Manager at MannaBay, responded to this review, 9 December 2016
Dear Mel,
Thank you for your wonderful review. So pleased to hear about how much you enjoyed our high tea and how at home you were made to feel. We hope to see you back at MannaBay sometime soon.
Best wishes,
Mitch
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cape Town Central
Cape Grace
#7 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1 847 reviews
Blackheath Lodge
#3 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1 747 reviews
POD Camps Bay
#1 of 12 in Camps Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 601 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
One&Only Cape Town
#14 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1 393 reviews
City Bowl
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel
#8 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1 377 reviews
Cape Heritage Hotel
#11 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1 126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MannaBay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MannaBay

Property: MannaBay
Address: 8 Bridle Road | Oranjezicht, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 106 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Price range (per night): R5 348 - R6 339
Hotel Class:4,5 star — MannaBay 4.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You can't get much closer to Table Mountain than this... In the heart of Cape Town, MannaBay has just eight uniquely designed suites that set the bar for contemporary luxury. From this prime setting on the border of the Table Mountain National Park with suites becoming of Persian Princes, Orchid Hunters and Heroic Explorers alike, you can experience the Mother City in sheer comfort and privacy, with a team of friendly staff dedicated to making every guest's experience as special as possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your MannaBay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing